We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just terrible!”
Review of The Bene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bene Hotel
Ranked #24 of 253 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“just terrible!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Place to be avoided: incompetent, rude management. Quite careless when it comes to safety (they are using some toxic chemicals designed for outside use for anti-insect fuming indoors). The facility quite average. Quite difficult to walk when it's raining, and taxis don't wont to drive there due to the road quality.

Room Tip: Don't get lured to rent a suite - regardless of their names suggesting something fancy ("ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikki973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumariana M, Manager at The Bene Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear mikki973,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your review again.

As per our previous response to your wife (Kasia_Kl) below, we do understand your disappointment and have taken some attempt to overcome the issue proportionally. We apologize for our shortfall and not being able to provide an excellent experience for your family.

Thank you again for your continuous feedback that help us improve our service and look forward to serving you better.


Your Sincerely

Made Sumariana
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    279
    98
    16
    10
See reviews for
155
266
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Well, I've travelled some of the world and stayed in various hotels and guest houses but this place was the worst holiday experience ever.

It all began pretty badly. At first, the hotel could not process the online payment through our credit cards - the only hotel with such issues out of seven we booked at the same time in Indonesia. After numerous attempts and tens of emails exchanged with the front desk the payment was processed and and we - unfortunately - secured our stay at the Bene.

When we arrived we discovered that our family suite, while quite spacious, had no windows. Never in my life had I stayed in room without windows - it felt like a cellar. They did not disclose this quite important accommodation fact to the prospective guests. Being very disappointed, the next day we moved to two individual deluxe rooms - they did not have the connecting option, so our 10 year old daughter had to stay on her own, with one of us spending each night with her. Not really what we had on mind when we booked the family suite.

Breakfasts were very average, tables usually dirty, service slow and selection of food and bevarages very mediocre. Once when I asked for milk I heard that they ran out of it and will have some in an hour (there was a convenience store just around the corner!). Banana pancakes were always raw inside - I have no idea how they were able to make a pancake fully fried on the outside and fully raw on the inside.

Now let me tell you about an experience that makes this hotel to be avoided at all costs. On a Christmas Eve, just when we were getting prepared for our family dinner out, our rooms filled with a thick cloud of burning smoke that made us immediately start to choke. We ran out of the rooms for our dear life, sure that the hotel was on fire. What later transpired was that the hotel staff was eradicating mosquitoes in the basement and - whether on purpose or through the faulty ventilation system - all the toxic fog got to the guest rooms. Apparently not all rooms were equally affected (it had something to do with their proximity to the basement).

So, we were there on a Christmas Eve night, chocking, coughing and crying, with the dense burning fog filling our rooms and contaminating our clothes and personal belongings. We called the police and spent several hours trying to determine what the substance was. The management of the hotel never offered apology, they were extremely rude and dismissive, yelling at us when we tried to investigate what was the substance we were exposed to (finally they did disclose it when ordered by the police but it turned out they had no permit to use it, not to mention use it indoors in quantities that could kill the horse).

Needless to say, we spent the rest of our Christmas Eve going through our stuff (cleaning, washing and throwing away the most personal items like toothbrushes or cases for contact lenses), moving to another room (after having it inspected) and seeing a medical doctor who gave us shots and medicines.

The next day when we demanded a refund of costs for this horrible stay and all the personal items damaged the management called in the security guards to escort us out of the building, including our all-itchy, scared daughter. That was the stay at the Bene. Staying at this place is a hazard to one's health.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kasia_Kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumariana M, Manager at The Bene Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Kasia_KI

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is indeed regretful to learn that we were not able to live up to your expectations and would like to once again, apologize for the disappointment you had.

Our core business is depending on our guest. We take any guest feedback seriously and will do our best to improve our products and services. Thus, please kindly allow us to clarify again regarding this case as follows.

Credit cards:
We are sorry that you experiencing this unpleasant first contact with our hotel regarding your payment. Since all of your 3 cards status on our bank’s EDC machines was either ‘rejected’ and or ‘referral’ for required booking amount, we have communicated clearly the issue with you and offered you an alternative payment method in timely manner (based on our correspondence history record).

Room assignment:
We do apologize if you were not happy with the Family room you booked and we will improve the product information for clarity. For the immediate room change request, unfortunately we have no more connecting room available at that time due to our full occupancy during Christmas season.

Breakfast:
Thank you for your comments on our breakfast presentation. We take this feedback to improve our food products further.

Mosquitoes fogging:
Since we are in tropical country with high risk of dengue fever, we are regularly carrying out the fogging procedure for our entire outdoor corridors and basement area at every once a week, exclude the guest rooms. Before commencing to fog, we always ensure all guests are well-informed through in-room fogging information letter and calling each occupied rooms. The procedure also has been clearly mentioned in our In-room Guest Information book. Regarding the substance used for the fogging is a harmless ingredient to human, and it is under Indonesian Health Ministry recommendation.

In this case, a very light smoke of the fogging does went up to one side of corridor through the ventilation. It is not a thick fog by our observation and later reconstruction. We really understand that you might be uncomfortable to the unfamiliar smell of the substance, but the doctor had ensured that there is nothing to worry about. In spite of the fact that the doctor who examined you and your family found that all of you were not poisoned and irritated as worried, and then he only gave you vitamins. Then, by your request and as a gesture of our goodwill, we also have washed all your clothes for free, while your family enjoyed the Christmas Eve dinner at our Restaurant.

Honestly, we were never got any such negative complaint about mosquito fogging from other guests since the very beginning of our hotel operation.

We had made many apologies for this and had offered you a reasonable compensation for your discomfort. However, it was very regretful that since the beginning of our contact and communication in this matter, both of you were complained furiously and extremely rude to our staffs and managers, and kept yelling at us in harsh words in front of our other guests with no interest to our explanations. On you demand, we have called the police for this situation and we have told them the same explanation as a matter of fact. On that same time, we were also have made an appointment with a doctor as per your request to clarify this matter. Those series of events may go nicer and resulted in better understanding if it were communicated in a cool-headed manner. In the end, as it should, there was no health issues confirmed by the doctor and the case was officially closed by the police with no sentence issued for any party.

The next day on your check-out date, we have made another doctor appointment as per your request which you failed to attend. As our continuous gesture of goodwill, we have no problem for you to keep the room until 6 pm free of charge (instead of 12 noon); however, in the increasingly intolerant manner, this time you additionally demanded refund for your entire stay plus additional cash money in local currency equal to 500 Euros for you to buy replacement to your personal items. Since you were continuously aggressive in threatening our management from the beginning, extremely uncooperative and disturbing our other guests (provocatively knocking other guest rooms to get some support), this time we regretfully obliged to call the security guards to escort you out of our property immediately.

Please be assured that our hospitality team is genuinely committed to correcting our shortcomings professionally and reasonably, and again, our core business is depending on our guest and we take any guest feedback seriously and will do our best to improve our products and services.

Best regards,
Made Sumariana
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed Jan 10-17, husband & two teenagers 13 & 15 & myself for a lovely 7 day family holiday. Wow always a bit nervous booking hotels with not many reviews or recommendations from friends but are we glad that we found this gem. Exactly as the photos on Tripadvisor, great location, secluded & very quiet yet close enough to whatever you want in Kuta. Very close to Beach Walk Shopping complex always handy when you need a quick coffee fix @ Starbucks or if you want to enjoy a beautiful meal at one of the lovely restaurants on offer. Majority of attractions within walking distance which was an added bonus.
Pool access rooms are the must as you walk out of your room & dive straight into the beautiful clean pool. Room service excellent very well priced, quality of food superb, heaps to choose from & always delivered with a huge smile. Breakfast is limited but hey it's all there ..... Egg station, pastries, pancakes, Asian dishes, fruit cereal, juice & bread for toasting what more does one really need. To say the hotel is clean is an understatement.... It was spotless & there were always staff attending to the pool area & surrounding areas. Thank you from all of us for a truly wonderful stay & experience ...

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank crazytraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumariana M, Manager at The Bene Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear crazytraveller68,

Thank you for your valuable to write a review of your recent stay with us, and share it with others. We are delighted knowing that you and the family were enjoying the experiences of staying at The Bene, as well as your appreciation to our room facilities, swimmimg pool, room service and our breakfast. We will keep maintaining the level of quality, whilst also seeking for varities as one way to improve our products and services. Our high motivated staff is ready to serve the guests in Balinese hospitality.

Thank you for rating us five stars excellent and we are looking opportunity to welcome you back at The Bene and deliver another wonderful experience for you and family.

Your Sincerely


Made Sumariana
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed for 4nights over Xmas and had a superb stay.
The hotel is in a great location 5min walk from the nicer and quieter beach walk and 5min in the other direction to the busier bars and clubs.
The room was always clean and had a lovely bathroom with a pool view.
It was our first time in Bali so didn't have a luke about where to go or what to do but the hotel staff were very useful in helping us make reservations and booking taxis ect. The breakfast was adequate... Fruit, eggs and toast and the dinner menu had plenty of variety.
All in all we had a great stay and would be sure to stay here again if visiting kuta

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chhatsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumariana M, Manager at The Bene Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear chhatssar,

We are very greatfull knowing that you have a superb stay with us at The Bene, thank you for writing a review about it and sharing it with others. Its a wonderful feelings knowing your acknowledgement of our staff did a good job to serve and assist you during your stay.We will keep maintain our high level of service and hospitality towards our valuable guests. Hopely it gives you a great impressions about The Bene and about Bali overall.

The location of our hotel indeed in quiet section of the busy Kuta area, 5 minutes walk to the famous Kuta Beach, and also 5 minutes walk to Legian street at the other side.

Once again thank you for choosing The Bene for your first visit to Bali and we are looking forward fo another opprtunity to welcome you back at the nearest future


Your sincerely

Made Sumariana
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 Nights with 2 friends ages 20-25 Room was cleaned every day even when we didn't get up till 1pm, breakfast was standard- nothing special, had an egg station which was good. Room service was quick however food was only average.
Only real issue we had was it's not the easiest place to find and not all taxi drivers know where it is located, 12-17 minute walk from nightclubs so good luck taking a girl home! Staff friendly and helpful if needed. Overall good experience. Very quiet!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Str8rippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumariana M, Manager at The Bene Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Str8rippin

Thank you for writing at review of your recent stay at The Bene and share it with us. We are glad to hear that overall you have a good experience staying with us. Also thank you for your constructive comments for our breakfast and food at room service, as a point to improve from our service.

As a property that just opened its door since last July 2013, recently not all taxi driver familiar with our location, but if mentioned Benesari Lane it will be easier to find. Thank you, its part of our homeworks to have The Bene easier to find.

Once again thank you very much, and we are looking forward to have oppotunity to deliver you another good experience in the nearest future.


Your Sincerely


Made Sumariana
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights and everything was good. Breakfast not too big but enough. Staff was very friendly and although we didn't make it on time to Check out - it was ok for them!
They also picked up our laundry, although it wasn't their laundry we used, that was a good service.

For couple it was wonderful and peaceful stay, thank you!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumariana M, Manager at The Bene Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Jessica M,

Thank you for sharing wonderful review following recent stay and we are very greatfull knowing that you thoroughly enjoy your stay at The Bene

We also appreciated very much to acknowledge our staff has left good impression on you with their friendliness and hospitality and we will share it to all of them and it would definitely encourage them to keep providing an excellent services for all the time.

It would be our great honor for your recommendation with others and we are looking forward to welcoming and delighting you again with an excellent experience on your next stay with us.


Your Sincerely

Made Sumariana
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Don't use Google maps when looking for this Hotel, as search result will lead you into a tiny dead end street 3 streets south of Jalan Benesari. Once found it turns out the hotel is conveniently and quietly located between busy Jalan Legian and the beach road Jalan Pantai Kuta. Most rooms are facing the pool and have a balcony, ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool. Very friendly and helpful staff in the house and good security all around. Breakfast is good with a wide variety. The restaurant is an open area facing the pool. Free WiFi. Beware of 3 money changing booths on Jalan Benesari who are offering allegedly higher rates than average. They do card players tricks when counting down the money. Read other reviews concerning money changing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have direct pool access, rooms on floors 3 and 4 are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latvianinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumariana M, Manager at The Bene Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear latvianinexile,

Thank for writing a review on your recent stay with us at The Bene. We are glad to know that you were enjoying your stay overall, also your aconwledgement on our staff friendliness, and hospitality provided. Thank you for the five stars rating.

We are looking forward to serve you again in the nearest future.

Regards


Made Sumariana
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
#13 of 253 in Kuta
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali Kuta
0.2 mi away
Citadines Kuta Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harper Kuta
Harper Kuta
#26 of 253 in Kuta
1,023 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#6 of 253 in Kuta
769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#21 of 253 in Kuta
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bene Hotel

Property: The Bene Hotel
Address: Jalan Benesari, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bene Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new 4-star hotel, The Bene Hotel Kuta is located in a secluded and quiet area of central Kuta while it’s only 5 minutes walking distance to the long stretch of Kuta beach, exclusive Beachwalk shopping and entertainment center, trendy street restaurants and cafes, nightlife venues, and Kuta’s art markets. With its own casual dining restaurant, roof top café and bar with sea view, and comfortable rooms and suites, each guest will have a truly remarkable Bali experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bene Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing