We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated but easy to get to Nusa Dua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa
Ranked #50 of 55 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We have just returned from 4 nights. We enjoyed the stay. Villa, pool etc. all as we expected.
Although not in the heart of Nusa Dua, shuttle buses every two hours with the last leaving Nusa Dua at 10pm, so not a problem. Anyone booked thru a Spreets voucher, take the voucher with you, as Villas Indonesia has not been forwarding on the money to the villas and fortunately Spreets are honouring the vouchers. If you have booked transport from the airport thru Villas Indonesia, no one will turn up. You need to forget that and email Nusa Dua retreat direct and ask them to pick you up. (Quote your Spreets voucher). In fact anyone on a Spreets voucher need to email the villas before arriving, so they know you are coming. Staff are very good and are having a very hard time with guests arriving thru Villa Indonesia and they have no record or money paid and have to turn them away. Spreets have honoured their voucher.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBell76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDRT, E-Commerce at Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2012

Hi Bell,

Warmest Greetings from Nusa Dua Retreat Boutique Villa Resort and Spa ...

Thank you so much for your review at Tripadvisor, we are really glad to get your review.

Thank you also for choose our property as your holiday destination and hope we can serve you better in the future.

Have a good time :)

Best regards,

Rio Ricaro
E-Commerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 104 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

Arrived at Nusa Dua Retreat to discover that the resort would not honor the $560 voucher we had purchased from Groupon. They claimed that they had never received our money that had been withheld (according to them) by their own booking agents (Villas Indonesia). The only way they would give us a room was by us paying a further $250US per night. This one screams out scam as there was atleast another ten couples that we met that got the same treatment from the resort. If you are thinking about going there have plenty of available credit on your card as an extra $1000US on top of what you have already paid is a real holiday dampened.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Margauex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDRT, E-Commerce at Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2012

Dear Ms. Margauex,

Warmest Greetings from Nusa Dua Retreat Boutique Villa Resort and Spa ...

We do apologize for this inconvenience, we knew that you are really dispointed when we charged you directly for your reservation. Since Nusa Dua Retreat and another 50 propertys in Bali facing the financial problem with Villa Indonesia since December 2011, We are no longer accept all the guest from Villa Indonesia. We've tried to contact Villa Indonesia and asked them to inform their guest regarding this issue since all the guest's contact information held by Villa Indonesia but they didn't respond us :(

We also tried to contact the 3rd party agent/website that provided coupon from Villa Indonesia to settle the payment for their guest, but unfortunately only a few agents who are willing to pay to us directly.

On behalf of Nusa Dua Retreat Boutique Villa Resort & Spa, deeply sorry for this inconvenience and hope we can serve you better in the future.

Best regards,

Rio Ricaro
Ecommerce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Airport transfer arrangement was not done properly. We had to wait for more than an hour before we were picked up to transfer to our hotel. :( Wasted our whole morning.

It wasnt exactly near Nusa Dua and beach, however, there's lots of activities you can do in the hotel. Free vcd to watch, a swimming pool, a sunning deck at the 2nd storey, free spa treatment for 2 rooms.

Their room is very spacious with the bathroom, the size of your bedroom which includes a bathtub with tv mounted on the wall. Swimming pool is still okay. However, kitchenette is a little useless with no washing liquid, no pans and pots.

Dinner was served in the villa, however ants appeared when the plates were left there overnight. Breakfast was sumptuous, and we chose to go to the restaurant to have our breakfast on the last day instead. Saw a lizard in the room, but I would say room is simply too big to make sure all the corners are taken care of.

Enjoyed the spa, and a bathtub (milk spa) was put in place for you and your other half to soak after your massage experience.

12 hours free charter bus was not really fantastic, perhaps because it is still a touristy kind of tour. However, the guide is friendly and can speak good english.

Overall, it is still a pleasant trip. Will go back for its swimming pool/spacious room and the staff services!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We bought a deal from Juz Today at S$499 for 3D2N Nusa Dua Retreat Boutique Villa Resort with complimentary 2 hour spa treatment, 12 hours car charter with driver and romantic dinner for 2.

More review at http://gastronomicaltravel.blogspot.com/

Quite nice of them to agree to pick us up from Kuta, in replacement of airport transfer. However, the driver was late for at least 40min! The villa was quite remote, you will most likely be lost if you are to take taxi there.

Cold towels and welcome drinks were offered when we arrived. Service was far from the advertised 24-hour butler service. Instead of taking care of your requests, they requested you to "self-service" and call the different department yourselves.

However, the Villa was nice. Big spacious villa with lavish-looking furnishing - marble floor, European style furnitures and large painting. The bedroom was cozy with contemporary crystal chandelier. The bed was larger than King size, very comfortable. There are 3 large flat screen TVs, one in the living room, bedroom and bathroom.

The private pool was surrounded by large transparent windows, connected to the dining room, separated only by a sliding door. It was a bit too deep if you just want a dip. It does not have filtering system thus there were some dirt and dust in the water, not perfect but it was still quite ok for a swim.

The roof top open air deck was my favourite! You can relax in the comfort of the huge nice sheltered day bed and enjoy the slight breeze, beautiful dusk and starry night skies. Dinner at the roof top with nice beautiful sunset at the backdrop was enjoyable.

Everything was fine until the sky starts to turn dark. We had difficulty getting the lights on the roof deck. We wasted quite a while waiting for their technician walking in and out of the villa, up and down the roof deck to try to get it fixed. After an hour of hassle, we demanded for a change of villa.

Was not satisfied with the changed villa, the pool was dirty, there is slight foul smell at the bathroom and the layout of the bathroom just seems odd. We just made do with it since we need to rush for the spa and we were just too lazy to shift again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GastronomicalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

To start with I want to let everyone know what is happening here with anyone that has purchased a Spreets/ Groupon /Offer or other deal on line. The company Villas Indonesia who are the organisers of the packages have been apparently taking the money paid by the online companys (Spreets etc) and not paying the companies that customers are expecting to have paid when they get to Bali eg. Mr Ruckys Taxi are not paid to pick anyone up from the airport and Nusa Dua Retreat never have any guests contact details until they book in so can't contact guests to warn them (not sure why Spreets etc haven't been contacting buyers). From what we were told Spreets and Groupon have been paying the hotel again (as they already paid Villas Indonesia) to make sure guests can check in and not have any problems, however..... Other companies such as Offer are not and when you get there you will have to pay the amount again and then chase the online company you booked with yourself (not something anyone wants to worry about when on holiday).
My advise is when you get to Bali airport, go to the cafe to see if the Mr Rucky driver is there, if not go to the ticket counter to buy a ticket for the taxi trip to Nusa Dua retreat for $10 and don't spend time stressing over a driver that may never arrive.
The resort was fantastic. Staff are so friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The check in was long as we hadn't printed off all our coupons and emails confirming our dates and due to the issues with the Villas Indonesia booking.
The villas were spacious, clean and comfortable. I had no issues with the standards of the rooms at all. The beds were very comfortable and I loved the TV over the bath. They probably wouldn't be classed as 5* in Australia, but they are certainly better rooms than I've ever stayed in.
The food was all safe to eat (we had been told to avoid fruits etc in Bali) and delicious. A bit wasteful as even if you only ask for eggs for breakfast they still bring you out a fruit and bread plate!!! Make sure you tell them if you DONT want it.
Massage package was devine!!! Best massage, scrub and milk bath ever!!! Staff were professional and everything was perfect!
I used the gym everyday, it had a treadmill, bike, crosstrainer, free weights and two home gym systems. It also had airconditioning and towels and bottled water for guests.
Staff were very helpful and happy to book taxi's for you. Just be aware that if they book you a taxi, the hotel takes a 20% cut of the daily fare (we paid $20 for half days plus gave the driver an extra $5 tip or $40 for a 8 hour day and $10 tip) They are well worth using as they will drive you whereever you want to go and wait for you. All the drivers we had were fabulous, cars clean and were happy to give suggestions for tourist spots. One driver we used that spoke English quite well and was very trustworthy was Wayan Sugita phone number : [--]. He was very polite and helpful (did worry about whether we would use him for our whole stay a lot, but you have to expect that when most people over there earn less than $10 a day and rely on tourists to earn a living).
For our first trip to Bali the Nusa Dua Retreat was wonderful. It is out of town a bit, but to be honest I prefered that as it was quiet. I would stay there again if I went back as it suited us perfectly!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I was down in Bali for 8 days with Nusa Dua Retreat. Situated Ina quite area a bit off the main road, Nusa dua retreat is THE place to recharge ones self and to relax and also include some activities if you do have the energy.

unlike the busy streets of Kutah or seminyak, this villa is away from many attraction and will take some time in case u need to reach the city considering the small roads.

However, the staff was simply amazing. The hospitality and the undivided attention to detail and there humble nature is why I will for certain revisit them again in the near future. It isn't the facilities nor the prices that I recall. What I recall is the staff that made our holiday a wonderful one.

The only down side was that the rain limited us from certain activities.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tee_god_father
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Like others, I have read the comments of some reviewers who have given this property terrible ratings (some before they even get there), which seems a bit extreme. Given these comments, I was a bit concerned about finalising all of the booking arrangements and admin before I left, and thankfully my experience has been excellent.

I have kept my contact only though the Hotel via the nominated email on their website(Info@NusaDuaRetreat.com) and I have found the staff at Reception and Reservations to be extremely helpful. They have followed up all of the necessary paperwork from Villas Indonesia and gone further by wanting to help us organise any activities that we may want to do when we arrive.

Some responses to emails aren't instant (slowest response was about 20 hours) but most are answered within 2 to 3 hours. Overall, I can't fault their service to date. Their responses are clear, polite and importantly, give me answers to any questions that I may have had.

My tip: if you have any questions, communicate direct with the Hotel - they are happy to help

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
2 mi away
Tanadewa Luxury Villas & Spa
1.7 mi away
Tjendana Villas Nusa Dua
Tjendana Villas Nusa Dua
#44 of 55 in Nusa Dua
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
#20 of 55 in Nusa Dua
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bali Nusa Dua Hotel
Bali Nusa Dua Hotel
#22 of 55 in Nusa Dua
252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Nusa Dua
Park Hotel Nusa Dua
#31 of 55 in Nusa Dua
365 reviews
1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Nusa Dua Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa

Address: Jl. Melasti II no. 88 | Kutuh, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#40 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range: $79 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nusa Dua Retreat Boutique Villa resort and Spa offers one-bedroom pool villas, extra large one-bedroom deluxe pool villas and a three-bedroom deluxe pool villa. Each villa has a living room, kitchen, roomy air-conditioned en suite bathroom and a large private pool. The pool villas also offer a rooftop sundeck ideal for soaking in Bali's tropical sunshine. A restaurant, private beach club, resort center pool and spa round up the retreat's complete range of facilities. Located in the charming hillside country of the Bukit Peninsula above the world class resort destination of Nusa Dua, the Nusa Dua Retreat affords views over the Indian Ocean ad features its own private beach club on the nearby secluded Kutuh Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nusa Dua Retreat Hotel Nusa Dua
Nusa Dua Retreat And Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing