We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$394
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hyatt Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$340
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Resort Nusa Dua, Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$154
$109
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$143
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Bali Resort(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$127
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton Bali(Nusa Dua)
$263
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayodya Resort Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$292
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Bali(Nusa Dua)(Great Value!)
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$494
$465
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,588)
Filter reviews
3,588 results
Traveler rating
2,477
732
239
82
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,477
732
239
82
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicearwana restaurantkulkul barcornerstone delikul kul bara lagoon view roomour honeymoonlagoon accessbeach frontaccess roomwelcome drinkreal balirestaurants and barssun loungersshopping centrebeach barnice beach
Filter
Updating list...
2,744 - 2,749 of 3,588 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We've been in Bali many times before staying in different 5 star resorts. Some of them we liked but there was nothing to make us go back; others we did not like at all (I will not mention names to protect guilty).
So far the Laguna Resort is the only one that without doubt we will come back.
We talked to an Australian. It was her 17th time there! But after staying at that place for 1 week we were not surprised. The Laguna resort and Spa is definitely a different place that makes your stay there unforgettable. You have to see it to believe it.
Starting from courtesy airport pick up though an relaxed, express checkin we're quickly whisked away to our very comfortable
junior suite facing laguna. The suite was very nicely decorated in balenise style with beautiful view of the property.
The property itself is beautiful with pools, gardens, water falls with walkways and bridges joining all these pieces together into an architectural marvel.
All restaurants are very, very nice. And no matter which one you choose, the food is absolutely delicious at quite low prices (about 1/2 what you expect to pay in NY metro area). We tried twice to have a lunch outside in Bali Connection while we were visiting it. The food although much cheaper than at the resort, tasted horrible. That was extent of our meals outside of the resort. For a delicious dinner I'd specially recommend the balenise restaurant Mayang Sari. Anything we tried was absolutely delicious. A lunch by the ocean can be sometime a little breezy but is very refreshing, relaxing and the food is great. Twice we ordered dinner to our room through the personal butler service. Each time it was delivered from Mayang Sari very promptly. Don't miss complimentary afternoon tea served daily in Mayang Sari where besides tea, coffee and delicious pastry you can taste some samples of dinner menu and on some days see a balenise dance.
We've been a half a dozen times in Nusa Dua in different, so called, 5 star resorts but we haven't seen such buffet breakfast anywhere. It's outstanding. The butler service is excellent. The room service outstanding.
Entire staff of that resort deserves standing applause for making it so perfect. Every day you can see the general manager cruising around every day talking to guests to make sure that nothing is missed.
So far this is the only place that we definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JetsonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelaguna, General Manager - David Cuddon at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2008

Dear Sir/Madam

Greetings from your home away from home The Laguna!

I trust you had a safe flight home and have returned to the busy routine of daily life after your recent experience in Bali.

Thank you for spending your precious moments with us and I do appreciate you taking the time to write such a complimentary note towards our associates. It is a tremendous help for us to know how our guests perceive our services and where we have to focus on improvement to remain an exclusive resort.

On the behalf of The Laguna family, I extend our very best wishes and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bali and the Laguna in the future.

Exceptionally yours
David

David Cuddon
General Manager
The Laguna Resort & Spa
E-mail: david.cuddon@luxurycollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

The Laguna is a perfectly fine '4' star hotel with nicely appointed junior suites, lovely grounds and friendly staff - and thats it!

I'm afraid after having stayed in other '5' star hotels in Bali over the last few years we were looking for something more from our stay.

Whilst the lagoon pools & garden areas are decorated with Balinese statues the rooms could belong to any city in the world. The bathrooms are ok but the layout (in the junior suite) of wardrobe, dressing area, bath, shower AND toilet all in ONE room is, in my opinion, quite unworkable. The bed was comfortable, linen clean but the balcony of the lagoon access room was incredibly small meaning that we couldn't really take advantage of the facility - why not build larger decks outside those rooms??

The breakfast buffet is ok and the setting of the restaurant, beside the lagoon pool is very nice. Look inwards, however, and, once again you could be anywhere - and why do they have to play muzak during the meal - whats wrong with 'gamelan'??

To sum up the Laguna is fine if you want a general '4' star hotel experience in the sunshine. If you want a truely Balinese, '5' star, luxury experience then think again. We decided to cut short our stay and move to one of our favourite hotels in the area (Grand Hyatt) where we felt so much more relaxed and refreshed.

Stayed: July 2008
5  Thank fabholslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelaguna, David Cuddon - General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2008

Dear Sir/Madam

Greetings from The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Nusa Dua, Bali!

First of all I would like to say thank you for posting a review about The Laguna on Tripadvisor.com. We value every comment posted as it takes our guest’s precious time to write such detailed review and more importantly, they enable us to know how our guests perceive our services and where we have to focus on improvement to remain an exclusive resort.

We have noted your feedback in regards to the room layout and the balcony size of our lagoon access room as well as your input to have a traditional music during breakfast time. Although much time will be needed to improve the first two comments as they will involve reconstruction budget, we will act on the music selection preference immediately.

On the behalf of management and associates, I extend our very best wishes and once again we really appreciate your valuable review on Tripadvisor.com. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bali and the Laguna in the future.

Please do contact me when making your next arrangement so that I can personally take care of all the arrangement to ensure your next experience with us is a most enriching and distinctive one.


Best wishes,
David

David Cuddon
General Manager
The Laguna Resort & Spa, Nusa Dua Bali
E-mail: david.cuddon@luxurycollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

This was my second stay at the Laguna Resort. The last time was 3 years ago before the extensive renovations were done. During our 8-day stay at the premise, we have noticed improvements in many areas.

The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous as usual. The hotel grounds were very well maintained. Rooms were clean, newly refurbished and equipped with 37" LCD TVs. The quality of the breakfast buffet was excellent. We were told they now have the most extensive breakfast buffet in Bali.

Contrary to a previous complaint about pool cleaners with plastic buckets, we did not find them to be a nuisance. They are absolutely necessary to maintain the overall cleaniless of the beautiful pool areas. There are many trees over-hanging the pools. Flowers are constantly dropping into the pools and they need regular attention. The workers were quiet and discreet and they were not constantly at the pools, mostly first thing in the morning and maybe at the middle of the day.

We were also impressed by the fact that the general manager was always visible and petroled the premise regularly. We saw him everywhere and noticed that he even personally removed dirty dishes from the pool area.

The staff seemed to have a genuine sincerity towards their guests which is very refreshing. As a matter of fact, some of them even recognized us from our previous visit 3 years prior.

Many might argue that the Nusa Dua area is not 'real Balinese' but there are actually many many positive aspects of the area. First of all, it's a 'secured' area, most vehicles have to go through security check to enter the area. Secondly, the area is much cleaner and air is fresher (esp when compared with Kuta area). Thirdly, it safer and quieter and the Bali Collection shopping mall (within walking distance) offers a dozen or so dining choices (at reasonable prices). You could choose to stay at the more 'Balinese' areas but you will also have to live with crowded beaches and noisy streets.

Overall, we were very happy to have the opportunity to stay at the Laguna and we will very much look forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kentan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

This is our second trip to Bali - part fun and part work. First year we had a private villa which was nice but limited us to one spot. This year we stayed first nights at The Ritz Carlton in a huge one bedroom villa with private pool - wonderful. Next stop was the Novotel in Nusa Dua - we saw it and left immediately. The Laguna kindly took us in and the service from the greeting at the door to the afternoon teas in the library, to the breakfast staff that remembers you each day - was amazing. The staff are sincerely friendly, kind and actually assist. Our bags were brought by the Concierge from the Novotel without event or even a charge. All the other reviews about the restaurants, pools, delightful breakfast, garden setting, internet in the room that actually works - are all true. We stayed over a week and then returned for another few days after our time in Ubud - make sure you stay there too !
The excercise room is great and available 24 hours. We didn't try the massages here - but the body treatments - waxing and pedicure were not the best. Try the massages just down the road at the Grand Hyatt - wonderful new spa with great setting.

We ate at the hotel and for Japense at the hotel next door - a Westin I think ? We also went often to Seminyak - we didn't mind taking a taxi back and forth as it could be a little dull in Nusa Dua. The Library Restaurant and of course Ultimo are wonderful values in Seminyak.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravellerNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melipan, meli on behalf david cuddon. meli.pangkul@luxurycollection.com at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2008

Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm greetings from Bali and The Laguna Resort & Spa!

I trust you had a safe flight back home and have already returned to the busy routine of daily life.

It was a great pleasure to have you staying at The Laguna Resort & Spa, Nusa Dua recently and thank you very much for spending some of your precious time to write and give very valuable input on tripadvisor.com. Your valued comments and ratings are extremely important in enabling us to continually monitor and fine-tune the services and facilities we offer.

We delighted that your stay was enjoyable and we thank you for choosing The Laguna as your home away from home. On the behalf of management and associates, we look forward to welcoming you back to experience the indigenous service of The Laguna in the not too distant future.

Exceptional yours,

David Cuddon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

This was my third visit to Nusa Dua, but twice before we had stayed at the Grand Hyatt. Needless to say, we ended up transferring back to the Grand Hyatt after a few nights at the Laguna.
There were no real problems with the resort, just it wasn't really up to the standards of the Grand Hyatt. It was a nice place, and the room was clean with sufficient air conditioning, but the balcony of our junior suite was awfully small to accomodate three guests.
The staff were friendly and inviting, but the pool bar waiter (who took down drink orders from people sat by the pool) never came down to the far end, where our sunbeds were.
The eye catching lagoon style pool with mock beach was very pleasant, and the waterfalls surrounding it made for a nice view. however, the pool water always seemed to have flowers from the trees in it - which I feel is no problem. However it is a problem when the staff, armed with large plastic bins and wetsuits, constantly meander around the pool, seemingly doing nothing to clean it. This rather disturbed the view, and also gave us quite a shock when we opened our lagoon access room window early in the morning to find a man right outside our room with - you guessed it - a large plastic bin.

Overall, nice place, good food, but nothing special, and we felt to make the most of our 13 hour ttravel to Bali, we had to stay in a more luxorious hotel.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank JezzaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melipan, meli on behalf david cuddon. meli.pangkul@luxurycollection.com at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2008

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from "The Laguna Resort & Spa", Bali, A Luxury Collection Resort!

I trust you had a safe flight back home and have already returned to the busy routine of daily life.

It was a great pleasure to have you staying at The Laguna Resort & Spa, Nusa Dua recently and thank you very much for spending some of your precious time to write and give very valuable input on tripadvisor.com. Your valued comments and ratings are extremely important in enabling us to continually monitor and fine-tune the services and facilities we offer.


We delighted that your stay was enjoyable and we thank you for choosing The Laguna as your home away from home. On the behalf of management and associates, we look forward to welcoming you back to experience the indigenous service of The Laguna in the not too distant future.

Exceptional yours,


David Cuddon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews