We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2008

This is a well run, well maintained hotel.

The rooms are clean and spacious. The lagoon view rooms have a glass partition between the spa and bedroom (you can see into the shower/ spa from the bedroom) and loved it!!!!

The hotel hosts the best buffet breakfast I have ever experienced in the world. It was tasty, fresh and presentation was good. We also tried several restaurants including room service and they were all exellent in terms of food quality and service.

The pools at the hotel were great. There are so many of them!!!

One negative about this resort would be that they do not have enough deck chairs for everyone and alot of people would put their towel out at breakfast time to reserve their seats. The situation is a particular problem with the half a dozenof bales available. There is a hotel sign advising guests against this selfish act but is often ignored by guests.

Overall, it was a great experience and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank jcjchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,106
    667
    208
    77
    49
See reviews for
658
1,684
90
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
American living in Tokyo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

This was our 2nd time staying at the Laguna though the 1st w/ our kids (5yr and 1 1/2yr). Our holiday in Bali coincided w/ our son's 6th bday and so we told the hotel to prepare a cake for him which they did free of charge. It was a fabulously delicious chocolate mouse cake! When the staff found out about his bday at brunch, they came out w/ a cheesecake for him - complete w/ candles. Another night they had a plate of chocolate dipped strawberries along w/ a choc chip cookie for the kids! During tea time they would serve my kids as many helpings of cake as they liked and prepared fresh, steaming pots of hot chocolate! The service was just GREAT. The staff was just so accommodating - i.e. my son kept hurting himself and then asking the pool bar staff for bandages which they always gave him even when they had to go and get some from somewhere else. At the Spa Salon I asked for a children's haircut which they did w/o charge (may be b/c I had gotten a haircut, massage, etc. - but either way they were very nice about it!).

On night my husband and I brought a bagful of tropical fruits to one of the bales and were about to sit down and cut/peel them when one of the staff said they would do it for us. 10 minutes later, the fruit arrived on platters, all peeled and cut w/o charge! And the staff member even APOLOGIZED for taking so long! Let me just say, he received a great tip from us just for his smile and great attitude!

Thats just a brief overview of their IMPECCABLE service-oriented staff. Hands down one of the best if not THE BEST hotels i have been to!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank BaliHoliday07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

The hotel is situated in the Nusa Dua area of Bali. It is a highly secured area with security checks of the cars and luggage at the entrance.

Overall the hotel is really charming, with an open lobby and a truly beautifull tropical garden surrounding the hotel. In the garden you can find several typical balinese archotectue like statutes, fountains, bridges.It has 3 pools of which one is accessible by the hotel rooms on the main floor. The second pool is designed like a sandy beach including an artificial waterfall. The third pool is a traditional pool. During our stay, the hotel was not crowded.

The rooms have really nice and comfortable beds, a plasma TV (opposite the bed), a balcony (with a splendid view on the tropical garden and lagoon) and a desk. The bathroom is quite big.
We felt that the room cleaning was very good and discrete. Also the butler service is very nice, you can order coffee to your room, free of charge.
As we had only booked breakfast, I can just tell you that the buffet offered was splendid and very good: lots of different food, even rice and sushi. A cook would also prepare omelets at your own taste. The service in the breakfast room could be kind of hectical when all the tables were full.
The beach is not the best you might find in Bali but we found it truly relaxing and enjoyable unless you can ignore the beach sellers ("Hello? Sungalsses, watches,..) The service on the beach and in the pool area is very friendly, although not the fastest.

Overall I found it a really nice place to stay an will definitly return.

  • Liked — The tropical garden
  • Disliked — The beach
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel three times over the past eight years and my last one was in early April 2008. What I like most about this hotel is the lagoon pools that almost surround the hotel. It allows me to find a private place to swim anytime. From the lagoon access rooms (my favorite), one can just step into the pool directly from the terrace of the room. There are also plenty of places where one can just laze around all day almost in complete privacy.

For me, the size of the hotel - just under 300 rooms - is good because it allows for a more personal level of service yet it still has a good choice of food and beverage outlets. The service is good and the management is really concerned about it. I also found that the staff do not discriminate domestic guests (Indonesians) from international guests. Yes, sadly, in Indonesia one will still find places where they would discriminate and treat domestic tourists less in comparison to international ones. Thank God it is not the case at this hotel, ever!

A little note for those who are sensitive towards noises: ask for a room further from the next door Melia Hotel as they sometime has noisy events in the evenings. In my experience, one event there did not stop until just before midnight.

  • Liked — The lagoon pools
  • Disliked — Noise from next door hotel
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Edges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2008

We stayed in this hotel as the second part of our 3 part honeymoon and we had a great time.

The hotel was nicely styled and the bathrooms were fun (you can see the tv in the lounge through the window by the bath). Lovely reception from the Balinesse dancers.

The little step ladders from your balcony down to the pool were a nice touch, but not something we used very often as we were located on the shaded side of the pool.

Food was great. I can highly recommend a couples moonlight massage aswell.

The beach was a little disappointing as the tide went out a very long way, and for the majority of the day it seemed. Consequently the 4 poster beds by the pool go very quickly - and the ones by the beach are normally empty.

We had a lovely stay - 5/7 days would be enough though I think.

I have to say that the most memorable part of Bali for us was when we took the Landrover safari up into the mountains for the day. I begrudged getting up so early initially, but the restaurant at the top of the rainforst was fabulous - the padi fields need to be seen if you're in Bali.

  • Liked — The pool access
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank CandyJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2008

From the warm welcome to the sad goodbye , our stay at the hotel was great in every aspect .
Breakfast has to be experienced to be appreciated although dinners could be expensive . However , as usual , you get what you pay for .
All the hotel staff from the General Manager ( yes he is easily available ) downward are extremely friendly , welcoming and eager to please .
There are hawkers on the beach but they also have the Balinese gift of a warm smile and friendly disposition .
The guests are cosmopolitan with no rowdiness and a genteel air of luxury and laziness prevails .
The hotel , in summary , satisfied all of our holiday wishes .

  • Liked — Balinese Friendliness
  • Disliked — Same piped music in hotel corridors and lifts during 10 day stay
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bolton07Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

My fiance (then Boyfriend) & I decided that for our first overseas trip away together we would head to the sunny shores of Nusa Dua.

I have been to Nusa Dua a few times before, but had never stayed at The Laguna.

The hotel was wonderful! On arrival you are greeted by traditional balinese dancers, and the most amazing reception anywhere in Bali. The staff were more than helpful, and as we were Starwood prefered guests (I highly recommend joining this programe) we were upgraded to a 'Prefered Guest Suite'. The room was on the ground floor and you stepped off your verandah into the pool! This option is well worth the little extra charge, especially for those late night swims :)

We stayed here for 8 days, and tried to spend every second day relaxing in the hotel, which is easily done. There are so many pool surrounding the rooms, you could almost swim in a different one each day. There are a few lovely bars that make super cocktails, for lazy afternoons on the beach or by the pool.

I could honestly talk about this place all day, and cannot recommend it any higher!

The restaurants are wonderful, and the breakfast buffet in among the best I have had anywhere in the world!!
The room service is exceptional, including the nightly turndown service, and your own on call butler.

Ok I suppose the only downside to this place is the Nusa Dua beach... For those of you looking for Surf head to Kuda. If you are happy paddling in waist deep water then you will be fine. Not forgetting the little glass bottom boats that take you out to the reef for snorkelling trips.

We will most definitely be back and are planning to make this place our last stop on our honeymoon this year, to relax from a 12 week round the world trip.

Indonesia has so much to offer, such a wide diversity of cultures it amazes me everytime I return. I highly suggest taking the time to travel to areas such as Ubud, Mt Batu (the volcano) and most of all Tanah Lot (the sea temple).

Happy Travels.

  • Liked — The room it was amazing!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Ambichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#20 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#16 of 54 in Nusa Dua
3,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#21 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,762 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Bali
The Ritz-Carlton Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,743 reviews
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Property: The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing