We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good inexpensive beachside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Ranked #102 of 340 Hotels in Kuta
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good inexpensive beachside hotel”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have stayed here twice in the last couple of years. We have stayed I the more expensive cottages and the cheaper rooms (on the second floor). Both rooms were very similar. The only point of difference was the stairs. My wife preferred the cottage with its own verandah. I preferred the 2nd storey cheaper room with a balcony overlooking the gardens. The accomodation is decorated/designed in a Bali style. The rooms are worn, but clean and tidy. Accomodation doeas not overlook the pool , which is a bit disappointing. The pool is quite large and has a nice swim up bar. The restaurant building is overlooking the road side and Kuta beach. This area is in need of a renovation. It is servicable and clean but looking very worn. The food was fair. Usual breakfast fair for Bali. I thought this restaurant area lets the rest of the hotel down. I would recommend this hotel if you are budget conscious.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarrynJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndiAnanto, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Mr. GarrynJac,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for spending your time to share your review of our hotel during your holiday in Bali. We are gladly contented to know that you have a lovely experience with our clean and tidy room.

As the charming hotel with traditional Balinese design, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy to have our precious location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk. We are glad to know that you also enjoy our large swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We appreciate your feedback on the condition of our room. However, as a part of our commitments to deliver the excellent service to our guest, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has been progressively carrying on room refurbishment and all of the old televisions were entirely replaced with new LED “Sharp” televisions 32 inches.

Thank you for your concern regarding the food. We already shared this information to our Food & Beverage Department to maintain our excellent service in order to exceed very high level of guest satisfaction.

We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,



Andi Ananto
General Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 754852
Email : gm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    493
    214
    68
    67
See reviews for
239
370
91
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Arrived after midnight to check in and the first thing that threw me was the request for CASH deposit AUD! What era is this hotel in? Honestly, credit card swipe should suffice in this day and age, but no not here $100 upfront in cash per room!
We were travelling as party of 7 and booked 2 deluxe rooms and 2 garden villas. They were only going to offer single twin share in the villas which I found concerning given we had booked this trip 7months in advance and paid handsomely for the privilege - no excuse! This was rectified but after much ado. Not to mention the fiasco when asking for late check out - they wanted double the price for this compared to the displayed online rate -this was rectified, but after a lot of tiring discussion.
The rooms were reasonably clean, but dated, bathrooms intermittently had wafting sewerage odour and the loud music from Beachwalk could be heard until 3am on most days! One of the deluxe rooms had blocked sewerage pipe which took them 3 days to fix, and no, they would not shift the couple to a new room. The pool is old and shabby and in need of a desperate upgrade.
We were given free vouchers for pool bar, tequila bar and restaurant - travelling as couples the vouchers covered one drink for one person, not per couple! If they can't afford to provide these add ons, then remove them altogether to avoid negative responses. The free restaurant voucher was for a bite sized and I mean bite sized taste of food - again not worth the effort, and as commented by one of our guests this varied greatly to what they experienced only 6 months prior... So imminently lots of cost cutting is apparent at this resort. We only found out about free massages because friends had stayed there prior...
Embarrassing for one of our guests - he was declined drinks & food until he topped up his credit! extremely insulting especially in view of the fact that he and his wife had been patrons there 6mths earlier paying all accounts etc on departure. Further to this he had tried to arrange a special surprise birthday dinner for wife and party! Fiasco extraordinaire!
Drinks at pool bar, when queried about delay some 3/4hr (and they were not busy they seemed more interested in talking amongst themselves rather than providing a service) were finally delivered minus the alcohol. This was raised with the manager of food &beverage staff who did apologise and confirmed that this did sometimes happen! As a token gesture he invited our party of seven to partake in free cocktails as they were running a promotion that evening-you guessed it, he took a wide berth and no free cocktails transpired - again don't over promise and under deliver. This was also off the back of a breakfast get together with Dina (who is trying) who wanted our feedback, which we did provide at the time.
I would suggest that 6months in Bali is a long time, things change and not always for the better unfortunately. The positive reviews were the reason for booking, but obviously our travel experiences and comparisons vary greatly to others views. We don't ask for anything but do have expectations to be met especially when paying for service.
Sadly the hotel location is the only redeeming factor at this point in time.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Shoalhaven, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Loved this hotel. The staff were so polite, happy & helpful. Breakfast was included in our room price & there was plenty of choice. The meals in the restaurant were well priced & a nice variety. Hotel in a great spot...easy walk to Kuta central, Poppies Lane & also to Legian.
Be aware of the hotel staff member who befriends you & suggests seafood dinner in Jimbaran. This is a con.... Free transport, but food is very expensive & tastes crap! Don't do it! I'm pretty sure he gets a kick back as he leaves as soon as you have ordered your dinner.

Room Tip: Personally, ground floor rooms suited us better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Arrived to be picked up by the hotel shuttle service, on arrival we were given vouchers for a free massage, 2 free beers at the swim up pool per day, a free cooking school and free beer at the tequila bar each day for our stay. The garden cottage was large and private with excellent facilities. Breakfast at the hotel is a huge smorgasbord of Indonesian , Western and other Asian foods. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: ask for ground floor or a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndiAnanto, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Ms. Annette0912,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for spending your time to share your review of our hotel during your holiday in Bali. We are delighted to know that you love your stay at our spaciously private Garden Suite.

As a part of our excellent services, we proudly present you the Cultural Activities program to ensure that you experience more of Bali, we are gladly pleased that you spare your time to join us on the cooking class program. Moreover, we are contentedly glad to acknowledge that you love our huge smorgasbord of breakfast.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta for your next trip.

Best regards,


Andi Ananto
General Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 754852
Email : gm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Grand Istana Rama hotel advertises itself as 4 star accomodation, I would have to disagree with this and say it is 3 star or 3.5 stars at a push. None the less this didn't detract from what was an over all very enjoyable stay. Rating this hotel for experience I would give it four stars. Without having anything relatively negative to say about this place it just lacked a little bit of cutting edge to deliver a 5 star experience.

The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful, polite and curtious and they were noticably hard working. If there were any issues they would be happy to get stuck in and reach a solution even if it wasn't part of there standard role, this was nice to see.

The location is good being literally over the road from Kuta beach and about a 15 minute walk from the lively Legion Street. The walk to Legion street is very well lit and past lots of Market stalls which makes for great haggling entertainment.

Rooms were very spacious with a good selection of channels including sports and movies. The aircon was excellent and well needed at times. Included in your room you get a complimentary banana boat ride, 20 minute massage and light dinner. The dinner included is advertised as light and that is indeed what you get. The menu is also set along different days with just one option per day so if your not a fish lover for example there will be a couple of days you cannot take advantage of this. This is no real issue however as dining in Kuta is relatively cheap. You also get one free beer at the pool bar between 12-2 and one free beer between 5-6 at the tequila bar.

Our stay here has been an extremely pleasant one however if I had one sole critisism I would have to say it lacked a bit of character and atmosphere which we quite enjoy. Over all this place has everything you will need and require and is very good value for money. I would definately consider returning however the place is a little forgettable therefore I would probably try somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndiAnanto, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Mr. Chris P,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for spending your time to share your precious holiday experiences with us. We are gladly contented to know that you have a lovely experience with our extremely helpful, polite and friendly staffs as well as our variety buffet breakfast, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home.

We are pleased to acknowledge that you love our spaciously clean room that is equipped with a wide selection of TV channels and an excellent working of air conditioning for you to enjoy your relaxation moment.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy that you love our precious location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach, next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk and close to many places that can be visited for shopping or sightseeing.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali in the near future.

Best regards,


Andi Ananto
General Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 754852
Email : gm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights before moving on to the niksoma.

We booked through agoda so breakfast was not included (not really an issue as buffet breakfast is usually hit and miss). Upon arrival we were told we were upgraded to deluxe. We were taken to a room upstairs (despite booking and paying for ground floor) which was directly across from the beach walk shopping centre. The room was nice, although the live band was cranked till about 12 am, then some banging maintenance from the shopping centre. I asked if we could move the footing day as our water completely stopped working.

This is when our stay became extremely pleasant, we moved to a ground floor room at the back of the hotel and it was basic but very cosy and quiet. The staff are faultless really, lots of fun and so friendly. Catur the young driver is fantastic as is Yasmin who hosts the free cooking course which is very proffessional, informative and fun.

The hotel is familly friendly and has a relaxed vibe. Never went to the tequila bar or used the free vouchers given. Hotel is in a great location, decent surf out the front.

I would stay again but I would make sure I got a ground floor room at the back if the hotel. Pretty sure out room number was tiga dua tiga 323.

Thanks for the stay it was sad to leave GIR hotel in the end, the staff really made you feel special!

Mark and Rebecca

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndiAnanto, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Mr. Mark and Ms. Rebecca,

First of all we would like to gratefully thank you for your time in sharing your precious holiday experiences with us. We are pleased to know that you have a great experience with our fantastically friendly and funny staffs, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home.

We are glad that you love your stay at our quiet room, where you can rest comfortably after having a long day trip in Bali. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy that you love our precious location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach, next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk and close to many places that can be visited for shopping or sightseeing.

As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Ram Hotel Kuta Bali has massively lush garden that gives you a relaxed and quiet ambiance. We are looking forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali to have another memorable stay.

Best regards,


Andi Ananto
General Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 754852
Email : gm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked 7 rooms with The Grand Istana Rama hotel for our first two nights in bali. We were given some vouchers such as free light dinner, free beer, banana boat...etc.

The room is spacious and clean. Staff were nice and courteous.

Good:
1. Honest housekeeping staff. We accidentally left our mobile phone in room but when we backed to room, the room had been tidied up and mobile phone was right on a clean bed.

2. Upon us checking out, the housekeeping informed of our two mini wines left in the room.

3. Breakfast is good. Lotsa choices and food stations offers freshly cooked pancakes, waffles, eggs...etc.

4. We specially want to thank Mr. Dito for his great helps to arrange for our transport. He spent so much efforts to make our excursion trip worry-free. Bravo to him and the hotel in getting great staff like him.

Feedback:
1. I was little disappointed for not getting welcome drink upon check in. I hope the hotel can improve in this small gesture as first impression is very important.

2. The timing to claim for free beer, massage and cultural activities is not good. I hope they do away with the time restriction if they sincerely like to provide the freebies.

Overall, this is a good hotel. I will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OctoberScorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Dear OctoberScorpio,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for spending your time to share your review of our hotel during your holiday in Bali. We are gladly contented to know that you have a lovely experience with our excellent services, spaciously clean room as well as our courteously nice staff. We are glad that you are satisfied with the nice touch by our honest services from our housekeeping team.

We are not only glad to know how much you admire our excellent staff, but also how nice of you to praise the selections of our scrumptious breakfast that you have at our Samudera Restaurant. Our restaurant has various foods for breakfast such as: Indonesia dishes, eggs station, pancake station, noodle station, porridge station, dim sum, breads, desserts and fresh fruits with stunning view of Kuta Beach.

Thank you for your concern regarding the welcome drink as it has been changing to beer voucher which were given to the guest that can be taken on the certain time. Besides, regarding the timing for our cultural activities program is scheduled at 10 AM every Monday – Saturday with different theme of activities, in order to let the guest experience more about Bali.

We look forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali for your next visit.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 754852
Email: sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#120 of 340 in Kuta
1,333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#68 of 340 in Kuta
2,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#19 of 340 in Kuta
700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#163 of 340 in Kuta
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Property: Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kuta
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#56 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#70 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as a four star hotel with excellent location on Kuta's superb beach - offers convenience, relaxation and some of the best surfing in the world, just a few step from your door. You just need around 15 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Ariprot. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is within walking distance to international shops of Kuta Square, entertainment venues of Jalan Legian, Poppies Lane and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali - Beachwalk. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has 150 renovated rooms that consist of Superior Room Upper Floor, Superior Room Ground Floor, Deluxe Room, and Garden Suite, which is sets in 1.7 Hectares of lush tropical gardens for your delightful Bali accommodation. All rooms and exterior spaces reflect the charm and fascination of Bali. As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Rama has a stunning Samudera Restaurant, 69 Tequila Bar, and Ayodya Pool Bar. Samudera Restaurant offers Balinese and International cuisine, with a tropical ambiance. Wherein,for music lovers you can enjoy our live entertainment and sunset session with signature cocktails at 69 Tequila Bar. Grand Istana Rama Hotel features four Meeting Rooms that can cater for up to 30 - 250 attendees for conferences, gatherings, meetings, and weddings. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as the endlessly happening hotel offers you the long lasting memories during your holiday in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Istana Rama Kuta
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing