We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kuta Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Ranked #66 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Kuta Magic”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Loved this hotel. The staff were so polite, happy & helpful. Breakfast was included in our room price & there was plenty of choice. The meals in the restaurant were well priced & a nice variety. Hotel in a great spot...easy walk to Kuta central, Poppies Lane & also to Legian.
Be aware of the hotel staff member who befriends you & suggests seafood dinner in Jimbaran. This is a con.... Free transport, but food is very expensive & tastes crap! Don't do it! I'm pretty sure he gets a kick back as he leaves as soon as you have ordered your dinner.

Room Tip: Personally, ground floor rooms suited us better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    485
    212
    68
    66
See reviews for
233
365
91
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Arrived to be picked up by the hotel shuttle service, on arrival we were given vouchers for a free massage, 2 free beers at the swim up pool per day, a free cooking school and free beer at the tequila bar each day for our stay. The garden cottage was large and private with excellent facilities. Breakfast at the hotel is a huge smorgasbord of Indonesian , Western and other Asian foods. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: ask for ground floor or a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndiAnanto, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Ms. Annette0912,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for spending your time to share your review of our hotel during your holiday in Bali. We are delighted to know that you love your stay at our spaciously private Garden Suite.

As a part of our excellent services, we proudly present you the Cultural Activities program to ensure that you experience more of Bali, we are gladly pleased that you spare your time to join us on the cooking class program. Moreover, we are contentedly glad to acknowledge that you love our huge smorgasbord of breakfast.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta for your next trip.

Best regards,


Andi Ananto
General Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 754852
Email : gm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Grand Istana Rama hotel advertises itself as 4 star accomodation, I would have to disagree with this and say it is 3 star or 3.5 stars at a push. None the less this didn't detract from what was an over all very enjoyable stay. Rating this hotel for experience I would give it four stars. Without having anything relatively negative to say about this place it just lacked a little bit of cutting edge to deliver a 5 star experience.

The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful, polite and curtious and they were noticably hard working. If there were any issues they would be happy to get stuck in and reach a solution even if it wasn't part of there standard role, this was nice to see.

The location is good being literally over the road from Kuta beach and about a 15 minute walk from the lively Legion Street. The walk to Legion street is very well lit and past lots of Market stalls which makes for great haggling entertainment.

Rooms were very spacious with a good selection of channels including sports and movies. The aircon was excellent and well needed at times. Included in your room you get a complimentary banana boat ride, 20 minute massage and light dinner. The dinner included is advertised as light and that is indeed what you get. The menu is also set along different days with just one option per day so if your not a fish lover for example there will be a couple of days you cannot take advantage of this. This is no real issue however as dining in Kuta is relatively cheap. You also get one free beer at the pool bar between 12-2 and one free beer between 5-6 at the tequila bar.

Our stay here has been an extremely pleasant one however if I had one sole critisism I would have to say it lacked a bit of character and atmosphere which we quite enjoy. Over all this place has everything you will need and require and is very good value for money. I would definately consider returning however the place is a little forgettable therefore I would probably try somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndiAnanto, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Mr. Chris P,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for spending your time to share your precious holiday experiences with us. We are gladly contented to know that you have a lovely experience with our extremely helpful, polite and friendly staffs as well as our variety buffet breakfast, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home.

We are pleased to acknowledge that you love our spaciously clean room that is equipped with a wide selection of TV channels and an excellent working of air conditioning for you to enjoy your relaxation moment.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy that you love our precious location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach, next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk and close to many places that can be visited for shopping or sightseeing.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali in the near future.

Best regards,


Andi Ananto
General Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 754852
Email : gm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights before moving on to the niksoma.

We booked through agoda so breakfast was not included (not really an issue as buffet breakfast is usually hit and miss). Upon arrival we were told we were upgraded to deluxe. We were taken to a room upstairs (despite booking and paying for ground floor) which was directly across from the beach walk shopping centre. The room was nice, although the live band was cranked till about 12 am, then some banging maintenance from the shopping centre. I asked if we could move the footing day as our water completely stopped working.

This is when our stay became extremely pleasant, we moved to a ground floor room at the back of the hotel and it was basic but very cosy and quiet. The staff are faultless really, lots of fun and so friendly. Catur the young driver is fantastic as is Yasmin who hosts the free cooking course which is very proffessional, informative and fun.

The hotel is familly friendly and has a relaxed vibe. Never went to the tequila bar or used the free vouchers given. Hotel is in a great location, decent surf out the front.

I would stay again but I would make sure I got a ground floor room at the back if the hotel. Pretty sure out room number was tiga dua tiga 323.

Thanks for the stay it was sad to leave GIR hotel in the end, the staff really made you feel special!

Mark and Rebecca

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndiAnanto, General Manager at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Mr. Mark and Ms. Rebecca,

First of all we would like to gratefully thank you for your time in sharing your precious holiday experiences with us. We are pleased to know that you have a great experience with our fantastically friendly and funny staffs, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home.

We are glad that you love your stay at our quiet room, where you can rest comfortably after having a long day trip in Bali. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy that you love our precious location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach, next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk and close to many places that can be visited for shopping or sightseeing.

As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Ram Hotel Kuta Bali has massively lush garden that gives you a relaxed and quiet ambiance. We are looking forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali to have another memorable stay.

Best regards,


Andi Ananto
General Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 754852
Email : gm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked 7 rooms with The Grand Istana Rama hotel for our first two nights in bali. We were given some vouchers such as free light dinner, free beer, banana boat...etc.

The room is spacious and clean. Staff were nice and courteous.

Good:
1. Honest housekeeping staff. We accidentally left our mobile phone in room but when we backed to room, the room had been tidied up and mobile phone was right on a clean bed.

2. Upon us checking out, the housekeeping informed of our two mini wines left in the room.

3. Breakfast is good. Lotsa choices and food stations offers freshly cooked pancakes, waffles, eggs...etc.

4. We specially want to thank Mr. Dito for his great helps to arrange for our transport. He spent so much efforts to make our excursion trip worry-free. Bravo to him and the hotel in getting great staff like him.

Feedback:
1. I was little disappointed for not getting welcome drink upon check in. I hope the hotel can improve in this small gesture as first impression is very important.

2. The timing to claim for free beer, massage and cultural activities is not good. I hope they do away with the time restriction if they sincerely like to provide the freebies.

Overall, this is a good hotel. I will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OctoberScorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Dear OctoberScorpio,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for spending your time to share your review of our hotel during your holiday in Bali. We are gladly contented to know that you have a lovely experience with our excellent services, spaciously clean room as well as our courteously nice staff. We are glad that you are satisfied with the nice touch by our honest services from our housekeeping team.

We are not only glad to know how much you admire our excellent staff, but also how nice of you to praise the selections of our scrumptious breakfast that you have at our Samudera Restaurant. Our restaurant has various foods for breakfast such as: Indonesia dishes, eggs station, pancake station, noodle station, porridge station, dim sum, breads, desserts and fresh fruits with stunning view of Kuta Beach.

Thank you for your concern regarding the welcome drink as it has been changing to beer voucher which were given to the guest that can be taken on the certain time. Besides, regarding the timing for our cultural activities program is scheduled at 10 AM every Monday – Saturday with different theme of activities, in order to let the guest experience more about Bali.

We look forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali for your next visit.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 754852
Email: sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great location and price.
Rooms are basic but clean. Bathroom was surprisingly luxurious. Grounds are nice. Pool area was ok. Not enough lounges.
Breakfast was awesome! And they had some different stuff every day. Chicken nuggets were my fav!
They don't really have a day spa...just a hotel room where they do massages. Which for the price, you can go to a nice hotel day spa for. But not hard to find cheap massages in kuta! So not a big deal.
The big draw is the location. Right across from kuta beach, and right next door to the new shopping centre.
Great value for the price. Great location. Great base for exploring. Not te type of hotel you want to hang out at all day.

Room Tip: No lifts, so choose a ground floor close to reception if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiBriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Dear OctoberScorpio,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is sincerely thankful for spending your time to share your review of our hotel during your holiday in Bali. We are gladly contented to know that you have a lovely experience with our excellent services, spaciously clean room as well as our courteously nice staff. We are glad that you are satisfied with the nice touch by our honest services from our housekeeping team.

We are not only glad to know how much you admire our excellent staff, but also how nice of you to praise the selections of our scrumptious breakfast that you have at our Samudera Restaurant. Our restaurant has various foods for breakfast such as: Indonesia dishes, eggs station, pancake station, noodle station, porridge station, dim sum, breads, desserts and fresh fruits with stunning view of Kuta Beach.

Thank you for your concern regarding the welcome drink as it has been changing to beer voucher which were given to the guest that can be taken on the certain time. Besides, regarding the timing for our cultural activities program is scheduled at 10 AM every Monday – Saturday with different theme of activities, in order to let the guest experience more about Bali.

We look forward to welcome you back at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali for your next visit.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 754852
Email: sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed there from 21 to 24 May at room 818. On 23rd May night while i was showering i heard sounds outside the toilet window.. The window was on top of the shower area... I feel that someone is at the window peeping because of the sound so i asked my fiancee to check.. When he when near the window there were sound of someone running away from that area... When my fiancee went out to check outside there was a ladder directly below the window... Though from the inside toilet the window is tinted black but when he try climb up the ladder and look inside the toilet the view of the toilet can be seen clearly with toilet lights on inside... We went to report to the duty manager and surprisingly he said that he have no idea of that area having a gap that other people can go through... Also we waited for a report and was told that the cctv could not detect that area... We suspected that one of the staff who frequently go to that area had done that... What is the use of security at the entrance when in the hotel there is no security even the staff can do something inside the hotel without other people knowledge... The report was make as if we were the once hearing things if we hear things explain the footstep with mud marks to that entrance any why the sound of someone running away... Just a reminder for those ladies going stay at room 818 please check if the window at the shower had been sealed from outside view or else choose other rooms or else dont choose this hotel as even cctv is not working properly... Sorry does not mean anything as i am not sure if any recording were taken while i was bathing and if it was done for my days staying there... JJ

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rianaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#76 of 251 in Kuta
1,325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#42 of 251 in Kuta
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#107 of 251 in Kuta
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#14 of 251 in Kuta
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Property: Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#40 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#46 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as a four star hotel with excellent location on Kuta's superb beach - offers convenience, relaxation and some of the best surfing in the world, just a few step from your door. You just need around 15 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Ariprot. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is within walking distance to international shops of Kuta Square, entertainment venues of Jalan Legian, Poppies Lane and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali - Beachwalk. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has 150 renovated rooms that consist of Superior Room Upper Floor, Superior Room Ground Floor, Deluxe Room, and Garden Suite, which is sets in 1.7 Hectares of lush tropical gardens for your delightful Bali accommodation. All rooms and exterior spaces reflect the charm and fascination of Bali. As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Rama has a stunning Samudera Restaurant, 69 Tequila Bar, and Ayodya Pool Bar. Samudera Restaurant offers Balinese and International cuisine, with a tropical ambiance. Wherein,for music lovers you can enjoy our live entertainment and sunset session with signature cocktails at 69 Tequila Bar. Grand Istana Rama Hotel features four Meeting Rooms that can cater for up to 30 - 250 attendees for conferences, gatherings, meetings, and weddings. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as the endlessly happening hotel offers you the long lasting memories during your holiday in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Istana Rama Kuta
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing