We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont buy as soon as you arrive”

Kuta Shopping Street
Ranked #20 of 74 Shopping in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kirrawee, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Dont buy as soon as you arrive”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Shop around & hunt for the best prices. They will drop prices everywhere to beat the next shop.
We purchased Large Handbags for $15 AUD. Purses $5 / XL Everlast Singlets $3 / NBA Singlets $8. Summer Dresses $4. The bargains are everywhere & play off on each price you are quoted. Shops are selling the same products every street you walk.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank xxPeteandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    19
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Be aware of Robbery!! Street crimes!!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A true story ; robbed recently in Bali

March, a few days ago, I was walking down the street around Kuta square, suddenly, a motorbike coming from behind with two men on it, the one on the back robed my bag so fast, they both with helmets, but I could see some parts of his hair, he got a little bit long hair and a bit wavy  that I can't forget!
They got my bag, with iphone 5 inside, cash money, cards, documents, quite a lot ( sadly ). 

Tried to find the policemen around, ran around in some places nearby, but couldn't find any, no police around. Desperately...found a taxi driver who accompanied us to the police station....

Went there, made a report, signed this and that, it was a slow respond anyway. I told them, maybe something fell down from my bag while the robber taking my bag, accompanied us there, we sadly found nothing valuable fell down.

Anyway, there was no fast respond and fast reaction from the police, in my opinion they could have found the guilty if they wanted, as I'm very sure the criminals are always same persons, a big group, organized criminal, mafia which rules Bali.

All I could say, Bali is no longer safe, you can't walk down the street alone during nights, as a lot of evil eyes watching you...and may attack you as well.
There were tourists robbed and murdered.

There are many points in Bali need attention of the policemen, when they robed my bag, there was no police around.

Writing this, hopefully I can help to warn next tourist coming to Bali, just be very careful especially during the night.

Bali is rich of nature, it has such beautiful places to visit, so the people and the police there are supposed to guarantee the security of tourists staying there. Security is a fundamental, otherwise sooner or later it will ruin the economy of the city, less security there will be less tourists....

A tourist like me, coming to Bali for holiday, relaxing, enjoying the nature, some fun, not to be a victim of robbery! 

It is really a pity that a lovely island like Bali has a huge numbers of criminality...it defenitely ruins the island....and if it is always still going on, it is defenitely not good at all for Bali.

I often read that Bali is a paradise...
But knowing the crimanility keeps happening a lot in Bali, Behind the paradise hidden a hell!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank Heny_Animal_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect Bali shopping itinerary - based on experience”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This review is based on my recent experience with shopping in Bali, primarily for household ornaments and clothing. He review also assumes that you will be staying the Kuta-Seminyak area or in Nusa Dua.

The first place that you should visit is Krisna which is a chain if department stores selling household items, paintings, clothing and snacks. This is the best place to purchase fridge magnets and the like in bulk.

Next on the list Matahari Galleria located in Kuta. Prices are higher than Krisna, but you will find mire premium items here like wood carvings, good quality 'I love Bali' T-shirts, puppets etc. Prices are fixed here but very reasonable, considering how easily you could be ripped off elsewhere.

The next place to go would be Centro located on the top floor in Discovery Mall. Prices are higher than Matahari, but this has a very good selection and is a good place to shop for leftover items on your list.

Kuta has a few small shops to look around selling clothing, paintings and artifacts. Look around and do not pay anything more than 40% quoted initially.

For Batik handbags and clothing I would recommend Batik Keris in Discovery mall. There's a sign outside saying upto 50% discount but that is misleading really. However, this place is reasonably priced for the quality of items on display.
Not the best place to buy wooden items etc.

On the road to Ubud there were a workshops where your guide may take you for presumably 'high quality' wood work. While the quality on display in these locations may be better, the fact remains that these are wooden items after all and gold, silver or brass. Wood breaks and deteriorates. Prices quoted have been int he range of USD 2000. Justification is that some items are done by master craftsmen, which takes several weeks, maybe even 6 months, a claim which I've found to be bogus. I've come across people knocking ups tuff by the roadside of comparable quality in quick time.....and let's face it, manpower is not the most expensive in Indonesia.
One may pay higher prices for sandalwood which is more expensive generally.

Monkey forest road in Ubud and Ubud market are good to shop for leftover art items, but considering the price of travellingg down to Ubud, you are better off paying slightly higher prices in Kuta.

For designer clothing head down to Seminyak square and Seminyak flea market. After that stroll down Seminyak Street and you will find all the high quality clothing you desire.

If this review has been helpful please like it so that more people benefit from this guide.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
20 Thank joyviyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sungai Petani, Kedah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great shopping place”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Lots of shops, can get souvenirs, painting, salong on difference prices. Can walk and shop the whole night. I bought few salung for 30000 rupiah each in the morning when shops just started to open aroind 9am, first customer special price, you can bargain the price till they agree.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeYen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuta Shopping Street also viewed

 

Been to Kuta Shopping Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing