We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mid range value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kumala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kumala Hotel
Ranked #127 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mid range value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Well located in Legian. Lots of eating options nearby. Rooms clean but a little old. Noisy room fans. Beds are hard as per previous reviews. However we found them fine to sleep on. They were in the process of adding a layer of foam to every mattress while we were there. Good buffet breakfast. Even though they specify continental breakfast you can get eggs and bacon cooked if you ask. Friendly staff, and room serviced daily. There is complimentary water provided daily. Small bottles but enough to get you started. Pools both great for adults and children. Lovely leafy grounds. If you want 5 star comfort don't stay here. However if you are happy with a mid range hotel at a reasonable price this is great! We had adjoining rooms for 2 adults and 2 children with a doorway between.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DBH000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    74
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
52
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is situated just off Double 6 in Legian, a short stroll to the beach. It is however in need of some TLC. The beds are hard and old as are the sheets, far from the white they used to be. The bathrooms leak from above and some of the aircons are old, noisy and also leaky. This is in the deluxe rooms. However the complimentary breakfast is generous and filling. The staff are friendly and helpful. If you can sleep anywhere you will love it. If you need a little comfort then you might be better to look elsewhere. This hotel used to be value for money but it seems none has been spent to maintain it enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamara48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the end of our 3 week trip.
Rooms, linens and bathrooms clean and adequate for price. Rooms have a safe and fridge. There are 2 pools at this older style Balinese hotel. Gardens are lush and well maintained. Continental breakfast included.
Would stay again. .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had changed our plans short notice and decided to stay up the other end of Legian as we were on Garlic Lane last time and wanted to be in a less hussle n bussle area..

We arrived at the hotel about 6pm and was shown straight to our room..As we walked through the grounds we were both saying to each other "This is just what we were looking for" For us we prefer smaller hotel that are Balinese in feel..We are not into the modern shiny hotels with loads of rooms...

Our room was roomy, clean and comfortable..The bathroom was nice with a nice big bath in it..we had ground floor so once unpacked we sat on our verandah and looked around at the nice gardens..This to us felt homey...the restaurant was to the right of our room (B1) and the pool was infront of the restaurant...

Brekky was sufficient for us there wasn't a lot to choose from.. They had the usual toast and eggs and some noodles dishes..We were happy with toast and Jam for brekky or eggs n toast anyway you like them..We did buy some cereal for a change and had that a couple of times...The coffee was actually nice for bali coffee..

The meals are cheap and quite sufficient..We ate a couple of times at the hotel when we were not feeling up to a walk especially after the hot stone massage from across the road..We were so relaxed we ate in..We don't normally eat at hotels we are staying in as you are spoiled for choice on the streets but we found the food quite good..

Like some hotels we have stayed in which has always been more budjet so cant compare with the dearer hotels but the towels did have that grey tinge to them..It doesn't bother us but just noting it in review...The bed was quite hard but we didn't have a problem sleeping in it..

The staff were friendly and helpful..we have been to Bali six times now and out of all the hotels we thought this hotel had a great feel about it..The location is great walking to the beach front restaurants are only a few minutes away..There are a couple of cheap good warungs to eat at close by..The location in all is fantastic...

We will booking again for next year as this is a place we will be returning to..
Thanks Kumala hotel for making our stay a pleasant one...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DepartPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Booked the presidential suite a year ago on a recomendation from a friend,Once we arrived we were taken to our room, it was up 3 flights of stairs it was huge 2 bedrooms plus a single bed lounge, dining room and what they called a kitchen don't plan on cooking as there are no cooking facilities.Rooms a bit outdated but didn't expect too much for the price,Gardens are beautiful pools are great especially the back pool.Staff were great
Breakfast was nothing fancy but was ok though my kids didn't like it not enough variety for them.
We had to leave after our second night due to beds being as hard as rocks and none of us could sleep. Apart from this it would have been okay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAURY003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Back to kumula 4th time. Prices have risen with the petrol hike. Deluxe rooms in c block upstairs have lovely balconies to sit and relax with tree to lock at. Staff helpful gardens great and pools fine. Rooms clean and sheets clean but faded and grey and a tad sad. Quilt just get rid of it!!!! Checked out others but you either get box hotel with white sheets but no atmosphere at 400000 rules or be prepared to pay 750000 for kumula completion hotels such as kusnadi . So we decided again good location relaxing gardens nice staff but PLEASE upgrade your sheets

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gus1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in Bali on some 40 trips I was so disappointed when I was taken to my room. The block in the 100,s is like staying in a dark dungeon, I didn't book a standard room, so was disappointed to be told this was a superior room. Opening the curtains to the window of a brick wall, I can't help feeling I was wronged on delivery of my room. I ended up upgrading to a nicer room costing me $20 more a night to get a much lighter room with a lovely balcony be it the bathrooms are very old. Breakfast was average the gardens however lovely. The reception, restaurant, cleaning and gardening staff lovely. The security staff rude and unfriendly. I fell victim to a bag snatching on double 6 street losing my room key and wanted to sleep in another room until the lock was changed to be told not possible. Spent the night barricaded in my room in fear the robbers would attempt entry, the lock was changed the next day. To walk to the beach there is a lane way access to which walking with friends in the middle of the day we had a local exposé himself to us. As a solo traveller I no longer feel safe in Bali at this location. The back road this hotel is located on has a bag snatching every couple of day at night, be warned.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#34 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sari Bunga Hotel
Sari Bunga Hotel
#69 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ananta Legian Hotel
Ananta Legian Hotel
#31 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Su's Beach Cottages 1
Su's Beach Cottages 1
#23 of 78 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
5.6 mi away
Apel Villa
Apel Villa
#49 of 137 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumala Hotel

Property: Kumala Hotel
Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kumala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kumala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumala Hotel Kuta
Kumala Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing