We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and service, but food and drink expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great hotel and service, but food and drink expensive”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for first 8 nights of our honeymoon and had lovely relaxing stay. Pools are great and plenty sun loungers. Breakfast buffet v good but same in both restaurants oddly. We thought drinks were v expensive in mini bar and all bars compared to outside hotel so we stocked up from supermarket and went to happy hour bar a few times after dinner. Only ate in restaurant once again expensive for what it was. Got free shuttles from other restaurants and went to bali collection a couple times for massage and meals as about 1/5 of price and v good. Service in hotel great, loved butler service and everyone v friendly. Air con etc v good. All in all a v relaxing stay but this area difficult to do much sightseeing from so looking forward to some nights in ubud as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Nicola G,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and we are glad to learn that you had a memorable honeymoon experience in our Resort.

We really appreciate your feedback regarding the price of our Food & Beverage items. Our pricing structures are in line amongst the other similar five star establishments nearby and very obvious that it can not be compared with local shops and restaurants in Bali Collection. However, we will continue our efforts to ensure that our pricing remains competitive among other similar resorts in the area.

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding our staff and we do hope your memorable experience will you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future,

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,062
    662
    207
    75
    49
See reviews for
633
1,661
88
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just returned from a fab 7 day holiday at the Laguna. Staff, restaurants, pool area, bars, beach were all amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed and would not hesitate to go back.
Ideal if you want a peaceful relaxing holiday. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Choose a lagoon access room. Step out of your room straight into a lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ynysteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear ynysteen,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are delighted to learn that you had a relaxing and peaceful stay with us and we really appreciate all your positive feedback regarding our service and facilities.

Thank you for recommending our Resort to other reviewers and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future,

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have stayed in other luxury hotels in Bali, but this is probably the best if you have young children. It has fabulous swimming pools, easily managed family restaurants, and the staff are always helpful. The open layout of the gardens and pools is simply beautiful. Our room was luxurious and spacious, although maybe the bathroom was looking in need of a renovation - its style was probably very cool about 15 years ago. I liked the relaxing demeanour of the hotel, not too stuffy yet obviously top end of the market. And the service was everything that you would expect from a top-class hotel in this part of the world.

Room Tip: You can step from some rooms on the ground floor straight into the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Wayster,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to write a favorable on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to learn that you and your family had a wonderful and memorable stay at our Resort and we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our grounds, facilities, restaurants, and hospitality service.

Your feedback regarding the bathroom condition has been well noted for our follow up and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Laguna indeed has awesome facilities and endearing staff. As we have a late flight to catch, it has kindly extended our check out time to suit our flight timing without hestitstion. Moreover, check in was a breeze. Breakfast line was assorted with a chocolate fondant. There re enough beach chairs too. Would strongly recommend it to honeymoon couples and family with kids.

The room had ample towers as well. However, it is a little rundown as there is a stale musty smell in the room. My gf and I have to use our essential oils to cover the smell (we got sensitive nose). Would recommend them to do a overhaul to th rooms. The rooms with direct access to the lagoon seems private. However the lagoons were dirty.

Special thanks to ARTANA for the warm hospitality!

Room Tip: Level 3 rooms are connected to lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staris_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Staris_L,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our staff, facilities, and cuisine. We have also shared your concern regarding our room condition with relevant department for immediate follow up. Thank you for your compliment to Artana who will be very happy to receive this nice feedback.

Thank you very much for recommending our Resort to other reviewers and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a luxurious property but the building is really showing its age in many ways. Unfortunately tired aspects with things like several power points in the room just not working, blown globes, etc detracting from the many positives. Being Bali the power dropped out often so must put pressure on all things electrical. Rooms can tend to be very dark.
Staff are excellent, extremely courteous and obliging although obviously encouraged to sell at every opportunity. Maybe a different way of providing service but comes across as pushy.
Food is expensive and only average in quality.
The grounds are beautiful and could be described as manicured although the lagoon had light patches of algae here and there.
Different pools are everywhere giving good choice of style and the opportunity to avoid kids if desired.
The Laguna is set in a very peaceful part of Bali so its distance from anything else (shops, external restaurants, activities) could be a positive or negative depending on viewpoint and purpose of your stay. For us this aspect was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaughanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Vaughanus,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your highlight regarding our room condition which will be followed up when we next undertake our renovation program as we are continuously looking for ways to improve our hotel. Feedback of this nature will be used in our evaluation process to decide what needs to be done and where.

We really appreciate your kind feedback regarding our staff and we apologize if you had the impression that some of our staff are pushy and i would like to assure that this is not the normal feeling our guests are accustomed to and we will use your comment for our evaluation.

Your feedback regarding our cuisine quality has been shared with our FB team for their review and improvement . Once again thank you for your gift of feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent two beautiful days here and there's a big butler button on the phone. You can call down for water, coffee, tea, or ice. I'm sure you can call for other things but those are the free ones. Kulkul bar has half price happy hours daily and the food at Arwana restaurant in the resort was pretty good. They offer a great all you can eat BBQ every lunch and dinner and also a la carte menu.

It's a resort in Nusa Dua so you don't and wouldn't want to leave. There's even a fake sandy beach pool in the grounds which is a little much but still very pretty. Our deluxe garden view room was spacious with a large bathroom. Service always with a smile. Truly a slice of heaven on earth here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Alu747,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your kind feedback in regards with our room, grounds, restaurants, and especially our butler service. We are found of the fact that you were satisfied with everything we had offered you along your stay.

We do hope that your flawless and memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Started off well with a pre-arranged pick up from the airport, but for almost double the cost of a normal taxi, which is expected. A bottle of water given to you by the driver, warm and the car not the best AC ever. Anyway, got to the hotel safe and sound, the reception area needs AC badly, I could hardly breathe as it was so hot and stuffy.

Check in smooth and quick, but then was left in chair, I presume to finish off my welcome drink, iced tea. I don't drink Iced tea and wasn't offered anything else, but was left on chair in blazing heat it seemed until I drunk it. I then went to the desk and asked to be shown to my room.

Room was OK, enough space for my friend and I, a nice little balcony over looking the gardens, which are beautiful. The bathroom, not sure on the glass window (luckily had a blind) that you can see into the bedroom. Bath had cracks in it and toilet seat was a bit dusty, other than that all fine.

The room itself, a bit tired looking, walls look a bit dirty, phone and surfaces not dusted properly and phone in the bathroom had months of dust on it.

Pool areas, grubby looking, bottom of pools looked brown. Plus point is that there is loads of room. Down side is we asked the towel guys to move two loungers for us to an area by the pool, they didn't seem that interested or motivated and when we aksed them for a bucket of ice, I was told on the first day to go the bar. We asked for the loungers and bucket of ice every day, the service slightly improved. At least I didn't have to go to the bar myself this time. But you would of thought that each day that we arrived at the pool they would of got the loungers ready for us in the position we sat in every day. That is 5* star service, but this was not to be.

Food was average, the breakfast was ok, the eggs very good, but very slow to be made. I think the pastries and all food should be covered up. I was put off by the flies on the doughnuts.
Lunch time bbq, you knew when it started because the smoke choking us by the pool indicated that, We didn't try the bbq as nothing was made to order, just all cooked at the same time. The pizza's were the best thing on the menu.

Drinks, so overpriced it was outrageous. We went into the Bali collection to purchase water and wine. The cocktails at happy hour seemed very watered down and were still expensive for happy hour.

The shuttle bus that takes you to the Bali collection (shops, one nice restaurant, the rest are dirty and awful food, and coco supermarket) is not run by the hotel. It is supposed to run from the hotel at 10 mins past the hour and pick up on the hour back to the hotel. One evening we were waiting for it in the night and it didnt arrive, when we asked the guy at the desk, he said nothing to do with him and laughed, I asked him to find out about it as it is advertised in the hotel directory book and therefore their responsibility, After I told him it wasn't funny, he then sorted out a hotel driver to drop us there, It's only a ten minute walk there but at night time not suitbale for two ladies. Especially when in the day time when we walked there and the taxi drivers hassled us even though we said we didn't need a taxi, and the one taxi driver who was relieving himself of his bladder into the bush, we thought better of walking past them in the night time. This was just outside of the hotel gates, not ideal to be hassled by men at any time of the day.

Room service was fine, but once we had used all the glasses in the cabinet, they were not replaced when our room was cleaned, we had to ring up and ask for more. once again, not 5 star service.

The beach was small, and dirty, OK not the hotel's fault if people throw trash into the sea, crisp packets, bottles, but a clean up should be done all day long. We did see guys picking up trash but then burying it in the sand...hmm!!

Also the electricity went out a few times when we were there, not ideal when in the bathroom.

While sunbathing, we had the guys watering plants near us, and the floor area, shouldn't this be done overnight or early morning?

Spa was lovely and not so overpriced,but there are good ones in the Bali collection mall if you looking for a massage at half the price.

Overall a pleasant holiday as the weather was fab, but not five star as advertised and won't be going back. Thought Bali was going to be paradise, I was wrong!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Debness,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and I regret to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay with us.

Your comments regarding the condition of your room as well as the service at the pool have been followed up upon and shared with the relevant department heads for immediate improvement.

In regards to the shuttle service to Bali Collection, please note that this is entirely managed and operated by Bali Collection. I apologize that our associate had inadequately handled your concern while the Bali Collection shuttle was delayed and did not arrive on schedule and I am pleased to learn that we have been able to drop you off instead.

Your constructive feedback regarding our beverage prices is noted. Unfortunately, the taxation on alcohol and in particular wine is extremely high in Bali, which has an impact on the selling prices. Rest assured that our pricing is regularly reviewed to ensure that it remains competitive among surrounding establishments.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion you will allow us to serve you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,719 reviews
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Property: The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing