We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I brought my family this time as I returned to the Laguna after spending 5 nights with my friend here last year. Both times, this resort has not disappointed me, but my husband and daughter enjoyed it as well. Loved the spacious room and the service the staff provided us with everywhere we went. The beachfront is nice and clean and the pool areas are amazingly maintained ! My daughter and I especially enjoyed the fitness centre and other amenities.
We had lovely entertainment at the Kul Kul bar and special dinners at Arwana beachside restaurant. We went for endless walks along the beach and screened, checked out all the other hotels and by far the Laguna was our favourite one. It's location is second to none and its level of service really stands out. It was also good value for money - however not exactly cheap - but you get what you pay for.... I would certainly return and I heard that the rooms will be renovated soon, so that will be a nice addition to an already fantastic resort.

Room Tip: The executive suite was spacious light and bright and had good outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear AWerj,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for sharing your favorable review with us on TripAdvisor.

We are really pleased to learn that our service and facilities have really met your satisfaction hence you and your family had a wonderful and memorable stay with us. We are also thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your culinary journey at our Restaurants and we do hope that your unforgettable experience with us will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,519 - 1,525 of 3,281 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here for one week in a Lagoon access room. The grounds of this hotel are outstanding, and the pools and beach area are beautiful. Sunbathing loungers were extremely comfortable- since this is where I spend most of the holiday this is really important to me!!! The room was nice enough, but was in the shade all day so we couldn't sit in the sun on the balcony and did not use this at all.
Unfortunately our arrival at the hotel was not really pleasant, on finding out we had come from a resort where we had been in a villa we were pressurised to upgrade at the rate of US$300 a night... staying for a week this seemed far, far too much! On the way to our room we were told how small our room was in comparison to the villa and generally it was talked down. Considering the significant money we had paid for this holiday we were really disappointed and concerned that we were given a 'bad room' to further pressure us to upgrade.
Happily our experience did improve after this... the breakfasts were lovely and there was a good selection in both restaurants. At lunchtimes we usually ate on the beach or at the beach bar, although service was often quite slow the food was tasty and views were excellent. To be honest on holiday you don't really mind the wait! The little coffee shop near reception also did good lunches and a more reasonable selection of meals.
Location was good... we walked to the Bali collection easily, and it was nice if you went along the beach path.
Prices within Nusa Dua itself were quite high, particularly wine. However, a metered taxi to the Seminyak/Legion/Kuta region were about 70k (less than one drink in the hotel) and you could have some excellent meals here at a much cheaper price. The restaurants on the beach in Jimbaran are closer and also reasonable too.
Overall (after arrival!) we did really enjoy our stay here. Inside the hotel there really does need to be some refurbishment soon, it is a little tired, but it is clean and does the job. Outside makes up for this shortfall- the grounds are excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelAts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear RachelAts,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your nice review regarding your recent stay with us and it is very pleasing to learn that you enjoyed our grounds, cuisine, and facilities.

Kindly rest assured that we always give our valued guests the best rooms possible and we apologize if you felt that our staffs have made you feel inconvenient regarding the room upgrade. Kindly rest assured that this is not the normal feelings our guests used to experience and we have shared your comment to relevant department for further improvement.

Your comment regarding every aspect or our Resort is highly appreciated and we are happy that despite your concerns, you had a wonderful holiday with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for five nights, just arriving home today. We were celebrating our ten year anniversary, and had a great time.

We paid extra for the lagoon access room, but found that the pool outside our room didn't connect with the main pools, so if we were to go again, we wouldn't bother with the upgrade.

On our first day we hired bikes (75000 rupiah for an hour each was a bit steep we thought), which was a great way to get a lay of the locality.

We walked every day along the beachfront to bali collection shops (about 10 minutes) as well as the markets and shops just outside the compound gates (about 15 minutes). Would definitely recommend the flower spa on the main road outside the wider compound. With 1 hour massages for 7,500, we were very happy with the quality of the service and went multiple times.

But back to the hotel... We very much enjoyed the guitar trio at Kul Kul bar each night, and happy hour drinks. Breakfast buffet was included in our package, and we were a bit disappointed that the menu was basically the same at the two restaurants.

The money changer was competitive enough in exchange rates and Internet cafe was way quicker than the somewhat temperamental wifi. While the gelati in the cornerstone deli was nice, a single small scoop was 3,000 rupiah. At the bali collection, two large scoops was only 2,000, but I guess that is just resort prices.

One frustration was when we were looking to find sun beds to use. Often people simply left towels and there was no way of knowing if people had left or not. Perhaps a system could be put in place encouraging people who are leaving to put their towels on the ground for collection?

Grounds were beautiful, breakfast was great, even the lattes were good. It seemed to be one of the most popular hotels in the area but it was not overcrowded or noisy at all.

We would definitely recommend this hotel, and are hoping to return in a few years time when our children are a bit older.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MattWilson80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear MattWilson80,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your nice review on every aspect of our Resort and we are happy to learn that your stay with us was a relaxing and enjoyable one.

Indeed the pools of our Lagoon Access rooms are not connected to the main pools in order to give our guests the best private swimming experience and your feedback regarding our restaurants menu has been shared with our Executive Chefs for wider food variety.

in regards with our sunbed, we will organize better hence all of our guests can enjoy the facilities up to their satisfaction and we really thank you for this valuable feedback.

Thank you for residing with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited Laguna in April 2013. One of the most relaxing holidays we ever had. The beach is very comfortable, wifi acces available not only on the beach but all over the hotel. The only negative thing is that on Bali there is a great influence of tides therefore after lunch it is impossible to swim in the ocean. The room was very big and comfortable. The spa is at the best asian level. Lots of different treatments, and massages and at a very good price. We also visited monkey forest attraction and the Temple in Tanah Lot, the hotel provided us with airconditioned minivans that took us anywhere where we asked. The price was also reasonable, it might be more expensive than outside of the hotel, but the comfort you get is worth the money. All together I would recommend this hotel for any type of group (family even with young children, newlyweds, a group of friends)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatushkaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear KatushkaMoscow,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

It is a pleasure to learn that you had a relaxing and memorable holiday at our Resort and we are glad that you enjoyed our free WiFi access which is available throughout the resort including at our beach and restaurants. We are also happy that our spa treatment has lived up to your satisfaction and we will surely share this good comment to our team at Spa.

t is nice to hear that you enjoyed your excursion at Monkey Forest and Tanah Lot and we really thank you for recommending other reviewers to reside here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had a reservation for 4 nights at this hotel. Due to some issues with my ID i couldn't cross Indonesian border. I informed the hotel's reps about this and asked to cancel my reservation with penalty. They refused. I asked to postpone my reservation then. They refused as well. They didn't offer any alternatives. It is the first time when the hotel's management is so unflexible. I would never recommend anyone to stay at this "luxury" hotel with non luxury services.

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Kristina S,

Thank you for your review. Please be advised that you have been speaking with your booking agent and not directly with the hotel. Please contact us directly, laguna.reservation@luxurycollection.com, so that we can try and assist you with finding a suitable solution. We have been trying to get in touch with you and have sent you an email directly but unfortunately we have not heard back from you. We look forward to finding a resolution and welcome you to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.



Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed 11 nights in early July with wife and 2 teenage children. Had Lagoon Access rooms which were wonderful - just pop out onto your balcony and dive in! OK "diving not allowed" yh .Plentiful sunbeds at poolside and beach. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Food and drink were good, if expensive, but breakfast was especially excellent - I never needed lunch even though my children managed pizzas somehow. Location only downside, a little away from the real Bali, but easy enough to get a cab somewhere.
I would love to go back, but need to do some serious saving...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lthashtp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Lthashtp2,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you and your family had a wonderful and memorable stay with us and we highly appreciate your compliment regarding our hospitality service since it will boost the spirit of our team to deliver the better service to our valued guests. .

Thank you for residing with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

They have one of the best beautiful grounds in Nusa Dua. We had such a relaxing holiday.

No it is not a brand new building, but it was very well maintained. We had an upgraded suite with a laguna view. The pool is lovely ...twisting around the complex. The pool and grounds did not feel as crowded as the westin next door. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet which had so many options to choose from.

I am not a beach person and usually get quite bored at isolated resorts.....but I could have stayed here for a week!

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite and if you can get one where the door is right at the pool level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Paris28,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are pleased to read your positive feedback regarding our Resort, pools, grounds, and breakfast. We are thankful to learn that everything we have offered you along your stay has met your expectation and we do hope that your flawless experience will bring you back to our Resort in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,757 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#23 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,122 reviews
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
0.8 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $144 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing