We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So hotel”
Review of J Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
J Boutique Hotel
Ranked #160 of 340 Hotels in Kuta
belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So So hotel”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Because we had an early flight out of DPS we stayed here 1 night.
The room was clean but also very noisy. The walls seem to be paperthin, you can almost follow a conversation in the next room.
There is a quite large waiting room next to the elevators on every floor which is used as a smoking room. So when the elevatordoors open you can be greeted by a cloud of cigarette smoke.
Next time we will look for another hotel in the same situation

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelers_have_fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    169
    111
    39
    14
See reviews for
74
164
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dili, East Timor
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The feeling is not of a boutique hotel but more of a big hotel which uses the minimalist concept to save on decoration and maintenance. You can easily get more value for your money in other Bali hotels. The location is not at all in central Kuta (but at least it is close to the Denpasar airport). Our room was located right in front of the hotel bar and when we opened our window, the first sight we got was of a group of drunken teenage tourists waving hello to us from the bar. It was very noisy at night, with loud music coming from different locations inside and out of the hotel. Breakfast was average, with a poor selection of fruits, no cereals and no yogurt. We scheduled a wake-up call for the morning we had to leave and the hotel staff neglected it completely! We later wrote a complaint to the manager and he at least offered us a free night for our next stay in Bali (although we definitely won't be staying there again if ever in Bali....).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in high floors, away from the hotel bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudiliomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBH-Bali, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Claudiliomar,

Thank you for sharing your experience on this online forum. We learnt an important lesson from your input here. Unfortunately we found that your booking was last minute right on the peak seasons period, we have no other alternative room then putting you on the city view Deluxe room facing our Beer Garden bar. The bar is open until 1am where music is stop by then. Understand than you're taking rest earlier, we pologize for the noise you heard in the room.

We have also taken some improvement action on our staff negligence in regards to your request for a wake up call. It was genuinely our mistake without doubt. The phone was not properly put on the hook by the time we tried to call, but our staff back then was not taking other initiative to knock on the door when knowing the phone was off the hook, ensuring that you will get your wake up call.

Many thanks once again for the feedback we certainly hope the incident above will not deter you not to come back and stay with us again, as we do expect that we may show you a different hospitality then the last unexpected service you've experience.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

During our holiday in Bali we stayed at the following places:

* The Hill Villas, Nusa Dua
July 2-5 2011, USD 287 / night
* Natura resort and spa, Ubud
July 5-9 2011, USD 229 / night
* J boutique hotel, Tuban/Kuta
July 9-12 2011, USD 101 / night
* Villa Seminyak estate and spa, Seminyak
July 12-16 2011, USD 195 / night

We are a couple, 36 and 40 years old. We travelled without children.

Compared to Kuta, Tuban is more of a big-luxury-beachfront-resort place. The J boutique hotel is one of the cheaper options away from the beach, and it was below half the price compared to the other places we stayed at in Bali.

The hotel has a modernistic design and is very well-kept and clean, but also a little bit worn. Our "superior room" on the fourth floor was one of those with a window facing a brick wall. It felt like a windowless room, which didn't bother us too much. If you plan to stay inside your room a lot and/or want stunning views, cash up and book one of the beachfront resorts instead. The AC worked fine although it was a bit noisy at first. After some 30 minutes it got better. The free wi-fi worked unusually well!

There were some construction work going on at the spa on the top floor (soon to be finished as it seemed), as well as in the neighbouring buildings, but it was not disturbing to us. Street and pub noise didn't bother us either, but might be problematic on the first and second floors. The hotel is close to the airport but that did not disturb us either.

The hotel's location is at the far end of Jalan Kartika plaza, the main tourist road through Tuban to Kuta. It suited us well to be on the edge of the tourist area. Lots of restaurants, shops etc just out the door but still a little more quiet. 10 mins walk to the beach and 10 more minutes along the beach to reach the useful part of it. Also 10 minutes to the big air-con Discovery shopping mall at the heart of Tuban. A 20 min walk or a US$2 taxi ride to central Kuta.

The staff were all very kind and did their job well. We were maybe not treated five-star-perfect, but at this price level we have no complaints at all. The included breakfast was good with a lot of variety. Try the warm Indonesian dishes instead of your usual bacon and eggs, very tasty. They did not cook your eggs to order however, and the breakfast restaurant was just a little underdimensioned at peak season when the hotel was full. We tried their discount laundry service (US$10 for a full bag) which was quick and everything was returned clean and well-ironed. We also got 15 mins free massage each as a welcome gift, which was good.

There is a rooftop pool with a bar, which we liked. There were not many other people there though, so we could easily get two of the 10-15 sunbeds. Bring sun protection lotion, you'll get a lot of sunshine there and not much shade is available. The pool bar served drinks as well as all dishes from the extensive room-service-menu. Very tasty and reasonably priced!

If you're looking for a midrange hotel in Tuban/Kuta that is easily bookable over the internet, J boutique is a good choice!

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spiff70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBH-Bali, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Spiff70,

We Appreciate your very details sharing of your experience while staying with us. We take you compliment from all your positive input as well as your comments where we need to improve. We certainly happy to learn new perspective from our customers such yours. Our new Japoniva Spa is now running, and many guests appreciate the treatment service we provide. Just a small note for correction here, on breakfast, we do provide a la minute egg order, which is located right nearby our cashier counter, you probably might had missed it. Egg corner provides any hot service a la minute according to what our guests prefer.

We certainly hope your visit in Bali was a fruitful journey and we really want to learn more from you on your next return holiday, do let us we may prepare some new level of experience on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I got this hotel as a package from my Bali ticket purchase from Groupon. It was a really good deal, cheap and with breakfast included. This hotel has a really nice lobby and service staff but the room they gave me was facing just a concrete wall with no scenery at all. The room feels damp/wet and was infested with mosquitoes. Never going back there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ShannNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBH-Bali, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear ShannNg,

Thank you so much for your feedback via this online forum. We appreciate truly your input. Right after we read your comment, we called on a meeting with our pest control management. Cold fogging two days afterwards was prooceed to ensure that similar unfortunate condition may not reoccur again to other guests.

There was none of our intension to put you in a terrible room, we do our best to allocate to the best room we have base on day availability of our room. Some guests do like the room facing on the back side of the building due to prefer quiteness, some guests don't. We didn't notice this preference prior to your arrival, unfortunately.

We are learning to improve day by day, and once again thank you to have submiited this comment so then we as the operating team, We may take action for improvement.

We certainly look forward to welcoming back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Our family stayed at the J Boutique Hotel in Kuta, Bali. This hotel was absolutely fantastic and the service was excellent. Although the food was great, maybe there could be some changes made to the breakfast menu to suit foreigners, since not everyone eats spicy Indonesian food. The swimming pool was extremely clean...the water sparkled. The bartenders at the pool provided excellent service. Highly recommended is the spa treatment and massage therapy. The beautiful girls of Japonica beauty at this hotel offered relaxing massage for body, hands, feet and face. Everything was very well priced. There were no problems at all. EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY AND RELAX.

Room Tip: Remember to bring your own hairdryer as these are not provided in bathrroms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shoe_woman_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBH-Bali, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Shoe_woman_45,

We share your very positive review with all our operating team. It's the ' human software' that make us different. We are happy to hear that you had a fantastic experience while staying with us. Irene, together with her Japonica Spa team were extremely delighted to hear your comments. We also take note on your feedback to more more variety of our breakfast selections.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again with us soon. Do let us know if we may create another memorable journey on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The hotel looks mostly as it does on the website -stylish-ish - only that it's mostly looks - it's an older hotel - or two - or three retrofitted and painted and kitted up to look cool. What we call a monet - nice to lok at from a far, but a bit of a disppointment up close.

Rooms even on the same floor are on different levels. And the walls are excuciatingly, cheap motel thin. We had a room next door that we heard the TV going on all night.

Also, the windows can be opened, either onto airshafts - or the really noisy discovery plaza road. Now, the problem with a retofitted hotel is in the detailing - balinese/indonesian detailing doesn't give you the engineering need to make the room ...air tight. So when the kitchen opens onto ventilation shaft, you get the smell of friend food at all hours - 24 hours when you have 24 hours room service.

But....the room service just about redeems the hotel. There's this one cook on night duty who's apeshit fantastic - he made us a Babi Guling better than what we had at Ibu Oka's the skin of wonder of fried pig fat - delicate, crunchy, fragrant sin all wrapped up in one tasty, tasy bundle. The steaks were also excellent, cooked to ordered doneness in a tasty sauce. But the soup Buntut Kuah - oxtail soup for the rest of you took the cake. And the cake box. And the oven. It was so good that we ordered it every meal and drank it to the last drop.

We'd come back and stay for the room service alone. That's the only reason why it has a 48 rating - the restaurant/room service is better than most chain Indonesian restaurants in Bali.

Location wise, it's a 20,000 IDR cab ride from the Kuta Square area at peak hour, 10K rupiah at other times. There's an entrance to the beach about 100m away, walk another 100 m down and you are on the beach, near Pantai restaurant and Ma-Joly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenandDustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here as a family and also had friends staying at the same hotel.
It was clean, the air-cond worked really well, the staff were friendly.
The pool on top of the hotel is a beautiful place to relax.
The price of the hotel food is not expensive compared to other hotels.
The location is well south of Kuta central, but we preferred this and it is a 5-10 min walk to the other end of Jalan Katika Plaza to the Matahari. Depends on how fast you walk and how many shops you stop to bata with the locals. It is only $5,000 rupiah (55c AUD) to catch a cab up the street.
My room looked onto a brick wall, but that didn't concern me as I wasn't using the room as a place where I wanted a view. If you want a view go up to the pool deck.

Room Tip: I asked for interconnecting room for parents in one room and kids in other, we got this and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerenaPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBH-Bali, General Manager at J Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Serena,

Thank you for sharing a different perspective of how you enjoy our hotel. We learned from your valuable input as our key to understand our other guests preference better. We hope that your holiday journey in Kuta, Bali was fantastic!...

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Solaris Hotel Kuta
Solaris Hotel Kuta
#115 of 340 in Kuta
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bedrock Hotel Bali
Bedrock Hotel Bali
#127 of 340 in Kuta
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tusita Hotel
The Tusita Hotel
#227 of 340 in Kuta
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Radiant Hotel and Spa & Airy
1.0 mi away
favehotel Kuta Square
favehotel Kuta Square
#165 of 340 in Kuta
420 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palloma Hotel Kuta
Palloma Hotel Kuta
#110 of 340 in Kuta
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Boutique Hotel

Property: J Boutique Hotel
Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza No. 20 | Bali, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Kuta
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#104 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — J Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Boutique Hotel is a simple minimalist and a lifestyle 3 star boutique hotel. Experience a modern & retro designed hotel in Black and White ambiance located just 10 minutes walk to Segara beach, Kuta beach and right next to Lippo Mall Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your J Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J Boutique Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing