We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“again beautiful”
Review of Satriya Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Satriya Cottages
Ranked #22 of 252 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2011

stayed again in the deluxe room beautiful. loved the different towel arrangement the cleaners did each day sooo clever. they have been doing up the restaurant. new chairs and things looks really nice. the meals in the restaurant are really nice and great price. the only thing breakfast is a bit boring and predictable but who cares really. they said they were about 90% full but didn't really see a huge crowd. rained most of the time we were there but still was great. would def stay again.

Room Tip: ask for the deluxe. worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanzrobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 749 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2011

Stayed in a superior room for 3 nights with my wife and infant. Staff had already prepared the baby cot for us when we checked in so I was quietly impressed. Room was large but some furniture slightly worn. As what other reviewers had mentioned in earlier post, the bathroom does need some renovation. It looks like the bathroom is quite old but thankfully the shower in my room was good (pressure and temperature) and the housekeeping team kept the room quite clean. Hassle free check in/check out and housekeeping/front staff attended to our request promptly even after 11pm.
Satriya is located about 100m from kuta beach and probably 300m or more from Jln Legian. Seems like every taxi we got on know this place well so no problems if you get lost.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastMeetWest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We arrived on April 2 and check in to a superior room which costs USD60. Check in was no problem at all. The entrance is beautiful and welcoming. The receptionist was friendly and kind. We also got mango juice as a welcome drink. The hotel is beautifully crafted (like all other buildings in Bali) with stone carving, sculptures and landscape. The place was surrounded with greens and flowers and sculptures. Very nice ambience. A hotel employee took us to our our room facing the pool and explained the facilities to us. We have a verandah outside the room. The room is spacious and clean. The bed was a king size. We got complimentary bottled water and the towels were folded in shapes of swan on the bed. So beautiful. There's no coffee/tea making facility in the room tho. The TV is equipped with almost 40 channels!!! Unfortunately, the bathroom isn't that good. The basin leaks, the bath tub gets clogged and water won't go down and the bathroom door is old and rusty, the shower was also leaking. Improve on the bathroom please. The pool is clean with a built in bar. They have a small gazebo with pillows where we hang out on one rainy morning. Breakfast was ok with the usual breakfast food (cereal, salad, sausages, baked beans, potato, eggs, juices, coffee, tea). I absolutely love the baked beans!!! The employees are very friendly and honest as well. One morning at breakfast, I left my camera on the table and the guy who cleared our table called out to us to return our camera. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay with Satriya Cottages.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Arrived very late in the evening, and the front desk was already expecting us. The front desk guy- whose name starts with the letter S (sorry memory gap), is helpful and accommodating. Gave us tips and arranged for a private day tour in the island.

Our room was a double room with an extra bed. I find the towel arrangement cute, (first day was a swan, the second day was a dog), but when we checked the bathroom, it smelled a little off, the bath tub has rusts, tiles had molds and the shower head is loose. There is only one electric outlet, definitely not enough as the three of us would want to charge our cellphones, ipad and cameras. So we had to request for an extension outlet. Wifi connection is good only in the morning,. We can't access internet between 5pm onwards. My friend also got bitten by mosquitoes on our first night.

The good thing about Satriya - there's the authentic Balinese feel. Their exterior and swimming pool area make you feel you're really in Bali. Breakfast is good, really good, well, as an Asian, we expect heavy breakfast. And there's variety every day.

Service is ok. The staff are all friendly in service oriented.

Despite the bathroom issue and the mosquito bites, I would say I am sastisfied with my stay there. Well, for the price of $65.00 a night, I would say it is indeed a bargain.

I just hope they'd do something about the bathrooms and the mosquitos. =)

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
Thank prechiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I stayed here with my wife for 4 days in Feb 2011. This was our first trip to Bali so we didn't know what to expect, but this place was a pleasant surprise. The room we had (267) was large, bed was comfortable, decent selection of TV stations, with a nice view of the pool area. The only negative which wasn't a big deal was the shower area. Definitely needs to be redone. Also when the neighboring rooms would use their water, we'd hear a loud sounds from the pipes, like a animal screaming.

The grounds of this place are amazing. The Balinese sculptures, plants, flowers, trees, are really breathtaking. They keep them very clean as well. The pool area was also nice. Large size, ample chairs, and a swim up bar.

The restaurant on-site was also very affordable and the food was good. Beers were cheap and they had nightly entertainment as well. The free breakfast was also decent. We found the staff at the hotel and restaurant to all be very friendly and accommodating. They offer day tours on site for a fair price and provided a driver who was an excellent tour guide, who spoke English well. A tip if you do a tour and visit the Luwak coffee establishments. Certainly try the coffee but don't buy it there. They sell it cheaper at the grocery store down on the main strip. I found this out the hard way.There aren't safes in the rooms, but they provide safety deposit boxes free of charge, with a standard 2 key system to open. In addition they offer on-site massages for a good price. I've had back problems for years, and since I've had my massage, it doesn't hurt anymore.

For the price of US$60 this place is quite a deal, especially with the breakfast. I can't see how staying at the Hardrock for double the price would even make sense. If I make it back to Bali, I would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baltscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Compared to my last trip to Bali, this cottage is very convenient to all the shops in Kuta. It is so near to the beach where if I need a break, I can easily access it. The location is pretty safe as it is in the heart of the shopping area in Kuta, there are many people walking pass the front gate.The building preserved its Balinese artwork and culture which I like very much. The room is located away from the hustle of Kuta and it is always so clean. Toiletries are also replaced on time. The staff are friendly and the breakfast has sufficient variety to suit everyone. What I like is the quietness at the higher storey which helps for good resting. My all time favourite is the swimming pool where there is a bar and one can enjoy a drink or two with friends while swimming.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrystarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

2nd time staying here and really had a great time, staff were very friendly and the room was always cleaned when we got back from breakfast. Only downfall was breakfast not huge options and rarely have bacon but didnt affect us to much. Beer is cheaper here than some 7-11s. have paid up to 130 per room in more "upmarket hotels" but for 60 odd bucks a night thought this was excellent value and the resturaunt was cheap and great food

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#9 of 252 in Kuta
739 reviews
1.0 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bene Hotel
The Bene Hotel
#26 of 252 in Kuta
702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#16 of 252 in Kuta
683 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adhi Jaya Hotel
Adhi Jaya Hotel
#23 of 252 in Kuta
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satriya Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satriya Cottages

Address: Poppies Lane II | Kuta Beach, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#23 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $45 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Satriya Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Satriya Cottages The hidden paradise with Balinese architecture in centrally located right in the heart of Bali's thriving hub of Kuta, Satriya Cottages the ideal home away from home for your Bali holiday. This hotel is located within few minute walk to Kuta beach, Beachwalk Shopping Mall, Poppies Lane, Hard Rock Cafe Satriya was created by the influence of famous Bali culture and traditional style which built and designed with the spirit of typical Balinese style. Stone carvings, temple, wood carving confirms Satriya have real authentic Balinese style. The warm hospitality of the original Balinese people will be implied in the hospitality staff at Satriya. Satriya are inviting guests to have an experience to enjoy the holiday and feel the real atmosphere the island of Bali which is only in Satriya. Spacious rooms combined with Balinese architecture and wrapped by the tranquility and the green of the gardens, and the silence adding the perfection of your vacation. Satriya provides two swimming pools, equipped with a pool bar. 90 Degrees Restaurant will make dinner even more special with a variety of interesting menu at affordable prices to the accompaniment of live band music every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Satriya Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satriya Cottages Hotel Kuta
Satriya Hotel Kuta
Satriya Cottages Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing