We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and dirty”
Review of New Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Arena Hotel
Ranked #241 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Ended up in this hotel as Waringin Homestay was fully booked, and I was unable to check reviews here before booking.
Paid 180 per night for two persons in a AC room. 10% discount included if you book for a few days.
Quite dirty and toilet was broken so water was constantly running into the toilet.
AC seemed to work fine. Wi-Fi worked quite well from outside reception area, no signal in rooms.

Not aware of any thefts in room (yet........) during my stay.
Hotel has very little guests, and I rarely saw any other guests around in the hotel area.

If you are reading this and are looking to book a room, search for "Waringin Homestay" here on Tripadvisor, it is much better value for the money and is just a few meters away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Backpacking_Eskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 192 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

They stole money from my backpack twice! they operate like a mafia, I did a big scandal at reception when it happen but they just treat me very bad . When I was complain about the robbery other costumer also came to complain about the same!The room wasn't very clean at all,
Please never stay here, It will ruin your holidays.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IRENEYAEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This hotel have standard room, not pretty much but not bad too much. I think the location is nice, because near legian and near kuta. You can go to legian only by foot, same with kuta. I like the swimming pool. And if you want to booking the room, i wish you booked the 1st floor and facing to the swimming pool. The room more bigger than the other floor. Cheap , what you pay so what you get guys.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank renny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Don't stay here! Just don't do it. No matter how cheap it might be. Money or electronics will vanish from your room and the staff will not even pretend to care. Breakfast was terrible and room wasn't very clean but those were to be expected for the price - the theft was not.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scorbles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Wow, I sure wish I had checked these reviews before staying here. The place looks great from the outside but it's dirty, nothing works (including the toilet, shower, closet doors, TV and AC - and there are no fans to move around the stale air when the AC fails) and the staff is completely useless. The girl that "cleans" the rooms moves at a snail's pace, and spends more time sitting around watching the pool than working.
We made the mistake of paying for three nights up-front. When we complained about the AC after the first night, the staff showed us two alternate rooms we could move to. The ACs worked in neither. We packed up and requested our money back on the second and third nights and of course weren't given it. The manager pointed to small print at the bottom of the check-in form. Our big mistake paying for multiple nights up-front. After reading the other reviews, we feel luckily we didn't lose more. Stay away!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Scintzi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I thought Hotel Arena offered a lot for a very reasonable price. The rooms are not fancy, but more than adequate (how much time do you spend in your room in Kuta?!). They have hot water, A/C, close walk to beach and Legian, pool, and some have TVs. I stayed in 3 different rooms- the first two were quite nice and the 3rd was so-so. This was our go-to hotel while in the area. Had no issues whatsoever!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smishsmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

i would share about this hotel, to be honest the location is pretty ok, just 3 minutes walk to kuta beach. the whole buildings was fine, good decoration, it has (unused) pool bar, all rooms have terrace but the main big problem was inside the room. here are some reasons:
1. Dirty and smelly bedroom and toilet.
2. old aircon also leaking and sometimes it just become weird, getting cooler and even hotter automatically.
3. wardrobe was too old, no door, smelly
4. tiles so dirty, even found used condoms under the desk (did they ever clean this room ?)
5. bed is not comfey.

more than that the security was so horrible, rude. well its 300k pernight without breakfast, you guys could even get way cheaper but BETTER in that area.. so dont ever try here otherwise your holiday turns to be nightmare.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mathilda20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Bali Kuta Resort
0.7 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
5,852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#38 of 251 in Kuta
2,319 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Arena Hotel

Address: Gang Poppies 1, Kuta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Hotel Class:3 star — New Arena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your New Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Arena
New Arena Kuta
New Arena Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing