We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Ranked #61 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights in March last year. We stayed in a Garden Suite. Our rooms were nice and clean, very spacious with good air-con, Unfortunately my dad stayed in the one next to ours and then air con was broken and the bathroom was flooded.Breakfast wasn't that great i have had better in Bali. Pool and swim up bar were nice, staff were very friendly.It is very close to the main strip of kuta but is very quiet. Well manicured gardens/grounds.Tequila Bar was a cool hangout which we started off at every night.The bathroom smelt like sewage usually everyday but its Bali most places are going to smell like that.First sleep was quite interesting woke up feeling as if something was in the room.....turned light on and there were two little geckos above me on the roof :-) Pretty cute as long as you like lizards. Also the guy who takers your photos down the beach awesome guy! Very professional, photos looked great and only cost $100 for the whole thing.

I like trying new hotels when i go to bali but i would stay here again.

Room Tip: garden suite highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyFabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    466
    203
    66
    63
See reviews for
221
353
91
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 13 nights... The staff were fantastic and very friendly ... The pool bar was put to great use although they do need to change there music up a little bit..the service was great, they even remained open after hrs so we could watch the rest of the footy... Photographers also around the pool if u wanted any photos taken... The rooms are a little dated and need a new coat of paint and a few little things fixed here and there (like a flat screen tv) but air con worked and it had a safety deposit box... Which ticked our boxes....close to the beach and to beachwalk mall...I would definately like to stay here again... :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, April 1, 2015
Dear Ms. Melly M,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely grateful that you love your stay with us during your holiday in Bali. We are appreciatively thankful for your admirable praise for fantastic and friendly staff as well as our great service. It is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home.

We are happy to know that you love our excellent location, where is located right in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali – Beachwalk. It is also easy for you to get to the other interesting places for shopping or sightseeing. We are more than happy to know that you also enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We appreciate your feedback on the condition of our room. However, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has been progressively carrying on room refurbishment and all of the old televisions were entirely replaced with new LED “Sharp” televisions 32 inches, in order to increase the very high level of guest satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our newly upgraded rooms.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from spending 9 nights at this hotel. It is on the main road and across from the beach (right next to the new beach walk shopping centre). This is the first time we have stayed in Kuta as we have always opted for the quieter area of Seminyak. The hotel is in a great spot if you want to be amongst it all and at this time of year, the hotel and Kuta were not that busy. It is however located on the main oneway street which is a little annoying when getting a cab as they literally need to go around the block(s) to get back to the hotel. The hotel in its day would have been a prize; and if you are looking for that central 3 star hotel then this property may just suit you. We had a ground floor superior room which was ok, but if our room was anything to go by, a refurb would do it wonders. The room itself was spacious enough as was the bathroom; it is just a little dated and if you have noisy neighbours then you will hear them; a lick of paint and some new simple decor would be nice. The property itself has fabulous gardens as you venture to the back of the hotel where the accommodation is located and they are lit up beautifully in the evening. The pool is large and has a swim up bar but some large shrubs/trees in pots could offer some additional shade as well as soften the look of the pool area as a whole. The pool bar officially opens at 11am; but service poolside is virtually non existent! If you have guests that are already poolside and enjoying lounging around; you would think that staff would be going around asking if anyone would like a drink or something to eat ..... the amount of missed revenue!!!!! This was a general comment from other guests that we spoke to as well. The music selection from the pool bar needs desperate attention - we listened to the same 2 cd's for 9 days...... The food at the hotel was really good and breakfast selection was great. For lunch or dinner I would recommend the Thai beef salad; it is beyond delicious. The staff in general are friendly and helpful when approached. All in all we had a pleasant stay. The hotel needs some much needed TLC; a refurbishment of the rooms, pool area and restaurant could turn this place from 3 to 4 star; but at the end I guess it all comes down to dollars. Would we stay here again; if coming back to Kuta and the price was right; yes.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_Heide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Loved the 24hr bar in front of hotel. Pool bar was also nice. Hotel is lovely with a nice pool. Staff friendly. Location is great and i recommend when booking to not include breakfast as we had a great time going out and having breakfast in different places. Some lovely places on poppies 2 and also on the kuta beach road. Only a minutes walk to the beachwalk shopping centre where there is a great food hall and lovely restaurants and pub upstairs. Also great are the many restaurants along the beach road just minutes from the hotel. Wouldn't stay at
Hotel again as we like to try different ones but would definitely recommend and would definitely stay in this area again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neet119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, April 1, 2015
Dear Neet119,

Thank you for spending your valuable time to share your experiences during your stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali. We are delighted to know that you love our friendly staff. It is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy that you love our precious location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach, next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk and close to many places that can be visited for shopping or sightseeing. We are glad to know that you also enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We would like to thank you for recommending our hotel. However, the reason we could proudly give our guests the competitive price, because the booking was directly through our reservation.

We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Well, we are back again to this great hotel. The rooms are very clean and clean linen everyday.
Hotel receptionists are very helpful and great knowledge of the local area.The large swimming pool has quite a few seats and the pool is cleaned daily. The swimup bar is a great asset. If you book over the internet, you wull receive vouchers for 2 free beers, nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, April 2, 2015
Dear Ms. Maiya,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is gratefully thankful for your continuous trust in choosing us as you accommodation during your trip to Bali. We are gladly happy to acknowledge that we exceed your expectation during your stay with us, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests.

We are delighted to acknowledge that you love our great hotel, our clean room as well as our clean linen. We are glad that you are satisfied with the nice touch by our helpful receptionist.
We are glad to know that you also enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer. We are gladly happy to acknowledge that we exceed your expectation during your stay with us, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Thank you once again to the staff at Grand Istama Rama. Stayed 7 nights in March and as usual everything was perfect. Arrived at nearly midnight and had fast check in. Complimentary fruit basket and flowers in room was a nice touch which were replaced by room service who remembered me from my last visit. Thank you very much for that. Breakfast always a nice variety with eggs cooked to request and all usual breakfast fare with a different variety each day. (loved the chilli chicken). Room service efficient and rooms spacious with Balcony and the gardens are always well maintained. Great location as it is straight across from Kuta Beach and 10 minute walk to Legian or Discovery Mall. Love the pool area which is highly serviced. Will stay here when i next visit Bali. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Superior Room has balcony and upper floors have good view of well kept gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yangebup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, April 1, 2015
Dear Yangebup,

Thank you for kindly sharing your great reviews of your wonderful stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali on Tripadvisor. It is lovely to acknowledge that you describe on details regarding our hotel, wherein, you love your stay with our spaciously clean room, our efficient room service as well as the massively tropical garden which creates the serenity in your room. We are glad that you are satisfied with the nice touch by our room service.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy that you love our great location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach, next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk as well as near to Legian street as the center of night life in Kuta. It is also easy for you to get to the other interesting places for shopping or sightseeing. We are glad to know that you love our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We are not only glad to know how much you admire our great location, but also how nice of you to praise the selections of our scrumptious breakfast that you have at our Samudera Restaurant. Our restaurant has various selections of buffet breakfast such as: Indonesia dishes, eggs station, pancake station, noodle station, porridge station, dim sum, breads, desserts, and fresh fruits with stunning view of Kuta Beach.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We checked in here on 15th March 2014 for 1 night stay. What so good about this hotel?

We chose this place for trial after reading many good reviews about it. But seriously, its just a four star on name only. Once we entered our room, it smelled so weird (maybe the smell is from toilet). Then it turn to be ok after we closed the toilet door. The room decor n style was really old. The food menu in the room was too seasoned, the toilet have a lot of stains. So, my personal note is, room no. 620 was a terrible one.

Anyway, i am still okay with my bed. Still a comfy one and the air conditioner work well. Especially to cool myself after spending long hot day at beach. Besides, the location is perfect along Kuta Beach road, nearby Beachwalk Shppping Centre and not so far from busy Legian clubbing and tourist shopping area.

Hopefully the hotel will do some refurbishment soon in order to let others have a pleasant stay in this hotel

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach
0.3 mi away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#66 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#81 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#40 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Property: Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuta
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#37 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#42 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as a four star hotel with excellent location on Kuta's superb beach - offers convenience, relaxation and some of the best surfing in the world, just a few step from your door. You just need around 15 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Ariprot. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is within walking distance to international shops of Kuta Square, entertainment venues of Jalan Legian, Poppies Lane and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali - Beachwalk. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has 150 renovated rooms that consist of Superior Room Upper Floor, Superior Room Ground Floor, Deluxe Room, and Garden Suite, which is sets in 1.7 Hectares of lush tropical gardens for your delightful Bali accommodation. All rooms and exterior spaces reflect the charm and fascination of Bali. As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Rama has a stunning Samudera Restaurant, 69 Tequila Bar, and Ayodya Pool Bar. Samudera Restaurant offers Balinese and International cuisine, with a tropical ambiance. Wherein,for music lovers you can enjoy our live entertainment and sunset session with signature cocktails at 69 Tequila Bar. Grand Istana Rama Hotel features four Meeting Rooms that can cater for up to 30 - 250 attendees for conferences, gatherings, meetings, and weddings. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as the endlessly happening hotel offers you the long lasting memories during your holiday in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Istana Rama Kuta
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing