We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant pool and rooms to match”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Nusa Dua
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant pool and rooms to match”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Me and my wife stayed here Oct 2011. We stayed for 4 nights and received a good deal. We were a little suprised with how far out of Nusa Dua it was and some of the roads that lead you there are a little dodge. FYI a lot of taxi drivers don't actually know where the resort is so it pays to take address just in case. When we got there we were welcomed by delightful staff who couldn't do more to make you feel welcome. Our room was like nothing that we have stayed in before. It was very well finished and very spacious. TVs in every room including the bathroom, which was good whilst having a bath in the oversized bath. The pool ran a long the length of the room and was amazing. upstairs we had a sundeck which was good for tanning during the day and relaxing at night.

Staff although they were never in a hurry were polite and got the job done. They seemed to have a focus on cleaning rooms in the afternoon, which was at times a little annoying but no stress. the other highlight of our stay was the spa.... brilliant..... My wife had a total of 4 hours there, me 2. Totally relaxing and professional massage and treatments at a very reasonable price.

Food was small servings but delicious and efficient with the serving of it.

It is a small hotel so it is always quiet, ideal for honeymooners or a couple wanting to get away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Koorda2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    13
    1
    16
See reviews for
6
63
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Deco was really modern and classy. Pest control was intensive - no mosquito at all though it was located in a rural area. Bathtub was huge. Spa was great. Food was not tasty though (except for its dessert of sherbet with jelly and creme brûlée). Location was really out of the way - can't walk to any shop nor beach. Transport services from resort to shopping area and beach were limited and inflexible.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I recently stayed at Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa villas with a friend I haven't caught up with for a while. The villas were magnificent, at least as good as all the photos and the inclusions topped off the holiday. Although the property is a short drive to the main Nusa Dua area, the free shuttle was convenient, and in fact I think the remote location made the holiday more enjoyable.

There were a few hickups with the booking, but the staff managed to sort it out with minimal fuss.

The villas are really set up for couples and honeymooners and are very private. The pool and upstairs sun deck area are to die for. You wouldn't even know anyone else was staying there until you stepped out of the front door. If you are after luxury and privacy, this is the place to stay. If you want to party, stay in Kuta!!! Spa is fantastic and also setup for couples. Restaurant had nice food, but limited menu and minimal alcohol, so ate out a lot of the time.

Bali definately exceeded my expectations in almost every way.

Will be back with my husband.....

Marg (Queensland Tourist)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmills_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My girlfriend and I just spent fours days at the resort. Really can't knock the accommodation it was great value for money as we got a 4 night package through spreets for $570.
The spa treatment was first class and great service but other then that the rest was pretty ordinary especially when it came to room service and service at the restaurant. They really had no idea on how to provide quality service for example:
* would not provide salt and pepper with meals
* served cold tea without milk
* food that should have been hot was served cold
* wouldn't return to the villa to collect breakfast dishes till late in the afternoon
* had to ask daily for our villa to be cleaned
* the villa has cooking facilities but no cooking utensils
* there was an earth quake during our stay which sent shockwaves through the whole resort no one called or came to our villa to check if we were alright
* very hard to communicate with the staff 99% of them had little or no english
* the resort is 15 to 20 min drive to Nusa Dua there is a shuttle service but the timetable is not user friendly
* the menu is very limited we had dinner every night down at Bali connection which meant we had to either take the 4:00pm or the 7:00pm shuttle!
I could go on but I'm sure you have the jif by now, if you are looking for a very private and sucluded holiday just lying by the pool in the middle of nowhere then this it the place for you but I would be going on package deal and not paying their standard price of $350 a night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Paul3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Located on a hill far from the bustling towns, this villa was really about exclusivity.

The service provided is warm, friendly and highly dedicated. They will see to your requests whatever it is, without judgement or condescension. The staff are always wearing a broad smile throughout.

Villa was of course beautiful, with the private pool being a personal favourite. Took a quick dip whenever (and however) I wanted. Every room was spacious, with a big-screen TV located in all of them. Bed was very comfortable, providing excellent sleep everyday.

Location is secluded, so quiet was a privilege enjoyed everyday. A private charter is provided to tour surrounding areas, but travelling time is pretty long, considering that we're located almost nowhere.

Massage in the spa was excellent. Fell asleep and even snored during part of the session. Ended it with a couple shower and soak in a tub.

Overall, great experience.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for anything. Really...don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Snlde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with my trip completely arranged by Villas Indonesia at this hotel. Definitely recommend this for any couples who wish to have a very sweet and romantic time together - virtually everything in the villa is conceptualized with couples in mind! The service level provided by the staff was awesome and definitely made our stay better - they always placed you first and would do everything possible to accommodate to your needs and make your stay a better one. For example, we went for a Spa and ordered room service for after the session. When it ended, the staff offered to arrange for the food to be delivered immediately instead of having to wait till the time that we had originally specified.

The one bedroom villa we stayed in is very spacious, luxurious, quiet and peaceful. It is about 20-25 minutes from the airport and isn't very close to the city (20-25 minutes). Upon checkin, the staff had buggies to ferry guests between the main receiption and the villas. These buggies can be called upon anytime to ferry you between your villa to the reception/spa/restaurant. The staff will also be more than happy to arrange for a trip to Bali Connection (30 minutes drive) and the nearby Beach for free - as well as pick you up at your desired timing.

Breakfast selection was made upon checkin and you have the choice of having it at the restaurant or the villa (at a fee). Breakfast was great and very nice for the two days we stayed there. There were five or six selections available (American, continenal, asian, etc) for breakfast as well as tea and fruit juice.

When we entered the villa, the staff went through every single facility available in the hotel with us. There's a 42" LCD TV and a DVD player in the living room. DVDs can be borrowed from the receiptionist if you want (though we didn't ask for the selection). A honeymoon cake prepared in the fridge (very creamy) and fruits are available FOC.

The kitchen was equipped with all cooking facilities, toasters - so you could do your own cooking there if you wish to. There is also wine cooler for us to use.

The bedroom was fitted with a king-sized bed and another 42" LCD TV/DVD Player. Two wardrobes (with safes) and a make-up desk were provided. There is a bag provided in the wardrobe by the villa for beach usage. The bed and pillows provided are comfortable. On my first day, they had placed flower petals on the bed forming the words "I (heart) You".

Bathroom is really huge and nicely decorated. The shower is extremely oversized (see pictures). Bathtub was sized large enough for a couple to fit in. Common bathroom amenities were all provided too. Amazingly, there's a LCD TV provided in the bathroom!

The roof is equipped with a BBQ grill, bed and two seats - though the latter two were pretty damp so it wasn't exactly comfortable to rest on. The pool is pretty deep. We are about 1.65m tall and needed to tiptoe to keep our heads above the water.

Channel selection on the TV is pretty good. WiFi is provided FOC in the villas too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Yunnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here for the first two nights of our honeymoon. Villa was fantastic, own pool and massive sun terrace. A real touch of luxury complete with afternnon tea served in the villa and a complimentary head and shoulder massage. aArived quite late , just in time to get something to eat. Food was good as was breakfast although so few people staying there was not much atmosphere.All the staff were very friendly. It is in the middle of nowhere but the reception staff were more than willing to arrange taxi for an evening out. Lovely for a few days but isolation might get to you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Della S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nusa Dua hotels
0.1 mi away
Bali Nusa Dua Hotel
Bali Nusa Dua Hotel
#23 of 54 in Nusa Dua
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Whiz Hotel Nusa Dua
Grand Whiz Hotel Nusa Dua
#29 of 54 in Nusa Dua
498 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
The Grand Bali Nusa Dua
#22 of 54 in Nusa Dua
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tjendana Villas Nusa Dua
Tjendana Villas Nusa Dua
#39 of 54 in Nusa Dua
60 reviews
1.9 mi away
VOUK Hotel & Suites
VOUK Hotel & Suites
#38 of 54 in Nusa Dua
286 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tanadewa Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa

Property: Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa
Address: Jl. Melasti II no. 88 | Kutuh, Nusa Dua 80363, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Nusa Dua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Nusa Dua
#37 Luxury Hotel in Nusa Dua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nusa Dua Retreat Boutique Villa resort and Spa offers one-bedroom pool villas, extra large one-bedroom deluxe pool villas and a three-bedroom deluxe pool villa. Each villa has a living room, kitchen, roomy air-conditioned en suite bathroom and a large private pool. The pool villas also offer a rooftop sundeck ideal for soaking in Bali's tropical sunshine. A restaurant, private beach club, resort center pool and spa round up the retreat's complete range of facilities. Located in the charming hillside country of the Bukit Peninsula above the world class resort destination of Nusa Dua, the Nusa Dua Retreat affords views over the Indian Ocean ad features its own private beach club on the nearby secluded Kutuh Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nusa Dua Retreat and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nusa Dua Retreat Hotel Nusa Dua
Nusa Dua Retreat And Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing