We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I used my Spg points to book the room so can't really comment about the rates. The service was exceptional. The hotel is stunning and the options for food are great. I tried their massage on the beach, which was very relaxing and professional. My only regret, not staying longer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toronto2010_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Toronto2010_a,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank your for taking some of your precious time to write a very positive review on TripAdvisor,

We are pleased to learn that you had a flawless and memorable stay with us using your SPG points. Our guests' satisfaction is our utmost priority and we are glad to learn that we have lived up to your satisfaction in this matter.

We do hope that you can stay longer on your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future,

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,503 - 1,509 of 3,285 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Staying in the Nusa beach it was the first time. Nice beach and enjoy the fantastic sunrise by the beach.

They have a unique and Yummyluciouicious deserts and cakes retailing in the cornerstone.

A must try when you are there!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Wonderland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Wonderland L,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are most pleased to read your positive review especially regarding our beautiful beach and our famous Cornerstone Deli. We do hope your nice impression of our Resort will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were 11 of us who stayed for 8 days at Laguna on our annual family vacation. We had requested early check in as our flight arrived at noon. We got there at 2.20pm and were served a refreshing drink with a wet towel. The check in process seems to be elaborated and tedious as we weren't given rooms until 3.30pm in spite of the official check in time to be 3 pm. We requested at least one room to be given as our flight had been long and we were all tired and our son was sick. They managed that request pretty well and after that everything was a smooth sail.
The hotel has the most courteous staff who wish all day long whomever they come across. Great training!! It just makes one feel special being in the hotel.
The breakfast spread is fantastic but it got monotonous for us due to the long stay.
Most of us were vegetarians and we did manage to get food to our liking.
Room service was quick.
The meandering pools were a delight. We seemed to have our own private lagoon near our rooms.
We had taken lagoon facing rooms and one lagoon access room for our parents. These lagoons are cleaned every morning and besides a few flowers and leaves they were pretty clean.
The rooms were well equipped and the bathroom have tubs that you need to lean into to take a shower. So that might be bothersome for an old couple.
Water bottles were unlimited and you could ask for as many as you wanted. That was such a relief.
About Nusa Dua - If you want to be shopping and hiking and indulging in activities Nusa Dua is far out and the travel time to all places is over an hour. It is a well gated area with a lot of top hotels around the complex with ample security and a shopping centre with some great restaurants at walking distance. It's beautifully landscaped and if you want to just chill and relax then this is the place and LAGUNA your hotel.

Room Tip: We opted for lagoon facing rooms and they were perfect!! We also had one lagoon access room for our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmgarewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear nmgarewal,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are happy to learn that you had a flawless and memorable stay with us from the day you checked until you departed our shores. It is also pleasing that our staff has taken care of your very well and delivered you the standard we try so hard to maintain so far.

Thank you for all your positive feedback and we do hope that you will always return to The Laguna Resort & Spa whenever your travel plans bring you back to this Paradise Island.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Laguna Nusa Dua is surely a huge hotel with lagoon atmospheric swimming pools. The landscape and numerous swimming pools - room access lagoon pools and central pools are great indeed. Landscape is excellent.
We booked 2 rooms. The room size and the bathroom are ok, although they have probably seen better days. In room coffee and tea making is not available and tea/ coffee is available through request only. The balcony and bathroom need improvement. Water spray jet for toilet is a necessity for some people and is not installed/ available.
Staff were culturally too friendly and that made me a bit uncomfortable. Breakfast choices were probably the strength of this hotel. Absolutely no complaint about breakfast.
The hotel is located on Nusa Dua beach. But Nusa Dua beach is not good for swimming because the tide is so low and far in the morning and late afternoon.
The hotel is good for family with young children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andri_sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Andri_sw,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding our service and facilities especially our huge lagoon pools. We have very well noted all your constructive comments for our review and improvement .

We are aiming to provide personalized service by our Butlers to all of our guests hence coffee and tea service is provided on complimentary upon request in the comfort of your room within 24 hours.

We do hope that some of your concerns will not prevent you from coming back to our Resort and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed in Laguna as a returned customer. Instead of staying the usual villa I decided to get a room to be closer to the pools and beach. It turns out to be the most unpleasant stay. I was very surprise that the management did no suggestion cleaning our toilets using any chemicals but seem to be just a wipe down with water daily. I have an eight and a four year old with me, even they say there is urine smell everyday in the toilet of our room thats supposedly be clean. We were in room 116 and the safe in that room seems to be very out of age. We have to key in the 4 digits every time we open and lock the safe making it even more difficult that the numbers are not like any numbers arranged in a sequence like our phone for example the 12&3 on the top ending on the bottom with *0#, rather its 4 numbers in a row making it get lock 3 times during our stay. In addition, we understand about suggestive selling but the front desk rather suggest a suite when they say i have an option and when I request for my ground floor room to have a porch door that opens to the pool they told us it was full. Up selling is fine but not too high to recommend a suite. The front desk could also work on guest services and not make us wait so terribly long on check out. The bill to okay and drop was sent the night before and the days bill before the check out was not in the bill making us have to que again the next day. This is such a surprise coming from a five star hotel. Much disappointed.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Husni m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Husni M,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and I sincerely regret that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I want to reassure you that appropriate chemicals from a reputable brand, which are used at Starwood Hotels & Resorts globally, are used for cleaning purposes, including your bathroom. I have discussed your feedback with the relevant Department Heads to look into what the cause could have been of the smell you describe.

In regards to the safety deposit box, please note that this type of in room safe is commonly used worldwide by most International hotel chains and the 4 digits lock combination is a further security over 3 digits locks. I regret to learn that you found them difficult to operate.

Your additional comments are noted and shared with my team. We certainly hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion you will allow us to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

- Outstanding property with waterbodies all around, flawless maintenance. (I had a direct pool access from my room, trust me its a lot of fun to just splash into the pool whenever u feel like.
- Awesome private beach, perfect setting for relaxing in the late evening......I fealt like sleeping off there...
- Great staff and service, possibly the first time i had checked out of a hotel with zero complaints
- Decent location, Bali Collection (the market and social center of Nusa Dua) is a 5 minute walk....place for water sports was hardly 20 mins drive....35-40 mins from airport.....

In all perfect place to stay relax and have fun.....though only thing i regret about my booking is the duration of stay :( it should have been longer!......

Thank you for making it a memorable stay!.

Room Tip: Lagoon access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piyush_chdhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Piyush_chdhry,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding all aspects of your stay at our Resort and we are happy to learn that everything we have offered you met your expectation.

We do hope that you can stay longer on your next stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the beginning of June 2013
On arrival at the Hotel, first impressions were great, check-in was a little sketchy as we weren't really told much about the Hotel or what was going on there, or services, so we had to find out for ourselves from the info in the room.
We requested on booking a high floor room after reading that lower rooms smelt of damp (which is true!) but we were put on the 2nd level, so from the word go we were disappointed, but we did ask to be moved, on which we were promptly moved to the 4th floor the next day (which doesn't smell of damp) the room was spacious, always clean & air con a blessing! The bed was to die for, HUGE & comfortable. Some rooms have small balcony's so ask for a room with a bigger one, we stayed in 452 which was nicely positioned because once the sun started to shade the pool we would go up to the room & get the last of the sun on our balcony with a drink!
If you order breakfast to your room expect to pay extra! Even though its bed & breakfast you have to buy the breakfast again just because its delivered to your door! We expected a service charge but not to pay again for the food!
Both restaurants are very nice, the food is always plentiful & fresh & to suit every nationality, although if you have dinner in the restaurant make sure your wallet is full!!!! .... very expensive & we didn't think it was any better than anywhere else!!!
We ate at the Bali Collection (shopping centre) about 10mins walk. Go outside of the Hotel at the roundabout with the hospital in front of you, turn left & keep walking you can't miss it! (expect hassle from the taxi men - they were harmless, just annoying) Many lovely restaurants there at a 3rd of the price! Its a nice walk, not too far & the cheap Bintang beer is soooo refreshing, need to find this in the UK!
We also bought our own drinks & snacks from the supermarkets there.
The pools around the hotel are great although could do with an update as does the hotel in general but all the same nice, with enough sunbeds & lots of different places to sit around the well maintained gardens.
The squirrels roam freely which is a pleasure to watch them playing while your sun bathing.

The staff around the pool & gardens work tirelessly 'thank you' you all do a wonderful job, as do the spa girls. We both had a massage & was well worth the money.

Now for the worse part!!!!! ........
We decided to spend the day on the beach, which does have fairly white sand, so after breakfast went & settled ourselves on a sunbed which there are lots of & comfortable too, we headed down to the sea which wasn't the crystal blue Indean Ocean we remembered in the Maldives, it was quite dark with rubbish floating in it, so we were instantly disappointed, its very shallow & there's bouys a little further out which stops you from going any further, so if your expecting to swim, think again! ......... THEN THE TIDE WENT OUT!!!!!!! ........... OMG!

It left a great big dirty looking mound of stodgy sand which was not at all pleasing on the eye & does not bode well for a 5* hotel, not what we had expected of Bali at all. On top of that there are fisherman constantly standing in the water all day right in front of the view from the sunbeds. We just thought the beach let down the whole Bali experience. So i'm afraid to say I doubt we would visit Nusa Dua again. We were in fact shocked at how ugly it was once the tide went out!

Day Trips .......
We went on a day trip to Lembongan island, an hour on the Catamaran which was an idyllic quirky little village, worth going to but if your going there to snorkel don't expect to see much! I think we saw about 6 fish lol But we had a fun day there all the same.

We also went to Ubud to Cycle through the old villages & rice fields which was a great day out, we went through the elephant camp where we took photo's then ended up at the Monkey Park, an amazing day out, the monkeys sit on your lap while you can take your own photo's! Then to a little restaurant to have lunch.

To summarise ....... an 'OK' hotel that have hard working staff that maintain to a good standard but the place does need an all over refurbishment, definately not what we call a 5* & the beach really lets its down.
Breakfast is good, Spa good, rooms nice, bed comfortable but all just average really, nothing special were sorry to stay.

Room Tip: Definately request a higher room they don't smell of damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevorJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear TrevorJo,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your thorough review regarding our Resort and we would like to apologize if some aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectation.

Thank you for your feedback in regards with our pricing, kindly be informed that our F&B pricing is in line with surrounding five star establishments and continuous review is done to make sure that our pricing remains competitive amongst similar resorts in the area.

Your other feedback has been well noted for our review and improvement and we do hope that your concerns will not prevent you from coming back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,761 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#23 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,015 reviews
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.8 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $105 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing