We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Bali Kuta Resort(Kuta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satriya Cottages(Kuta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,206)
Filter reviews
1,206 results
Traveler rating
291
528
237
78
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
528
237
78
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstequila barkuta beachgarden suitepool barbeachwalk mallopposite the beachpoppies lanelocation is greatwater pressureground floorshopping centregreat poolbaliramasurferssurfingnightlife
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 1,206 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Right across the street from the famous Kuta beach, located right in the middle of the hotel district in Kuta. The hotel is very good, we loved the pool and swim up bar. Breakfast buffet was quite reasonably priced at less than $8 US that offers good selection of Indo/Asian and western food.
There are multiple buildings on the hotel ground, i would recommend building 6 or other buildings in the back side of the hotel. As the hotel bar tends to have bands that plays live music later into the night, and my family who stayed in building 1/2 were having issue with noise.
Rooms are clean yet you can see that facilities are aging, but our room is adequate.
Other Tips: Don't take the hotel transfer to airport, they ask for about $7.5 US per person, and you can call a taxi and pay for around $5 for the trip. Their staff is courteous and will call the taxi for you. Another tip: use bluebird group taxi, they run the meters and don't tend to cheat you on fare.

The welcome massage is only for 20 mins, and don't get the massage here if you have to pay for it. If you are willing to walk a block or two, getting a massage somewhere else save you more than half the price.

Room Tip: Building 6 or other buildings in the back side of the hotel ground has less noise and more light better view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2015

Dear Ms. Cynthia C,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for your time to share your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to acknowledge that you like our good hotel, our clean room as well as our courteous staffs. We are gladly contented to acknowledge that we exceed your expectation during your stay with us, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests.

We are happy to know that you love our perfect location, where is located precisely in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali – Beachwalk. We are more than happy to know that you also enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We are not only glad to know how much you admire our perfect location, but also how nice of you to praise the selections of our scrumptious breakfast that you have at our Samudera Restaurant. Our restaurant has various selections of buffet breakfast such as: Indonesia dishes, eggs station, pancake station, noodle station, porridge station, dim sum, breads, desserts, and fresh fruits with stunning view of Kuta Beach.

We appreciate your feedback about our value for money room rate. However, the reason we could proudly give you the competitive price, because of your booking was made directly online through our reservation.

We appreciate your feedback on the condition of our room. However, as the part of our commitments to deliver the excellent service to our guest, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has been progressively carrying on room refurbishment and all of the old televisions were entirely replaced with new LED “Sharp” televisions 32 inches.

We are looking forward to see you again at Grand Istana Rama Hotel.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was there for business trip, got this hotel booked by my client.
The room is clean, it just have this "old building smell" inside the room. but i dont mind it
it could use some extra light, since it's pretty dark when i have to walk to second floor at night (about 100 meters from lobby to stairs)
The location is nice, as it's just right across the Kuta beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonsaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

A perfect location; near the beach, the mall and the night life of Kuta. The staff is very friendly and helpful and go definitely the extra mile for their guests. Nevertheless, the cleanliness of the rooms is not on a 4-star level. Some dirty bed covers and dirty spots on the mirror. Furthermore, the bathroom is also not that clean. It's a bit old-fashioned. I had a good stay, but will describe this as a 3-star hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G2211EZMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Everything was okey , but something I want to point: hotel is old and the rooms specially bathroom need renovation. Breakfast is okey , just a but slow service, room service ( f&b) was not that nice, our dishes outside were there 24 hours, but I called to take it out. Towels and sheets are old as well. Need to be more stricked with outside guests as some of them you could see at the swimming pool. But location is nice and housekeeping doing their job well.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bimochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

clean hotel, rooms. nice and friendly staff.lovely tropical garden. needed to pay deposit at check in. i got 100% money back during check out. love the pool. the beach not so fantastic. need to cross the road to get to the beach. there is taxi rank in front of hotel. but they tend to hike the price. so, we rented a motorbike for RP 50 000/24 hours to get around. overall we had a good stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBUJANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2015

Dear Mr. NBUJANG,

Thank you for kindly sharing your generous reviews of your wonderful stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali on Tripadvisor. It is lovely to acknowledge that you describe on details regarding our hotel, wherein, you love your stay with our clean room, our beautifully tropical garden as well as our nice and friendly staffs.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy to have our precious location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk. It’s an honor that you have a great time at our swimming pool which is equipped by swim up bar, where you can take pleasure of the most wanted beer in Bali – Bintang Beer.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews