We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pools”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great pools”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is part of they call the Luxury Collection in Nusa Dua and it really is luxurious, our room was spacious with a large bathroom that had a shower and bath combined. The hotel is built around 3 rather large swimming pools and the well manicured gardens are very lush. It really does have that 'wow' factor. However, the breakfasts are so, so and the evening meal that we had there was not so great either. We had dinner at the other hotels adjacent to the Laguna, such as the Malia, the Nusa Dua and the Westin and I can't say that I found any of the meals amazing despite the premium that we paid for them. If you want to stay on the resort at lunchtime, buy lunch at the onsite deli. It's better value for money and sandwiches are quite tasty. The gym is excellent and free wifi throughout the resort is a bonus. The beach is nice, but you do sink into the sand quite quickly in some parts. What I did find annoying was that there were quite a lot of residents from the Westin that came over to use the pools, I wouldn't have minded, but on several occasions, our things had been moved from our sun loungers whilst we had been down to the beach. But then, the Laguna does have the best pools within the Luxury Collection, so you can hardly blame them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chowfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear ThreeinBeijing,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are glad that you had a memorable stay at our Resort and we really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our resort, grounds, and hospitality service.

We regret that our cuisine quality has not lived up to your expectation and please rest assured that our F&B team will further improve on this to ensure our valued guests’ expectation is fulfilled.

We do hope that your nice experience with us will bring you back to our Resort in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,973
    646
    202
    73
    48
See reviews for
617
1,594
85
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We've been coming to this resort since 1999 and it always impresses. We will be back again.

I'm not going to go into too much detail as it has all been said before. It is the high standards and attention to detail that make this place. The President of Indonesia and his wife have stayed here over twenty times, including on our most recent trip, so that is a fairly strong endorsement.

Beautiful lagoons, gardens that could easily be described as 'Eden', and staff that are super-friendly and attentive make any stay here an experience. The staff at the Cornerstone Cafe deserve special recognition for the personal service they provided us.

There is always room for improvement though and the food at all of the restaurants, with the exception of the Cornerstone Cafe, could do with a lift. This was the one area we observed had deteriorated since our last visit in 2010, but it still does not reduce the five-star review as other food options are easily accessible in the area.

The Laguna is not only a beautiful resort but a great experience, and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Brett G,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa, Nusa Dua!

We are pleased to read your favorable review regarding your recent stay with us and really proud that we have contributed in some small way to making your experience with us a flawless one.

Thank you for making The Laguna one of your holiday rituals and we looking forward to see you back to our resort in near future.

Sincerely yours,
Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We left money in the hotel room Safe and when we came home we realized that we were missing $700. The room service came to our room two times without ringing the bell. Please don't visit the hotel when VIP guests are there. We stayed while there was a VIP guests and were treated like common criminals by the security staff. Not at all relaxing. The rooms had a musty smell. Although this hotel is branded as a five star hotel you will only receive two star service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Ross P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I am very concerned with your comments and rest assured that I have personally checked our records and spoken to our management team members. It seems we did not receive your feedback regarding missing items during your stay. I kindly invite you to contact me directly to assist you further.

Yours sincerely,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wow! Where do I start? It has taken me a year to write this review because we were so blown away by our stay here that I wanted to make sure my feedback accurately reflected just how special the villa experience at the Laguna is.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa with our 7 & 6 year old children last year, and our only regret is we did not stay longer, and have not yet had the opportunity to stay there again! We have stayed in our fair share of luxurious 5 star hotels around the world, yet when we were introduced to our villa at the Laguna I found myself overwhelmed by the sheer indulgence. The villas at the Laguna are in a private corner of the resort, but within easy walking access to all the resort facilities and beach, although they do offer a complimentary buggy service.

The 2 bedroom villa is amazing – spacious, very luxurious with high quality finishes and amazing attention to detail, and it is incredibly private (at no point can you see or hear your neighbours due to clever single-level architecture and beautiful greenery). There was a separate entry hall accessed from the front gate over a lovely pond, large living/dining, 2 king-size bedrooms with large ensuite bathrooms, an additional bathroom, library/study, kitchen, and separate maids quarters, the latter of which I think is a popular option for the family that travels with an au-pair or nanny (I have read previous feedback on TripAdvisor that says this can be used for a child to sleep in, but it is a small room and separate to the other living & bedroom areas – would be ok for a single child who doesn’t mind not being in a room immediately adjacent to you, but not suitable for more than one child or the parent that frets if their child isn’t close). The main ensuite bathroom was superb with a separate flat screen TV in front of the large oval bath, and an easily accessible outdoor shower in addition to the large indoor shower, separate toilet & double vanity basins. There was a beautiful rear garden, with plenty of lawn for the kids to run around, large swimming pool and bale begong. At the end of the garden was an additional gate to a beautiful tropical garden which sits behind all the villas and gives you direct access to the villa reception. The villas manager and staff were excellent and provided a top level of service with a smile.

The Laguna Resort is very well positioned. We love Nusa Dua – clean, quiet, well maintained, with good quality footpaths. Locals tell me there is a new road being built which is due for completion around September 2013 which will improve access to the airport (currently, there is a tendency for gridlock around the airport at peak times and a 15 minute trip can turn into an hour plus). And the Laguna is an easy walking distance to the Bali Collection with its shops, spas and great restaurants. We arranged SPG kids passes for our children to have free meals during their stay, but we really under-utilised it because we found ourselves going out each evening.

The lagoons of the Laguna do make this a standout resort. They meander through the resort and for the few times we would venture out of our villa to swim in the larger resort pools, they were peaceful & undercrowded despite the hotel being at high capacity. The breakfast buffet was great, although it would be nice to have a quieter and more private area to dine in (many hotels nowadays offer a “club” area for breakfast for the more expensive room types which is an attractive perk to those that like a quiet breakfast). Whilst staying at the Laguna, you are able to use the pool with its waterslide, and Kids Club at the Westin next door which is easily accessible via an adjoining pathway between the two properties, or via the beach path. We wandered over there at one stage, but ended up coming back to the Laguna because their pool was busy and full of loud children!

I love this place, and dearly hope to stay again soon. Unfortunately, luxury like this does come at a price, and at the normal rack rate you will pay $500pn more than what we have paid for in other 4-5 star 2 bedroom villas in Bali. However, the overall package is there – a superb villa, in a wonderful hotel on the beach, in a great location. It was worth every penny……

Room Tip: Stay in a pool villa or lagoon access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarKri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear CarKri02,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to post a nice review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to learn that you and your family had a wonderful stay at our Resort and we really appreciate your highlights in regards with our service and facilities. Your positive feedback is in line with the surrounding reviews and we are really proud that we have contributed in some small way to making your experience with us a flawless one.

We do hope that your beautiful memory will bring you back to our Resort in the near future.

With best regards,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

It is very pretty at the Laguna. Loved the beach and the white sand, very picturesque. We took some walks on the beach in the evenings, and it's very safe and absolutely gorgeous. Can't comment much on food, we mainly ate outside, but breakfast was pretty good. The unfortunate thing is how expensive the alcohol is in Bali(in the hotels). So, dinner and a glass of wine is not really an option since you'll pay 1/4 of a price outside.
The grounds are beautiful and well looked after. I'm sure you'll be happy with room service, it's cleanliness and the service overall. Great place to rest and chill.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Nonna V,

Greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

Thank you for posting a favorable review regarding your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive feedback in regards with our room, grounds, beach and hospitality service.

We are glad that everything we have offered you along your stay met your expectation and we really hope that your nice impression of our Resort will bring you back here in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Fantastic hotel, beautiful grounds, perfect service. Great spa, wonderful experience, etc etc. Plus there is free wifi on the entire grounds - even on the beach! The perfect total rest and relaxation get-away.

Very romantic, lots of couples, so I wouldn't recommend going alone...

The only drawback was the cost of food and drink... +/-13 USD for a cocktail, USD7 for a local beer (bintang). The buffet diner was WAY overpriced for what it was... Bali Resort prices...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Laura J,

Warmest greetings from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

We are pleased to read your favorable review regarding your recent stay with us. Your positive feedback is in line with the surrounding reviews and we are really proud that we have contributed in some small way to making your experience with us a flawless one.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our Food and Beverage pricing. Please be informed that our pricing structures are in line with the surrounding five star establishments, however we will discuss this with our Director of Culinary and team to review it once again.

Thank you for residing with us and we do hope that your nice experience with us will bring you back to The Laguna Resort & Spain the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've stayed at The Laguna a number of times now - always with extended family. If I was on my own I'd probably choose to stay in Seminyak, but with family you simply can't go past The Laguna.

Without a doubt the pools are the best in Bali. The beach is also nice for swimming and it's always fun to wander up and down from hotel to hotel.

I love the new beach-side bar and the restaurants are excellent - especially for breakfast. Yes, they're expensive by Bali standards but good value by international standards - and the seafood is particularly good. If you do want to head into the restaurants in Seminyak, you're only a $10 taxi away!

Best of all the staff at The Laguna are always wonderful - unobtrusive, elegant and friendly, like the hotel itself.

Room Tip: They're all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekeystotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelagunabali, General Manager at The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear thekeystotravel,

Warmest wishes from The Laguna Resort & Spa!

It is pleasing to read your positive insight regarding our Resort, grounds, cuisine, and hospitality service. We are glad to learn that our hard efforts to make your stay with us a memorable one are well recognized.

Your feedback in regards with our staff is highly appreciated and we do hope that your nice experience with us will bring you back to The Laguna Resort & Spa in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Mark van Leeuwen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Bali Nusa Dua Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Bali
Grand Hyatt Bali
#21 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
1.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ayodya Resort Bali
Ayodya Resort Bali
#17 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kayumanis Nusa Dua Private Villa & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton
#5 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa

Property: The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Address: Kawasan Pariwisata Nusa Dua Lot N 2, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nusa Dua
#7 Family Hotel in Nusa Dua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nusa Dua
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
#11 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exclusive Nusa Dua resort area, on Bali's most beautiful beach, the Laguna Resort & Spa boast panoramic view of Indian Ocean. The 257 guest rooms and 19 suites combine modern Balinese style with evocative tropical garden or lagoon views, the resort’s unique Lagoon Access Rooms allow you to step from your private balcony directly into crystal-clear lagoon waters while the 11 pool villas feature expansive private pools. Enjoy our seven swimmable lagoons, the first swimmable lagoon in the world, stretching over 5,000-square-metres though the resort. The Lagoon Spa promises unforgettable activities while our 24-hour Butler Service ensures a matchless experience. The Laguna Resort & Spa offers a wide range of dining options featuring cuisines from around the world. Banyubiru featuring pan-Asian and International cuisines. Arwana, a beachfront restaurant, offers an extensive and unparalled premium coastal cuisine with fresh and live seafood as well as an oyster and sushi bar. Cornerstone features a wine room with a unique setting for private dining and a deli highlighting a sambal corner, a variety of homemade ice creams, chocolates, cakes and daily specialties from the rotisserie oven. In addition, our poolside Kul Kul Bar, Cascade Garden Lounge and Bar, and Sapphire Lagoon Bar offer signature cocktails, wine, spirits and light bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa
Laguna Hotel Nusa Dua
The Laguna Hotel
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Bali/Nusa Dua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing