We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at this resort with a friend recently and can't recommend it enough. We had a last-minute schedule change during a trip around Indonesia so ended up booking this place for 2 nights the evening before we arrived. I'd say it's better for families or couples rather than friends but we enjoyed nonethless. It was a steal for what we paid (I think $175 a night). It seemed a little older but definitely not outdated and it was absolutely massive. If you bring your kids, do not let them wander off because you will never find them again.

The spa was wonderful - excellent facials and very reasonable price-wise. Gym was well equipped and open 24-7. We didn't use, but they have their own water sports and tour booking desks onsite. The food was just OK - we had the BBQ lunch in the place by the beach when we arrived and thought it was overpriced. Maybe we weren't quick enough, but every time we went up for something it happened to be empty and there wasn't much to pick from in the first place. The breakfast buffet in the other restaurant was great though - we especially loved the pretzel bread rolls, the dim sum and the strong coffee.

Would also like to mention that they upgraded us to a lagoon-view room and comped our breakfast the first morning. The second morning we had to leave before the buffet opened at 7 so we ordered delivery at 530 via the door hanging thing and they brought the wrong meal. Not sure how that happens when it's written in black and white but we didn't have time to address so just ate it anyway. Check in and out was really slow so that is another area they might think about looking into. More so than any of the other places we stayed, the staff here were genuinely friendly and helpful. Really a nice spot - a bit far from the action though so it's not for you if you want to be in the middle of the crowds.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USATravelerUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear USATravelerUAE,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for review and we really appreciate your feedback regarding our room, spa, cuisine, and especially hospitality service. Your concern has been well noted for our review and improvement and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,689 - 1,695 of 3,454 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

I booked the hotel to relax a couple of days after a business trip to Singapore because of the numerous recommendations and the nice pictures. And I've found a very nice, luxury resort with all facilities you can expect of a 5-star hotel (decent restaurants, excellent food, beautiful beach, nice pools, bali beds at the beachfront, very good spa etc.).

What has to be underlined is the outstanding service in the hotel. Even if it is not a small hotel the service is always personal (except in the big breakfast restaurant - go to this at the beach front!) and very friendly without beeing stiff. Doesn't matter if you go to the restaurants, the lobby or the spa - you will find this excellent friendy service whereever you go! Thank you Mana, Gede and all others for taking care of me with your balinese warmth and friendlyness! I had a wonderful time...

Room Tip: Invest the money for a room on the third floor if you don't really need a direct access to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Carsten H,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are glad that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our Resort and we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our service and we will extend your positive feedback to our team and especially to Mana and Gede who will be very happy to receive this comment. This has always been rewarding to hear such compliment since it will boost the spirit of our staff to deliver the better hospitality service to our valued guests.

Once again, thank you for your nice review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and luxury of The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The staff were great, on all points. We had some room issues on the ground floor, one was very wet, musty, but it opened up right into a pool, so what are you going to do? The other room smelled like a portopotty, but they came in and fixed and then all was good. The hotel food was above average, not great, but not bad, either. Drinks were too pricey, but nusa dua is a little enclave that is too far away from bars/competition. The resort was very family oriented, not super hot for couples. I have also stayed at the Ritz near Jimbaran, and I would stay there over this resort because of the sunset, better grounds, and proximity to Jimbaran seafood restaurants.

Room Tip: If you like the idea of opening the back door and just jumping itno the water, then go for a ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crabjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Crabjunkie,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your nice feedback regarding our staff and we are happy to learn that we have contributed in some small ways to making your stay a memorable one.

We have well noted your concern regarding the room condition which has been shared with relevant department for further follow up. Regarding the price of our beverage, kindly be advised that our pricing is in line with surrounding five star establishments and we do hope that these concerns do not make your stay less enjoyable.

Thank you for residing with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Laguna Resort.
The location is excellent, with a beautiful and quiet section of private beach. The hotel itself is well maintained with beautiful gardens and pools.
The staff was very friendly and efficient and the butler service delivered complimentary coffee and tea to our room every morning. The food in the restaurant was excellent. However, the restaurants are overpriced, and especially alcohol is extremely expensive. Luckily, there are many good restaurants at the Bali Collection plaza around the corner for less than half the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Peter L,

Greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for posting a favorable review regarding your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive feedback in regards with our grounds, cuisine, and hospitality service.

In regards with the pricing of our Food and Beverage items, we would like to inform you that our pricing is in line with surrounding five star establishments. However, we will revisit our pricing to make sure that it remains competitive amongst other resorts in the area.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Bit late in submitting my review but stayed at this resort in Feb/march 2013 and had a fantastic time. The hotel staff were friendly and polite and always smiling. There were 3 Restaurants within the complex 2 of which served a buffet breakfast . We tended to use the one closest to the beech which is the smaller of the two but in my opinion the nicest. The selection is vast with a caters for
Indonesian/Chinese/and European tastes. This restaurant does however close at ten whereas the main restaurant is open until eleven for the late risers. Tip if you use the beachfront don't get a table next to a tree as there are a lots of squirrels living in them and they are like to join you for breakfast .

We has a 1st floor lagoon view room which was comfortable and more than adequate for our requirements.The butler service was fantastic 24 hr providing tea/coffee etc. We were only bed and breakfast preferring to eat a local Restaurants in the evening. Tip if do this decide where you want to go ring the restaurant and they will come and collect you from the hotel and take you home after your meal. There are plenty of organised excursions available but these tend to be a bit expensive, we were with friends and negotiated with one of the many drivers near the shopping centre. I think we payed the equivalent of £22 for a days excursion 10hrs four people to places we wanted to visit.

Feb/ march is still in their rainy season so don't expect to see cloudless sky's , however the temperature is in the high twenties and we still got plenty of sun.

In all we had a very good holiday the balinese people are lovely and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others my only criticism was that the lagoon paintwork was looking a bit tired and could do with a fresh lick of paint.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear David F,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are glad that you had a wonderful and memorable stay at our Resort and we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our resort, cuisine, and hospitality service. Further, we are pleased to learn that everything we offered you along your stay has met your expectation.

We are also happy to hear that our staff took good care of you. This has always been rewarding to hear such compliment since it will boost the spirit of our staff to deliver the better hospitality service to our valued guests.

Thank you for residing with us and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in June 2012 and think it was one of the nicest places we have stayed. The rooms, gardens and pools were beautifully kept and we visited all of the restaurants and bars on site and enjoyed them all. We particularly liked the Kulkul bar and went here most afternoons for a drink or snack. We were kept amused by the semi-tame squirrels who would try and steal food from your plate, although some guests didn't find this as amusing as we did! We upgraded to one of the pool access rooms which was quite a novelty and the only downside was that it was mostly shady and a bit cool on our side. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and we did use the butler service quite a bit for drinks in the small hours for 'world cup match' refreshments! The spa was also very enjoyable. We regularly enjoyed walking to the Bali Collection local area to eat quite often as there were a good variety of restaurants and also shops to buy gifts etc. We went on several trips which were very good but the traffic to get anywhere was horrendous, especially towards Kuta as there are so few roads in the area. Many of the trips have to use this part of the route. Drivers in this area manage to squeeze three lanes of traffic into two actual lanes! Most journeys to any of the sights inland took about two hours which became bit tedious after the first couple! You need to be quite fit to do some of the trips as there can be a lot of steps up or down to do white water rafting or to see the waterfalls! The whole resort area of Nusa Dua is beautifully landscaped but a little bit artificial but you don't have to walk far to find the more genuine part of the town. One of the main things we liked about our hotel was that it was fairly quiet and peaceful, i.e. no loud discos at the pool every day! But there was a nice selection of background music at the bar and some live music some evenings. I would say that this resort would appeal more to the 30+ age group but if you want a livelier scene then Kuta has many more bars, clubs and loud music and is generally much busier than Nusa Dua. Overall, we really enjoyed our holiday here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeadyEyeDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear BeadyEyeDi,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding all aspects of our Resort and we are glad to learn that everything we have offered you along your stay with us meets your expectation.

We are committed to always improve all aspects of our Resort including our property and service quality and we are glad that our hard efforts are well recognized.

Thank you for your thorough review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa whenever your travel plans bring you back to this Paradise Island.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed the The Laguna in mid June 2013 for five nights. We were put in a smoking room which smelt rather musty (you eventually get used to the smell). The rooms are nice but starting to look a little tired. We had a pool access room which was worth the extra money for the upgrade as our children loved jumping into the pool straight from the balcony (and meant we could swim without taking all our 'baggage' to the pool chairs each time). The butler coffee service was a god send and the coffee decent by Bali standards. The service was exceptional in the cafe/ restaurants which made our time there enjoyable, especially for the children.

We got a great 'taste of luxury' deal which made the cost quite reasonable.

Make sure you have a massage in a beach gazebo.

The location is superb with the hotel between the Westin on one side and several other resorts on the other. Plenty of restaurants and pools to try out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubyRou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear RubyRou,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your review in regards with our facilities and hospitality service and we are glad to learn that you and your family had a memorable stay with us. Your feedback in regards with our room condition has been well noted for further review and improvement.

Once again thank you for your favorable review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
2.2 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#23 of 54 in Nusa Dua
2,086 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
4,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#6 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $156 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing