We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and relaxing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful room and relaxing experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

You must stay in a room with laguna access on the first floor! It is amazing and peaceful to take a swim whenever you feel like it, right outside your room. The beach is nice, but tides are very drastic. I preferred the pools and lagunas! The entire complex was very nice, including spa, fitness center, two restaurants with many options, and various bars. The happy hour is especially good with half price drinks and a great band. The staff is extremely attentive and helpful with 24 hour butler service. Its nice to have more bottles of water whenever you need! Laundry is expensive unfortunately.

Room Tip: First floor room with laguna access! Its not worth it otherwise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Greta K,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for residing with us and we are glad to learn that our service and facilities have lived up to your satisfaction. It is pleasing to learn that you enjoyed our Lagoon Access Room that provides our guests with direct access to our beautiful lagoon from your balcony.

We really appreciate your kind feedback regarding our laundry pricing but kindly be advised that our pricing is in line with surrounding five star establishments which is continuously reviewed to ensure that it remains competitive amongst similar resorts in the area.

We do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,146
    677
    211
    79
    50
See reviews for
674
1,715
90
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The rooms at Laguna are OK, but definitely not in the five-star category, especially for Bali. The furnishings are more or less what you would expect to find at a Sheraton in the US, although the bathroom is somewhat better with a separate stall shower. It was hard to make the room entirely dark at night, in part due to safety lights on steps leading to the bathroom. Then again, the price is a lot lower than at Bali's top resorts. Very, very few of the hotel's rooms have beach or ocean views; the vast majority overlook a pool area. There are a lot of people at the resort, so it can feel somewhat crowded unless you find a more isolated place to spend the day. There are lovely bales that may be rented for a reasonable price for the day. Lounging in a bale gives you a lot more privacy than you would have at a chair on the beach or by one of the pools. The breakfast buffet is disappointingly bad with food that looks and tastes mass-produced, but the food served for lunch by the beach is very good and fresh. The hotel is in a convenient location near sightseeing, not too far from the airport and on a truly magnificent beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear atw100,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and we apologize if some aspects of your stay did not entirely meet your expectation. We have very well noted all your feedback for our review and improvement since we are continuously looking for ways to improve our service and facilities.

We do hope your concerns did not prevent you from coming back to our Resort whenever your travel plans bring you back to this paradise island.

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel. The rooms were pretty spacious. The breakfast was great! My only complaint is that even though gratuity was added to the rooms, all the workers expected a tip. If you didn't give one, they made it know that they were disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mizy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear mizy k,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write a review on TripAdvisor

We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our rooms and breakfast and we do apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced due to the service of our staff. This is surely not the standard we try so hard to maintain and rest assured that we will use this concern in our development training program hence it will not happen again in the future.

Thank you for residing with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The location, the landscaping, the service, the yummy food, the breakfast spread, the helpful staff , the conference facility in the Balai Raya Rooms, the seafood barbecue beachside buffet with the free bottle of wine ...wow, the swimming pool and the restaurants, seldom have been at peace with myself in a property , Thanks a ton for the awesome experience.

Room Tip: Ideally ask for a pool facing room or if affordable go in for the pool villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riyaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Riyaz K,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor and we are happy to learn that your stay with us was a flawless and memorable one and that you enjoyed every aspect of our resort including our service and facilities.

We do hope your memorable experience will bring you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I spent 4 nights here and overall had a pleasant stay. I booked a Deluxe Studio room and enjoyed its spaciousness and large bathroom. Our mid-afternoon check in took quite a while, which I didn't understand. They did provide a refreshing drink and cold towel as we waited. As a gold SPG member, a nice large bowl of fruit was in our room upon arrival.

We could see a sliver of the ocean but otherwise had a garden view from our top floor. Service was fine, no complaints; coffee was always delivered within 10 minutes of request. We had breakfasts and a few dinners on site and the breakfasts were fine but the dinners were bland and unexceptional. Wireless internet worked very well, including from the beach.

There is a good happy hour every evening at Kukkul Bar for two hours, and we enjoyed some very good and unique cocktails made by friendly staff. Another highlight was going for a drink at the King Cole Bar at St. Regis -- wow, that's a posh (and expensive!) property. I really liked the bar, but dinner at Boneka was a huge disappointment. The ambiance there was awful, partly because of children running around like it was a playground. We also had dinner one night at the Westin and the menu was very similar to that of the Laguna.

The ocean tide change is quite dramatic. When we were there (in early Sept.), ocean swimming essentially ended by 2pm, and by 5pm the waterline was hundreds of meters away from the beach. The many pools are there though for late afternoon swimming. Finding lounge chairs was challenging, as people would leave their chairs but also leave their towels there. Sometimes they would come back but usually they didn't.

The day before check-out, I received a preliminary bill with a higher room rate than I had booked. I explained the error that afternoon and fortunately it was remedied at check out.

Room Tip: I didn't book a room with laguna pool access and am glad I didn't, as I don't think I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlytheTail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear FlytheTail,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are glad to learn that overall you had a memorable stay with us and we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our service and facilities.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our F&B pricing and kindly be informed that our pricing is in line with surrounding five star establishments. Somehow we will revisit to make sure that it remains competitive among similar resorts in the area.

Thank you for residing with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We are currently staying at the laguna and we can not fault it . We were not sure what to expect as some other reviews had found faults , this is not the case . We travelled from uk and after a long trip we were greeted so warmly . All the staff are so eager to please and always greet you when you see them . The bali collection is five minutes away too so you can walk and feel really safe . We would recommend this hotel to everyone .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkijackson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Nikkijackson2013,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are pleased to read your favorable review regarding your recent stay with us. Your positive feedback is highly appreciated and we are really proud that we have contributed in some small way to making your experience with us a flawless one.

Thank you for residing with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a marvellous hotel! The layout is stunning but most of all the staff are outstanding. So friendly and charming. We would like especially to give a big thanks to the staff at the Cornerstone restaurant where Aprin and his team treated us like 'royalty' and the food was excellent too. Another gold star should go to a lovely young lady by the name of Puspa whose smile brightened up our breakfast each morning at the Banyubiru restaurant. Fantastic place - we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Vic M,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

It is pleasing to learn that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our Resort and we are pleased to learn that everything we offered you along your stay has met your expectation.

Your positive feedback regarding the service of our staff is highly appreciated and has been extended to the whole team especially Aprin and Puspa who have made your stay a personalized one.

Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,639 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,796 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#14 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,738 reviews
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Property: The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing