We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional wine list, proud Sommelier, stunning food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kayuputi at St. Regis Bali Resort

Kayuputi at St. Regis Bali Resort
Ranked #2 of 196 Restaurants in Nusa Dua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $220
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our 4-time Wine Spectator Award winning specialty fine beachfront dining restaurant offers a brilliant dining experience of premium Asian-influenced Haute cuisine with a selection of Sturia and Premier caviar and oysters varies according to season and stellar wine list in an intimate ambience with magnificent views of the ocean.Every Sunday The St. Regis Bali Resort unveils a new haven for connoisseurs at The Astor Diamond Champagne Brunch at Kayuputi featuring Champagne, cocktails and canape.Our resort's ten-time Wine Spectator award winner German Sommelier, Harald Wiesmann is pleased to consult with guests on wine selections to make that perfect match with the menu.After dinner, enjoy the option of fine cigars from an elegant humidor.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional wine list, proud Sommelier, stunning food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had seen the reviews of Kayuputi so thought we'd try it out as we were staying in Nusa Dua. We booked a table for two and were seated at a pool-side table on the steps in front of the main restaurant, overlooking the beach.

The first thing we noticed was the stunning attention to detail - from the architecture, to the furniture and down to the dinner settings - this isn't something we focus too much on but in this case everything worked so well - and I think ensured the food and wine experience was as designed by the chef. An eg; our dinner was topped off with fine bone china macchiato cup - superb.

I won't talk too much about the food - other than to say that the menu was excellent and the food fresh, stunningly presented and delicious. There were a couple of seafood options that were not available but the staff informed us up front and this didn't effect our choices.

I have to comment on the wine list and the very passionate Sommelier. Kayuputi simply has the best wine list in Indonesia - and the industry has recognised this. We talked to a very proud Sommelier on our options for a spanish Rioja and we were amazed by his succinct, European passion for the wine he had in the cellar. We didn't hesitate following his recommendation - and were not disappointed. Stunning. If anything, just go to Kayuputi to check out the wine list!

Overall, this is one of the best all round experiences we have had anywhere in the world and would recommend Kayuputi at the St Regis Bali to anyone.

p.s. We had a champagne and canapes in the King Cole Bar on the way through the St Regis to the restaurant - a very nice detour indeed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 8thkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStRegisBali, Restaurant Manager at Kayuputi at St. Regis Bali Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear 8thkiwi,

Sunny greetings from The St. Regis Bali Resort!

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful moments with us on TripAdvisor.com.

It is always gratifying to read such a wonderful comment from our guest who has experienced to dine at our resort, particularly at our Kayuputi restaurant. We are glad that our services are beyond your expectation, the location is loveable and cuisine it self is outstanding.

Thank you also for the lavish praised upon our Sommelier as well as to recommend Kayuputi to other reviewer which is so rewarding for us.

We hope with the entire experience, will bring you back to our resort for another dining experience that you will certainly enjoy.

With best regards,
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    81
    47
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overall great experience- one little hitch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the great reviews we decided to book dinner at kayuputi through our concierge at Laguna resort. Dinner was booked for 8pm and free pick up was booked for 6pm so as we could look around st Regis before dinner. Resort is unbelievable especially villas along beach.
We ended up going into the restaurant at about 7.30. We were greeted by a nice young lady who asked for our booking - she went to check. We were then greeted by man who's appearance was a little intimidating (dressed in black) who informed us that we had missed our table outside because he said it was booked for 6pm. A discussion took place in which I indicated that the dinner booking was definitely made for 8pm and confirmed. He offered a table inside which we took although a little disappointed.
He was not going to admit there mistake but he kindly gave us two complimentary champagnes which was greatly appreciated.
The dinner and experience of this top class restaurant is one that should not be missed.
This is definitely a special occasion restaurant which is quite pricey in comparison to other high quality restaurants in Bali.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brambeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStRegisBali, Restaurant Manager at Kayuputi at St. Regis Bali Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Brambeli,

Warm greetings from The St. Regis Bali Resort!

Thank you for your comment posted on TripAdvisor.com.

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Kayuputi restaurant to experience dining moment during your visit to this paradise island and are glad to know that you love our resort as well as the dinner it self.

We took note of the point you mentioned and will certainly share to the team in an effort to improve on our services standard. Please rest assures that we will take your comment as a learning lesson to ensure that our valued guest moment with us is flawless entirely.

Hope to welcome you again in near future for another enjoyable dinning experience.

With all regards,
Restaurant Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Champagne Brunch Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Four of us recently had the champagne brunch at Kayaputi, it was amazing and the best I've ever had. At 11am we checked the children into the St Regis kids club (complimentary), and started on the champagne and cocktails at an outside table overlooking the sea, with the breeze wafting past us. At noon the champagne glasses were topped up and we made our way inside for a gastronomic feast all served at the table, everything from oysters to tuna tartare and roast beef. The desserts and cheese were awesome.
Service was fantastic and Harald looks after the guests.
At $100 per head we certainly got good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annwoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStRegisBali, Restaurant Manager at Kayuputi at St. Regis Bali Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Annwoodward,

Greetings from The St. Regis Bali Resort!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.com.

We are absolutely glad to learn that your good self and family had a wonderful Astor Diamond Sunday Brunch at our Kayuputi restaurant. It is always rewarding to hear that our valued guest enjoyed and loved our cuisines and services. Our team is also proud that their hard work has been recognized.

We hope to welcome you back in near future for another amazing dining experience.

With all regards,
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our initial reaction on arrival right up until we entered the restaurant was nothing less than amazing. Unfortunately, that changed on arrival as we found the male host to be quite cold. The other staff, both kitchen and front of house, went out of their way to impress. Not having been to a brunch at the St Regis before, we found it extremely confusing – we could see others around us also did not understand how the brunch worked.The food began to arrive fast and we hardly had time to swallow what we had begun to eat before more was offered. The host noted our confusion, but even after explaining the procedure, it still didn’t quite make sense. The presentation of the food was excellent, although many dishes were served with a foam, which was nice at first, but then it lost it’s wow factor. Having said that, we very much appreciated the techniques used in the cooking and presentation of the dishes. It is personal, but this style of eating is not for us – we believe ‘LESS IS MORE”. We like to savour each mouth full and really appreciate each dish in it’s own right.The girls were all wonderful, however, the male host did not complement our experience – he was doing his job, but didn’t come across as being that interested. We are in the hospitality trade ourselves, and understand that you can not please all the people all the time, but we hope you consider our comments as some value to your fine establishment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanaLot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStRegisBali, Restaurant Manager at Kayuputi at St. Regis Bali Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear JanaLot,

Warm greetings from The St. Regis Bali Resort!

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback on TripAvisor.com.

We are happy to learn that you have had a dining experience at our Kayuputi restaurant and that you love our cuisine presentation. At the same time, we took note of the points you have mentioned and will certainly share to our team where your valuable feedback highlighted in an effort to improve on our service standard.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our resort for another dining experience that you will certainly enjoy.

With best regards,
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Toal dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Can highly recommend for a total dining experience, excellent food, wine and ambience. We went there for dinner but would be lovely for lunch as it is beachside and very relaxing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStRegisBali, Restaurant Manager at Kayuputi at St. Regis Bali Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Jackie W,

Warm greetings from The St. Regis Bali Resort!

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback through TripAdvisor.com.

We are truly delighted to read such a wonderful feedback from our valued guest whom experienced a memorable dining at our Kayuputi restaurant. Thank you also for the compliment on our cuisine, wines and venue ambience as well as to recommend our Kayuputi to another reviewers.

We hope to welcome you back to our venue in near future for another amazing dining experience.

With best regards,
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayuputi at St. Regis Bali Resort also viewed

Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Kayuputi at St. Regis Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing