We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Basic, fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Barong Resort
Ranked #56 of 254 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel over new years with my boyfriend and 15 others. I had read lots of reviews saying how terrible this hotel was so we prepared for the worst. I had heard there had been a change in management and this was what we were hoping for. We were pleasantly surprised on arrival. Staff all spoke good english and were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were basic, clean bedding, clean towels daily and room service with no extortionate price tag. The pools were good, the back pool was always quiet at night with the front pool being reserved for the more rowdy crowd. As for the hotel being loud at night? silent as a whisper most of the time. One night we were even kicked out the pool for being too loud- so this 24hr party hotel that people compain about is no longer an issue. Food at the restaurant was great-fresh and cheap. New years the hotel went to a great effort setting up the hotel and dinner-shame not many turned up. All in all, we had a good time, with no dramas. It's made for young people who want a good time, at the end of the day you get what you pay for, and that is what this budget hotel is all about.

Room Tip: Request a room with a safe and located at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leanne2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
There are newer reviews for Grand Barong Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 696 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times with family and friends. We love the location!!!
We stayed again march 2012 and won't stay again. The rooms are very run down, mould in bathroom. We didn't complain as we only sleep in there. We never ate breakfast there as it was always a disappointment. Just outside the gates is a cafe across the road which does excellent breakfast and coffee cheap. You definatley can find better places in the area for half the price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katherinepan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was my fourth trip to bali and I've always found great accommodation. Well I really stuffed up this time by booking the Barong. For starters they weren't at the airport to pick us up which we paid for. When we finally arrived and got to our room which was meant to be a double deluxe instead it was a triple room. As my husband complained they put us out the back of the hotel in a room that stunk of mould. We ended up back in the first room which they just moved the beds together. The breakfast was revolting, we ended up eating elswhere. Every morning we were woken by the idiots and thugs that stayed at the hotel at 1am, drinking and screaming in the pool at the bar which never shuts down, this would go on until 6am. We couldn't get any sleep. After five days we requested a room at the back of the hotel in hope to get some sleep. i asked for 1st floor but as usual it was ground floor and stunk of mould. Just about everyday we would have to ask for towels, soap and toilet paper to be sent to the room because they just always forgot to do this at time of cleaning. Overall this hotel is run down, dirty, smelly, poor poor service, and in my opinion doesn't even deserve a half star rating.

Room Tip: Book the Kuta Townhouses instead, much nicer and classier
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perth_AustraliaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Really like this hotel as i love being in the centre of Kuta. Its one of the busiest lanes in Kuta with shop stalls, pubs, places to hire bikes ect. On one end of the street are the main clubs and the other is the beach. I must admit the 5 minute walk to the end of the street to get to the beach can be a really hot one in the thick of summer but it is only 5 minutes.The hotel itself has a large reception area and then leads straight to a pool with a stage for the DJ. There are rooms that surround this then there is another area behind it with another pool, more rooms and the lovely resturant where you get an included buffet breaky. There is security at the entrance with a boom gate to stop anyone from just driving in.
The best bit is the lovely bali music that is playing whilst you eat your breaky, sit by the pool or have a drink at the pool bar. The pools are small but just right when you want to escape the hustle and bustle from outside the hotel.
The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Air conditioning is great also. The bathrooms arent that clean which i know other people have commented on. I have also seen people comment that the staff have a bit of a habit of charging you for minibar when you didnt use it. Its true and did happen to me but as i was prepared i just calmy stood firm and they didnt charge me so dont let this put you off. If you want a calming family experience probably dont come here, if your a couple or a group of people who love a bit of busy and excitement then id highly reccomend. Its really reasonable priced and have stayed here on my own and with a partner. Bagus Bagus Pub and Piggys Bar towards the nightclub end of this street are highly reccomended also.

Room Tip: Try to book a room or request when you get there that it isnt behind the DJ Stage. I got booked into...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superkyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is not where you come for a family getaway. It's noisy & right in the heart of Bali's party district which was perfect for our stay. 4 of us shared a family room, the air con was overworked & just bearable. Mozzies were everywhere in the room so recommend taking mozzie zapper or fly spray. No complimentary water so buy it from supermarket over the road. Bathroom presentation very average & towels not replaced daily. Room was cleaned daily so no complaints there. This place was perfect for our girls week according to our budget at the time. Once we addressed these issues our stay was pleasant, staff friendly, pool clean & inviting. Daily breakfast very basic but edible. Would defiantly stay again if a budget or party holiday.

Room Tip: Recommend a room near the pool on ground floor
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here Novemeber 2012, the place has two pools with one 24 hr bar. The hotel is filled with large groups, footy trips etc. never a dull moment if your looking for a good time. The rooms are poor, sheets not washed, bathroom unclean. Not one tv channel that plays anything in English bar the Movie channel they have connected which seems to play just the one movie a day. Location is good, about a 2 minute walk to the Bounty/SkyGarden.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzycricketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Don't go at footy trip time otherwise no sleep you shall have. Once they left it was the most beautiful place the staff are just amazing sweet and do anything for you. The rooms are average but we where never in them. I got Bali belly and the staff made the chef make me chicken noodle soup every morning for breakfast because I couldn't have the normal food. Best location ever, breakfast buffet is the bomb the best display of food ever. Close to everything. BJ's across the road for lunch was excellent too. I will stay there again for sure its great. 2 swimming pools both with swim up cars one is 24 hours and they bring animals every couple of days massive pythons exotic birds and more. Its a great experience.

Room Tip: Great for the young ones good times good music and other entertainment.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melkaras1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#22 of 254 in Kuta
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bene Hotel
The Bene Hotel
#23 of 254 in Kuta
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#26 of 254 in Kuta
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
0.2 mi away
Asana Agung Putra Bali
Asana Agung Putra Bali
#44 of 254 in Kuta
790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#9 of 254 in Kuta
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Barong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Barong Resort

Address: Poppies Lane II, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $34 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Barong Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location....nothing beats the reigning Grand Barong Resort famous address, situated within Poppies Lane II and I, Kuta where everything is just a walk away from the renowned Kuta Beach, Beack Walk Mall, Shopping arcades, Eateries, Cafes and Entertainments are found within the distance. Our ‘Royal Jack’ Sportbar is at site to offer you Sport Lovers, full on sport tv satellites with pre-determined schedules to make sure you won’t miss your favourite sports. Grand Barong Resort is probably the only hotel with a resort concept of lush tropical garden, serene ambience and options of superior, deluxe, suites, executive suite, family and lagoon pool access rooms with full bathroom amenities, facilities and service to make your stay just perfect!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Barong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barong Hotel Kuta
Grand Barong Resort Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing