We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place close to town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bali Sorgawi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bali Sorgawi Hotel
Ranked #166 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place close to town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

This hotel was booked for me by my Mum who was worried about my safety staying alone until friends arrived. They picked me up from the airport and also had a reasonably priced transfer service back to the airport when you leave. My room was spacious,clean and had a private bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was also yummy with both western or Asian options to choose from (all included). They staff were friendly and the hotels location was both close to the beach and the main road (for shopping). All up this place was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nardia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    36
    32
    9
    9
See reviews for
12
29
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

After finding this place on the internet and exchanging emails to confirm bookkings, I was shocked when Roman actually rang me in Australia as he had trouble emailing me. i knew then that I had made the right decision.
On arrival in Bali at midnight our 2 drivers from the hotel were there to collect us. Even though they spoke no English both were eager to please. Once we got to the hotel we were greeted by the reception staff and the obligatory welcome drink of juices. A simple aside from me saying I could really go a beer saw one of the boys helping with the luggage reach into the fridge and pass me an ice cold beer. To this day I don't know if he worked there or what as I was never billed for the three beers that night and the manager was surprised when I gave him money for them a couple of days later.
The hotel was basic as I knew it would be but made up for it in cleanliness and freindliness. All the staff were always there with a smile and notning was to much trouble. Part of our group stayed at the much more upmarket hotel directly across the road (No names) and the stories of things going wrong and not being fixed were horrific. Plus I was paying1/2 price for my Bintangs compared to them.
I would reccomend this place to anyone wanting a good clean hotel without the frills but with plenty of smiles.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rixingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

As we are only staying for a night, so we just settle at Sorgawi after reading all the reviews from past travellers here. Hotel cleanliness was average, basically there is only a bed, dressing table, cupboard and a small TV in the room. Spotted a medium size lizard on the ceiling in our room. Luckily we are not afraid of lizards. Breakfast was very simple but it doesn't taste very terrible also. Overall, for the price that we paid it was still worth to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayaddict201150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

we stayed here for 2 days in early june, really good spot. right in the middle of kuta, easy walk to the beach and all the main shopping streets. they arranged an airport pick-up, the room was really clean and with air-con and fridge included and there was a balcony you could escape to also. breakfast was standard eggs and toast, service was very friendly though, would definatly recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emeraldisle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed at the Bali Surgawi (Note - tell your taxi driver that its called Surgawi and not Sorgawi as he took us all the way to Tuban and charged us 100,000 Rupiah before dropping us off at Poppies Lane!) for 2 weeks in late March and i really cant rate the hotel and its staff highly enough.

Located at the end of Legian Street and offset from the street there is no noise whatsoever, with only a 10 / 15 minute snail pace stroll past numerous good bars and restaurants to the main clubs of Kuta (Bounty, Paddies, Discoteque and Sky Gardens), or a 5 minute air con taxi for 10,000 rupiah! (under £1).

The pool area itself is immaculate, the pool always has clean fresh water but there was only 3 sunbeds...which was ok as the hotel was so quiet when we were there and we pretty much had the pool and pool area to ourselfs the entire time we were there.

The rooms were very good value for money...cleaned daily by friendly staff, good air con, enough storage, large kingsize bed and at all times felt so safe and secure that i even transfered all my important belongings from the reception security deposit boxes to my room.

The staff were absolutely superb, what sums them up is the friendly banter about english football, serving us cold beer by the poolside to even refunding us our money when we paid for an hour of internet access and only used 15 minutes.

If i was going back to Kuta i would absolutely stay here again, superb value for money, location is excellent, staff fantastic, rooms thoroughly cleaned everyday, pool was so refreshing....overall superb value for money - if i paid double of what i did then i still would be extremely impressed!!!

Room Tip: Taxi note - its called Surgawi and not Sorgawi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

Location was great for our 2 night stopover - close to Legian Street shops and places to eat.
We had 3 people (an extra bed) in the room which was very squishy so I would not recommend that if you are staying for any longer than us.
Breakfast was simple (a choice off the menu of eggs and toast, noodles etc plus juice/coffee/tea) but definitely adequate for a budget hotel.
Airconditioning in the rooms was very good.
Pool was nice though not many chairs to sit on around the pool.
Bathroom was clean although it is VERY basic - just a toilet with space for a shower in front of the toilet.
We booked though hotelclub and had no problem.
All in all a fantastic place to stay if you are on a budget and want value for money as well as a good location close to shops/food.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexita14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We rented 6 rooms, 2 rooms with extra bed. Bathroom in the room I live smells bad, when I give information to the receptionist's response was beyond expectations, they only bring insect spray, saying that the possibility of odor coming from the septic tank is full. Rooms occupied by my cousin had flooded, possibly from the fridge, but once again they gave negative response. Because we take a tour package that has been paid advance we were forced to succumb to stay there.

Restaurant staff was disappointing, they served us with no friendly, but the funny thing is they treat foreigners with very friendly and full of smiles.

3 days we spent at the hotel without a collar hospitality of the staff of the restaurant and forced to watch how they have great respect for foreign tourists and domestic tourists are treated the exact opposite.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BlackPearl9663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.1 mi away
Grand La Walon Hotel
Grand La Walon Hotel
#42 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grandmas Plus Hotel Legian
0.1 mi away
Rosani Hotel
Rosani Hotel
#63 of 84 in Legian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jocs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Amaris Hotel Lebak Bene - Kuta
0.6 mi away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#111 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Sorgawi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Sorgawi Hotel

Property: Bali Sorgawi Hotel
Address: Jalan Legian Kelod | Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bali Sorgawi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Bali Sorgawi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bali Sorgawi
Bali Sorgawi Hotel Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing