We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #94 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed October 6, 2009

CONTRA: pictures of website don't correspond with reality (!); rooms (garden view) are old and definitely haven't been renovated in the last 10 years; bathroom was disgusting with moisture spots on walls and ceiling; mouldy/dusty smell in room; dark rooms; light was broken and kept turning itself on and off all through the night; definitely too expensive (45 USD per room/night) for what you get

PRO: nice pool area and good breakfast buffet; relatively quiet location

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reiseduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 380 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2009

Stayed there for 3 nights. Airport transfer & check in by hotel was very prompt. Love the location of the hotel. Walking distance to all night clubs & restaurants. Nice hotel pool bar. Had my lunch and cocktail there. Pricing wise, it's very acceptable.

Hotel staffs are friendly. My room was cleaned everyday and there's no mosquitoes in sight at all.

Overall i would love to come back here for my future trips to Bali.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBuyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Stayed 10 nights at this hotel . We had 3 rooms with 4 kids aged 11 - 15 with us . Great budget hotel . If you want 3 star + this is not for you . Cheap meals and grog . Pool bar was atrap . Location was great . Staying there next year again .

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perthbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

My wife and I stayed in room D56 (3rd floor deluxe pool view) for 2 nights ( 30 -31 Aug 2009). We had an nightmare. On the first night, my wife had rashes and reddish bump all over her body. We mistaken they were due to mosquito bites. On the second nights, we woke up 4:00am for our departure and to our horror, we found crawling bugs under the bed sheets and blanket. My wife is now having allergic reaction to bed bug bites. We are afraid that we could bring back home the infection. We are going to disinfection our luggage and cloths.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tashione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

This hotel is desperately in need of refurbishment. In the hotel website, it stated that the hotel was recently refurbished and that's the reason that I booked but the room we stayed tell likewise. Although the room is big but most of the facilities are not functioning. Water/bath tap not functionally, either you get hot or cold water. Door cannot be locked properly. Fridge and kettle are dirty. At night you will be awaked by the loud noise of thewater pump generated by the fushing from your neighbours. Breakfast was dull. Not recommended to stay in this hotel with the price that we are paying.

The only thing I find it nice is the hotel garden and the pool. It is a waste that they do not maintain the room.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yawn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dewi_Puji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kymberley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
The Niche Bali
The Niche Bali
#105 of 251 in Kuta
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dewi Sri Hotel
Dewi Sri Hotel
#56 of 251 in Kuta
578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asana Agung Putra Bali
Asana Agung Putra Bali
#35 of 251 in Kuta
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Rose Kuta Resort, Villas & Spa
1 mi away
Palloma Hotel Kuta
Palloma Hotel Kuta
#77 of 251 in Kuta
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Legian Paradiso Hotel
Legian Paradiso Hotel
#108 of 251 in Kuta
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant

Address: Jl. Legian 118, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $22 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlike many budget category hotels , Matahari Bungalow has a large open garden and swimming pool. Cozy hotel at strategic place gives more value for budget hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Bungalow Bar And Restaurant
Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant Hotel Kuta
Matahari Hotel Bar
Matahari Bungalow Bar & Restaurant Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing