We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - clean, good location, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Ranked #104 of 340 Hotels in Kuta
Shellharbour
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - clean, good location, would stay again”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

After booking this hotel for a group of friends who had not been to Bali before (we had been several times) I was extremely worried after reading some of the negative reviews. We stayed here for 6 nights and I could not fault anything, the hotel was clean, the breakfast was loveley, we were withing wwalking distance of everything we needed - 10 mins to Kuta Square and about 20mins to Legian (10mins to Melasti Street). The staff were all helpful and friendly. My room hairdryer broke and was repalced immediatly. The one and ONLY negative comment I had was that our room had no balcony - we booked 4 rooms and ours was the only one with no balconly, our bathroom was massive and very very clean though. As we only stayed 6 nights then moved on for another 7 nights I was not overly worried about the balcony as we dont smoke and we really didnt spend much time in our room other than to sleep. Yes the drink prices were expensive, but they are about the same as any hotel in Bali so we tend not to drink at hotels and go out everynight to somewhere different for dinner and drinks. The hotel is not too big so it is not a long walk from rooms to restaurant, bar or pool. Overall this hotel exceeded my expectations and I would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carchel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    492
    214
    68
    67
See reviews for
239
369
91
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have just returned from a four night stay at The Grand Istana Rama and we were very disappointed. We arrived late and when we saw our room we were very disappointed. Twin beds instead of a double as requested and no extra bed for our daughter and quite possibly the smallest room ever. After a discussion with the duty manager we agreed to stay for the night and they would try and sort out a larger room for the next night he also promised that if this was unsatisfactory then we would receive our money back and could stay somewhere else. In the morning after looking around the grounds we decided to move on. We approached the manager about this but she refused to refund our money or change our room...she did not believe that the night manager had promised us this and apparently he denied having said it....we were very upset....after a long arguement and many phonecalls they finally upgraded us to a bigger room for free even though they initially wanted us to pay $40 a night extra....The whole stay was awful. Mosquitos everywhere, the only nice staff were the ones who cleaned our room, the pool was clean but too much chlorine in it which burnt my daughters eyes and the food and drinks were way overpriced..paying four dollars for a beer in Bali is almost unheard of. The gardens were ordinary and the whole place drab and dreary, combine that with all the cranes hanging over the pool from the construction work next door and you got a very uncomfortable stay....Thanks for nothing to the staff and management at the hotel...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed for 10 nights with our 3 year old son. The staff were fantastic. Yes the water took a little time to heat up, but its not like it was the end of the world. We loved tbe central location and the peacefullness of the hotel. We will be back in a few months.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandatace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth,
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel is situated oppisite the beach a little walk up from Poppies2. The rooms are very nice and clean with the usual amenities. The bathroom was clean and everything worked. The hotel is of three levels and there is no elevator. As the restaurant is facing the beach it is a bit of a hike to get there as is the pool which is situated next to the restaurant. If you are there during the rainy season the hotel provides umbrellas in every room. The walkways tend to flood during heavy rain. If you feel like tipping the cleaning staff make sure you give the tip pesonally. Do not leave the tip in the room or the security people will take it. You will also be required to leave a deposit at the desk when you book in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Would recommend this hotel as in central location, wonderful selection for breakfast overlooking beach, staff very friendly and helpful, pool with swim-up bar and balcony rooms. Very efficient checking in and out. Beautiful balcony view of lovely manicured gardens and watched daily life go by while having breakfast. Easy walk to heart of Kuta, Legian and beach across road no need for taxi. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasha85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This was our first overseas holiday, and it was truely amazing. the staff at this hotel made us feel like we were there only customers, l have never seen so many staff in one hotel to cater to the needs of its patrons. The room was fresh and clean, yes the water takes a long time to come through l turned the shower on and then cleaned my teeth etc, then l got in the shower. Went to a most amazing breafast with everything you could ever eat available, and very fresh cooked in front of you. we never ate till late afternoon every day after such a huge breafast. the reception staff were always helpful and drivers are at the hotel to hire for how ever long you may need them, negotiate a price very cheap. Good position great friendly staff lots of them! great food and lots to do and see and join in on at this hotel, we got our driver to take us to see some other hotels but they just didn't have the same atmosphere or as many friendy staff about, definately the best alrounder in Bali. we ate at the restuarant a lot as the staff were amazing, the food beautiful tastey and safe l was a bit worried about eating the wrong thing. I just can't speak highly enough of the staff. Mother and Daughter Victoria.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and loved be able to come back from shopping and not having to climb stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazza_272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at the Grand Istana Rama in May for 10 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is not 5 star but was not expected to be and had all the things we could have wanted. We had a lower level room with a king size bed that was clean and tidy with nice sized TV and airconditioner that worked well. Checking in only took a matter of minutes and I found the reception staff spoke good english and were very friendly.
The best thing about the Istana Rama is they have lots of free cultural activities - from language classes to cooking to coconut climbing (thanks to Miss Bianca and Miss Clara)
There is a large selection of food to choose from for breakfast also the resturant has a very good variety to choose from. The pool although not huge in size is more than capable of taking any number of people who wanted to swim while the pool attendants will move pool lounges around to accomodate all guests.
I found all the staff whether they be ground staff or inside staff were both friendly and spoke good english. I had read many reviews of varying opinions and have come to the conclusion that anyone who did not like this hotel was a little hard to please.
I would have no problem staying there again and look forward to may next year because as Arnie says Wee'l be Back

Grand Istana Rama has real charm, great value and authentic experiences for the Everyone. Loved it.....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Mercure Kuta Bali
Mercure Kuta Bali
#122 of 340 in Kuta
1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#68 of 340 in Kuta
2,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#19 of 340 in Kuta
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#159 of 340 in Kuta
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali

Property: Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali
Address: Jalan Pantai Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Kuta
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#57 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#71 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as a four star hotel with excellent location on Kuta's superb beach - offers convenience, relaxation and some of the best surfing in the world, just a few step from your door. You just need around 15 minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Ariprot. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali is within walking distance to international shops of Kuta Square, entertainment venues of Jalan Legian, Poppies Lane and next to the biggest shopping center in Bali - Beachwalk. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali has 150 renovated rooms that consist of Superior Room Upper Floor, Superior Room Ground Floor, Deluxe Room, and Garden Suite, which is sets in 1.7 Hectares of lush tropical gardens for your delightful Bali accommodation. All rooms and exterior spaces reflect the charm and fascination of Bali. As the Balinese style hotel, Grand Istana Rama has a stunning Samudera Restaurant, 69 Tequila Bar, and Ayodya Pool Bar. Samudera Restaurant offers Balinese and International cuisine, with a tropical ambiance. Wherein,for music lovers you can enjoy our live entertainment and sunset session with signature cocktails at 69 Tequila Bar. Grand Istana Rama Hotel features four Meeting Rooms that can cater for up to 30 - 250 attendees for conferences, gatherings, meetings, and weddings. Grand Istana Rama Hotel Kuta Bali as the endlessly happening hotel offers you the long lasting memories during your holiday in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Istana Rama Kuta
Grand Istana Rama Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing