We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Istana Rama Restaurant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Ranked #62 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Slovakia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Istana Rama Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel´s restaurant should be avoided. While I was eating (had over a half dish of fish and chips) my partner finished eating his fettuccine and the waitress immediately came and ask him if he would like to pay....

Fettuccine Cream - small portion, no taste at all...
Fish and Chips - never had such as dry fish in all my entire life...., the batter on the wish was like sponge... no eatable...
Fresh Strawberry juice - more water than strawberry

The only thing good, tartar sauce and water.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felllicita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    466
    203
    66
    63
See reviews for
221
353
91
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Having stayed at Grand Istana Rama (GIR) twice before we were really looking forward to staying here for a relaxing 10 nights close to the beach and an easy walk to everything you need in Kuta. We arrived late to find ourselves escorted to building nine. A back of the resort building still awaiting a much needed refurb and too close to the service entry and construction for a peaceful stay.
After the first night we managed to get a room in building six (top floor). Whilst the room looked quite tired, at least this room didn't have broken odd shaped drawers, filthy walls, stained sheets and a dingy feel (like our former room in building nine).
The breakfast buffet selection is ample, however, we found ourselves often literally running to the room for relief in the hours following. Having been to Bali about eight times before and never experiencing such issues makes me question the quality of the food.
The cleanliness of the pool has been an issue during this stay. Possibly caused by the dust from the Beachwalk construction going on adjacent to the pool area. They did clean it a number of times yet it would quite often revert back to a urine yellow colour for some time before being cleaned.
Dining at the Samudera in the evening can make conversation virtually impossible due to the ridiculously loud disco beats or live music.
Another new addition to the services offered is a creepy/sleazy photo booth pool side. Basically it is a couple of perverted guys going full zoom on the ladies poolside. They then spend hours staring at their computer and giggling at shots. This quite noticeably made some guests feel uncomfortable since photos were taken without any prior consent and no follow up regarding what was being done with the shots.
The additional 'photography' staff would be much better utilised addressing the poolside issue of people placing towels early morning to reserve seats that they seem to have no intention of using.
On a positive note, most staff are friendly and the hotel location is pretty good/convenient.
Would we stay at GIR again?....at the rate the standards are slipping within a year it may not be worth more than Bali 2 stars, so probably not.

Room Tip: If possible request a room towards the front of the resort - nothing further back than building six.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AYWaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have just stayed for 10 nites at this hotel and it is 1 of the cleanist hotels we have stayed in all the years going to bali the towels and sheets are good quality and clean the pool is great and everybody is very friendly and all in good walking distant to everywhere in Kuta. I had my birthday there and they arrived to our room with a beautiful birthday cake that was free we will go back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shultzynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Dear Ms. Shultzynz,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali would like to gratefully thank you for sharing your precious holiday experiences with us. We are glad that you are satisfied with the nice touch by our stunning services and our friendly staffs. We are proud that we did the best part for your birthday. We hope that it would be the most memorable moment during your holiday in Bali.

We are pleased to acknowledge that you had a lovely stay in our spaciously clean room that is equipped by good quality of towels and sheets. We are also contented to know that you have a great experience with our fantastically friendly staffs. It is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy that you love our precious location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali - Beachwalk. We are more than happy to know that you also enjoy our huge swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We are delighted to know that you will come back to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali. We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burpengary, Qld
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just got back from spending a week here at GIRH, yes it takes awhile for the water to heat up but a change in normal routine and it was all good..put the shower on, go out to the balcony with a cuppa, what the heck have another one, shower is now nice. The staff were ALWAYS soo nice, polite and with a smile, it seemed that no request was a problem. We arrived around midnight and there they were beautiful smiles. A porter helped us take our bags to our room, at the back of the hotel and up 3 flights of stairs, he carried two HEAVY cases at a time. Welcome plate of nibblies, and every day it was changed. Room cleaned every day, beds made daily, in the evening we would come home to find the beds turned down. we were treated like royalty. We did a couple of the free activities, dressed up in Balinese traditional celebration clothes, couldnt stop laughing. On Friday I went to the traditional food markets and learnt to cook a Balinese dish, transport, food, chef, and meal all free (and yum) Markets are an eye opener (we have it so easy in AU)..would I recommend GIRH again, yes without hesitation. We are already planning the next trip and we will stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Dear Ms. Dianna H,

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is gratefully thankful for sharing your precious holiday experiences with us on Tripadvisor. We are gladly happy to acknowledge that we exceed your expectation during your stay with us, as it is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests. We are pleased to know that you have a great experience with our fantastically friendly, nice and polite staffs, our spaciously clean room as well as our excellent services.

As a part of our outstanding services, we proudly present our Cultural Activities program for you to experience more of Bali. We are glad to know that you experience Balinese Costume program and also Balinese cooking in Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali which is presented by our talented chef.

We are delighted to know that you will come back to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali. We look forward to welcome you back to create another lovely holiday for you.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Got to the hotel late at night. Checked in, room looked ok but to tired to care. We were woken very early with the sun right in our faces as there were no curtains on the bathroom window and bed was right in the sunlight. Not happy. Had a shower no hot water at all, water freezing. Our room was right at the back of the so called resort. Didn't bother to unpack, went and changed rooms after complaints. Second room tried the hot water and was only hot no cold at all, changed rooms again as it couldn't be fixed. Third time room was ok, not as clean as I would of liked. Breakfast was average. Didn't even bother with the dirty pool. Have visited Bali a couple of times now and I have never had Bali belly, well my god, got it really bad here. Was defiantly from this hotel, not to sure if it was from the ice which was from the front bar or the breakfast which the only thing I had different from my hubby was the pancakes, the batter mix was sitting in the sun. Really don't like the street out of this hotel, locals are desperate for money, a lot of beggars and young children hassling you for money. Will never stay at this hotel and will not recommend to anyone.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Check in was a breeze, excellent location, close to all Kuta has to offer. Poppies lane 1 and 2 close by and walking distance to legian clubs and restaurants. Pool lovely and pool bar, plenty of room for everyone!! staff are the best, very very friendly. We had a room at front on second floor as we wanted private balcony and was basic but fine for what we needed for 13 nights. Only problem I found was the shower so hard to adjust and hot water takes a long time to heat up. Its either way too hot or way too cold, cant adjust whatsoever. Checkout a breeze, free wifi slow but cant complain its free. Restaurant and pool bar prices a little steep, but all hotels are more expensive than bars because of the tax, but plenty of places nearby to eat or drink. Tequila bar open 24/7 so a bonus for us!! swimming pool closes at 7pm but swim anytime at own risk, we jumped in at 1am, was so relaxing!! Air con so cold, very nice. Rooms cleaned every day also, beds made, fresh towels, little food gifts they change every day, and a nice mini bar! safe in all rooms for your valuables. Breakfast awesome!! Great hotel!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of the hotel, as the back rooms can be quite a distance from the pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Dear Mr. Shaun B,

Thank you for your trust to stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali during your holiday in Bali. We are gladly thankful that love your stay at our nicely clean Superior Upper Floor room with a private balcony as well as our friendly staff.

We are happy to present our excellent location, where is located precisely in front of Kuta Beach, next to the biggest shopping center in Bali – Beachwalk as well as near to Legian street as the center of night life in Kuta. It is also easy for you to get to the other interesting places for shopping or sightseeing. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is more than happy to know that you also enjoy our lovely swimming pool, which is equipped by swim up bar, as the best spot for relaxing and taking pleasure of the most wanted Bintang beer.

We are not only glad to know how much you admire our great hotel, but also how nice of you to praise our awesome buffet breakfast that you have at our Samudera Restaurant. Our restaurant has various selections of breakfast such as: Indonesia dishes, eggs station, pancake station, noodle station, porridge station, dim sum, breads, desserts, and fresh fruits with stunning view of Kuta Beach.

We appreciate your feedback about our value for money room rate. In fact, the reason we could proudly give you the competitive price, because of your booking was directly through our reservation.

We appreciate for your concern regarding the hot water. We already shared this information to our Engineering Department, to avoid the same problem in the future.
We are looking forward to see you again at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

The Grand Istana Rama has a nice Balinese feel, although the room decor is slightly old and uninspired.
My partner unknowingly lost his wallet while we were staying at this hotel (probably while at lunch in the hotel restaurant) and it was returned to him with all the cash still inside, along with an itemized list of its contents. He had to show ID to collect his wallet - we were all impressed by the honesty and professionalism of the staff, which a lot of friends have failed to experience while in Bali.
The buffet breakfast was good. It wasn't included in our room price but we tried it one morning and were discounted 20,000IDR each, which we assumed was because we were staying there. The pancakes were the best I had in Bali and the fresh vegetable juice station was a very healthy touch. The food at the hotel restaurant is good but pretty pricey compared to restaurants down poppies lane 1 or 2. Drinks are similarly expensive. However, if you want to linger over breakfast its probably more worth while to get the buffet breakfast, which cost us 80,000IDR each (with discount) rather than order, say, eggs, a coffee and juice off the menu, which will add up to about 70,000IDR anyway.

Room Tip: There is variation in superior rooms, despite what their website says. We had a room with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xasae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girh, Director of Sales at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Dear Xasae,

Thank you for spending your valuable time to share your experiences during your stay at Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali. We are pleased to know that you have a great experience with our honest and professional staffs. It is our commitment to consistently maintain excellent service for our valued guests to make them feel like home.

Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is happy to have our good location, where is exactly in front of Kuta Beach and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali- Beachwalk. We are gladly contented to acknowledge that you love our authentic Balinese style, which is facilitated by our beautifully lush garden, which gives the serenity and relaxing feeling in your spacious room.

We are not only glad to know how much you admire our hotel, but also how nice of you to praise the selections of our scrumptious buffet breakfast that you have at our Samudera Restaurant, especially our delicious pancake and healthy freshly juice. Our restaurant has various breakfasts such as: Indonesia dishes, eggs station, pancake station, noodle station, porridge station, dim sum, breads, desserts, and fresh fruits with stunning view of Kuta Beach.

We appreciate your feedback on the condition of our room. However, as a part of our commitments to deliver the excellent service to our guest, Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has been progressively carrying on room refurbishment and all of the old televisions were entirely replaced with new LED “Sharp” televisions 32 inches.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali to create another perfect holiday for you.

Best regards,


Bianca Rosetta
Sales & Marketing Manager
Grand Istana Rama Hotel
Jl. Pantai Kuta - Kuta , Denpasar-Bali
Telp : (62-361) 752208 Fax : (62-361) 753178
Email : sm@grandistanarama.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach
0.3 mi away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#72 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#82 of 250 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#39 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Property: Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#37 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#42 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as a four star hotel with excellent location on Kuta's superb beach - offers convenience, relaxation and some of the best surfing in the world, just a few step from your door. You just need around 15 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Ariprot. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is within walking distance to international shops of Kuta Square, entertainment venues of Jalan Legian, Poppies Lane and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali - Beachwalk. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has 150 renovated rooms that consist of Superior Room Upper Floor, Superior Room Ground Floor, Deluxe Room, and Garden Suite, which is sets in 1.7 Hectares of lush tropical gardens for your delightful Bali accommodation. All rooms and exterior spaces reflect the charm and fascination of Bali. As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Rama has a stunning Samudera Restaurant, 69 Tequila Bar, and Ayodya Pool Bar. Samudera Restaurant offers Balinese and International cuisine, with a tropical ambiance. Wherein,for music lovers you can enjoy our live entertainment and sunset session with signature cocktails at 69 Tequila Bar. Grand Istana Rama Hotel features four Meeting Rooms that can cater for up to 30 - 250 attendees for conferences, gatherings, meetings, and weddings. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as the endlessly happening hotel offers you the long lasting memories during your holiday in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Istana Rama Kuta
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing