We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, fun place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Ranked #63 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Perth
Level Contributor
143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location, fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

We picked this place because friends were staying around the corner at Satriya Cottages, and we couldn't get a spot there. It was pretty inexpensive so we didn't expect much. But when we arrived we found a clean, friendly and pretty modern hotel in a great location opposite Kuta Beach.

The service was excellent - I'd left the keys to our luggage back at home, so at 1.45am when we arrived, they sent an engineer to our room with an angle grinder to cut the locks off for us (sorry to other guests about the noise!).

Over the course of our week we came to appreciate the location, the people and the facilities even more. The massages were great, the food in the restaurant and at breakfast delicious and well served, and every staff member seemed genuinely concerned with helping us have a good time.

It was a very pleasant surprise to find Grand Istana Rama, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scrib310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    468
    206
    66
    63
See reviews for
226
354
91
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Firstly, the location of this hotel is great, Right on the main road and fairly close to everything. Overall the layout and the feel of the hotel and the swimming pool is very nice. The staff are very nice, the one at reception when you walk in on your left always greets you with a big smile,

Staff are very helpful and polite

Room service was very good as well,

I quite liked the pool area, not over done and there was a constant breeze.

Rooms were ok, a little outdated, and we also experienced the bad odour coming from the showers when the water is on, for some that may have been a deal breaker, however, one problem didn't really bother me, if it was a honeymoon, then it would have been different

Thanks Grand Istana, we enjoyed our stay

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank losttravellerfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Hotel has nice grounds and some bungalow style accommodation. Breakfast had many options and the pool area was very nice. There was a swim-up bar which we loved but limited deck chairs at times. Wifi in room but normally logged you out every 5 minutes. Not far to walk to Hard Rock Cafe and central area of Kuta via laneways. Would recommend to all looking to stay in heart of kuta.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brett153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We had a great stay at this hotel. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are clean and large, the aircon was cold and service was great. What more do you need for a holiday. A few winging reviews which I was concerned about before we stayed. It comes down to taste and how easy or hard are you to please. The hotel is situated an easy walk from everything you need or want. You leave the hustle of the streets to the refreshing relaxing garden style accomdation. We would most definitely stay again.
Sums

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleMissBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here at the grand istana Rama in aug 2010
The rooms were very neat and tidy and cleaned every day,I lovely Balinese style hotel beautiful surroundings and great breakfasts ! In a great location ! The Only thing I would fault here was the pool area not exactly a resort style lay out pool area ,pool went green when we stayed here only for one day that you couldn't swim due to heavy rain pour the night before and there wasn't enough pool deck chairs for everyone.I would stay here again for sure ! The pool I am sure was just one of those things you couldn't help !
Nice ! Clean ! Great location !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biscuit87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

After booking this hotel for a group of friends who had not been to Bali before (we had been several times) I was extremely worried after reading some of the negative reviews. We stayed here for 6 nights and I could not fault anything, the hotel was clean, the breakfast was loveley, we were withing wwalking distance of everything we needed - 10 mins to Kuta Square and about 20mins to Legian (10mins to Melasti Street). The staff were all helpful and friendly. My room hairdryer broke and was repalced immediatly. The one and ONLY negative comment I had was that our room had no balcony - we booked 4 rooms and ours was the only one with no balconly, our bathroom was massive and very very clean though. As we only stayed 6 nights then moved on for another 7 nights I was not overly worried about the balcony as we dont smoke and we really didnt spend much time in our room other than to sleep. Yes the drink prices were expensive, but they are about the same as any hotel in Bali so we tend not to drink at hotels and go out everynight to somewhere different for dinner and drinks. The hotel is not too big so it is not a long walk from rooms to restaurant, bar or pool. Overall this hotel exceeded my expectations and I would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carchel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have just returned from a four night stay at The Grand Istana Rama and we were very disappointed. We arrived late and when we saw our room we were very disappointed. Twin beds instead of a double as requested and no extra bed for our daughter and quite possibly the smallest room ever. After a discussion with the duty manager we agreed to stay for the night and they would try and sort out a larger room for the next night he also promised that if this was unsatisfactory then we would receive our money back and could stay somewhere else. In the morning after looking around the grounds we decided to move on. We approached the manager about this but she refused to refund our money or change our room...she did not believe that the night manager had promised us this and apparently he denied having said it....we were very upset....after a long arguement and many phonecalls they finally upgraded us to a bigger room for free even though they initially wanted us to pay $40 a night extra....The whole stay was awful. Mosquitos everywhere, the only nice staff were the ones who cleaned our room, the pool was clean but too much chlorine in it which burnt my daughters eyes and the food and drinks were way overpriced..paying four dollars for a beer in Bali is almost unheard of. The gardens were ordinary and the whole place drab and dreary, combine that with all the cranes hanging over the pool from the construction work next door and you got a very uncomfortable stay....Thanks for nothing to the staff and management at the hotel...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#105 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.0 mi away
HARRIS Resort Kuta Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#76 of 251 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kuta Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Property: Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#37 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#41 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as a four star hotel with excellent location on Kuta's superb beach - offers convenience, relaxation and some of the best surfing in the world, just a few step from your door. You just need around 15 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Ariprot. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is within walking distance to international shops of Kuta Square, entertainment venues of Jalan Legian, Poppies Lane and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali - Beachwalk. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has 150 renovated rooms that consist of Superior Room Upper Floor, Superior Room Ground Floor, Deluxe Room, and Garden Suite, which is sets in 1.7 Hectares of lush tropical gardens for your delightful Bali accommodation. All rooms and exterior spaces reflect the charm and fascination of Bali. As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Rama has a stunning Samudera Restaurant, 69 Tequila Bar, and Ayodya Pool Bar. Samudera Restaurant offers Balinese and International cuisine, with a tropical ambiance. Wherein,for music lovers you can enjoy our live entertainment and sunset session with signature cocktails at 69 Tequila Bar. Grand Istana Rama Hotel features four Meeting Rooms that can cater for up to 30 - 250 attendees for conferences, gatherings, meetings, and weddings. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as the endlessly happening hotel offers you the long lasting memories during your holiday in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Istana Rama Kuta
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing