We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Villas, Friendly Staff”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Kuta, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
smags2015
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Firstly I wanted to write this review as I am a person who likes to read other peoples reviews and decide on places I would like to stay and what they are like, and it is nice to know what you can expect. Now where to start - This was a family holiday, there were 7 in total all adults and our elderly father. Firstly we were booked when the volcanic ash cloud was delaying flights. I asked if we could extend our time if we were delayed. They would not budge on this at all. Said we would have to pay extra on top of what we already paid if we needed more time. Due to this being a natural disaster I would think people would be a bit more flexible as it was no ones fault and not a cancellation on our part but just an extension if we were delayed but no they would not budge and numerous emails later I got know where. But we were lucky enough to arrive and depart okay so this wasn't a problem. When we arrived at the villa we were suppose to have drinks available, tea, coffee , juice, soft drinks and biscuits which were complimentary. These were not there and we had also ordered and paid for beer that was there but this was hot in the fridge. I had to ask twice about the other items and was told they would have to find out.They eventually came I think the next day or so. Air conditioners were not working in two rooms. One not at all and the other was just okay so we let it be. One was fixed two days later and the other we didn't bother as it was tolerable, but it stopped working when we only had two days to go before we went home so didn't bother getting it fixed.
Next the pump stopped working, numerous times we had no water. Had to call again over the next few days to find out what was wrong . They then had to change the pump which took quite some time. At this stage we were ringing everyday with problems. And starting to get frustrated.
One bedroom up stairs the water leaks somewhere from the bath. I slipped on the floor and cracked my knee.
Next the beds : These mattresses really need to be thrown in the rubbish. Upstairs bedroom the mattress was so thread bare it stuck in our back. When we looked there was no padding on the mattress at all with the threads just holding together and you could see the springs. We turned it over which was like new on the other side so made it a bit better .
Then the towels: Inside towels are like rags. Need to be replaced. Maybe a towel for dishes would be a good idea as we could not wash or dry dishes so had to leave for house keeping which was not what we wanted to do. Pool towels were much better. Sheets are just okay, not the cleanest but okay.
The pool is lovely, a good size. The gardens are not much but could be really lovely if kept a bit better. Some grass and plants around the pool / Bali hut area would be nice. The villa itself is really in need of a major makeover. It is really run down and has the potential to be absolutely amazing. If it had some tender loving care it would look great. But my review is on what I have experienced and seen.
Breakfast that is complimentary is okay. Its enough but if you want extra toast its 10,000 rupiah for a slice. So might be better to get your own bread.
We did have the BBQ dinner one night. Which is $20 AUD per person. That was the best meal we had. So much food you could not eat it all. I would recommend this.
The staff were really great. They do a great job.
Last would be our departure: We had booked transfers to the airport. We had gone to the office in the afternoon to let them know what time we wanted to be picked up as we needed two cars. After 15 mins we had to ring to find out where our transfers where. They came about 5-10mins later.
Anyway, I have sent emails to the office about the disappointment in the villa and to be honest I don't think they really care. So they will justify anything that is said. And it doesn't really get you anywhere.
But I just wanted to let other readers who do like to know about a villa and what they can expect.
Don't expect a great villa. It is cheaper if there are a few people staying there. Its just standard. But has the potential to be better. Sometimes thats what people want. Personally I wouldn't stay there again, this was my first time. But I think I would stay at a hotel next time. If the upkeep of the villa was better and not so run down my outlook would be different. But there were just too many problems to actually enjoy it and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool area
Liked least: Bedding
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2015
Thank you again Sandra for your feedback and as promised we have passed your emails onto the owner of the villa who does care what his guests think of the villa and will check out all of your concerns and implement improvements where necessary. All previous guests have loved staying in this villa (except one group who posted 2 bad reviews which you can read our reply on those reviews) and since then everyone has been very happy staying there. Your concerns were out of the ordinary and are being looked at to confirm and improve where necessary. We know you were disappointed regarding the ash cloud but the villa was already booked after your stay and it was impossible to extend your stay. We could have searched for another villa for you but no villas are free of charge, the same as hotels, there are no hotels that are free of charge. Luckily your arrived and departed on time. Please be assured that anything you have mentioned will be addressed immediately, no previous guests have had any problems so it is quite a shock to us. Hopefully you enjoyed your holiday in Bali.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Villas, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Four of us stayed here for a week, the villa was amazing and very well priced...
The staff were friendly and daily brekky was well above par...
Location is away from the noise but still within walking distance of main areas
Would recommend staying here again...

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnieVand...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING, BRILLIANT More than expected. Highly recommended A+++++++”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Easy to find and thought we were at a hotel at first because it was so big and luxurious. The 5 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms were beyond our expectations and comfort...and an extra toilet too. Included in the price was an american breakfast. They came every morning at a time that we chose and cooked what we wanted and how we wanted. They even did the dishes after. We had a free 30 minute massage each which was brilliant. Two ladies came to the villa and gave us the massages and as an added extra we had pedicures and manicures for under $10 australian.....pure bliss. There is not one thing that we can say bad about the place or the people. Completely worth the small price and would 100% stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole lot - massive rooms, pool, chef...wow
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahwilm...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place for large family”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The Villa is very big and spacious and clean. The pool is quite big. We had a bbq dinner cooked for us by the chef which was great and you get loads of food. The breakfast was average and you have to pay extra for anything more then standard breakfast. They cooks did come late on serveral occasions which isn't good when you have plans and serveral times cooked the wrong food and what we hadn't ordered. One of the toilets became blocked more then once and smelt. The location isn't the best and taxis found it very hard to find when you gave them the address some even saying no as they didn't know where it was.The office staff were very nice and helpful and its a quiet location. one suggestion is for the villa to have a clock as there is none at all to tell time unless you use your phone or watch.Overall a glood place to stay especially if in a large group or family, I would use it again and recommend it just think a few small things changed could improve it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us Sarah and glad you had a great holiday in Bali.

We do apologise for the cooks for breakfast and have discussed your comments with them. They are usually pretty good so I am not sure what happened this time but thank you for letting us know.

The heavy rain didn't help with the toilet and we do apologise for this and it has now had a major service.

Thank you once again for your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKPerth
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Not what it looks like”
Reviewed December 12, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

After searching endlessly for accomodation that could suit 2 families we came across the excellent reviews and beautiful photos of the Villa Mica located within the complex of Kuta Royal.
How surprised we were to find that all was not what it seemed to be.
Some positives were:
Daily cooked breakfast with a variety of choices. The cook is always flexible with times as we had some early and late starts to the day depending on what we had planned. 50,000 rupiah for fresh fruit platter was good value. They cook and clean up after everyone has finished.
BBQ dinner was great with once again a huge varity, great value at AUD$20 each with plenty of food left over.
Set out was ideal for extended family with bedrooms separated from each other to give others their own space.
But that where it ends for me.

With every positive though there are a few more negatives:
I think the whole place needs a decent clean out of drab curtains, out dated kitchen and squeaky beds.
Beds are not that comfortable as mattresses are quite thin which make sleeping very difficult.
All bedrooms are fitted with sheer curtains and makes sleeping in nearly impossible. They should at least fit some blackouts so not to let the sun shine in early.
One bathroom had a crack in bath, but covered up by rubber mats and it leaked after 1 shower and flooded the floor. Needless to say that shower was not used after night 1. Although the building manager did grout the crack it was only a bandaid solution. It cracked again after 1 use.
A couple of the toilets broke during our stay and one was unable to be fixed for the last four days.
All the wet areas have a musty smell and is not pleasant to be in.
The outside bedroom leaks when there is heavy rain as the doorway and window are not protected. The manager applied a weather strip and silicone but it fell off after 1 day due to the heat.
Towels and linen need to be thrown out and replaced with clean and fresh new ones. Even though the linen gets changed every 3 days the replacemens do not have that crisp feel about them. The curtains also need a makeover.

In respect to the location, it is a good 15 mins walk into the Main Street of Kuta (Discovery shopping centre). Although located in a quiet complex of villas, it is certainly off the beaten track and not many cab drivers know of it. It can be quite dangerous walking at night into Kuta along the back streets negotiating traffic on the narrow lanes. Cabs are scarce at the front door of the complex and you will get charged a minimum call out fee of 30,000 rupiah if you ring for one.

The pictures and other reviews we researched prior to our stay certainly gave us a false impression to what is actually here.

I believe it should not have been rented out in it's current state.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2014
I am very sorry for your experience and our team have booked in the bath to be fixed. Sometimes maintenance issues arise without intent and we do have someone get them fixed immediately.

The rain in Bali over the past 2 weeks has been horrendous and I know of many other villas that have had major problems with toilets, leaks and luckily only one of ours had this problem during our guests stay. Once again we are very sorry and have had the problem booked in to be addressed immediately.

All of our other guests have loved Villa MICA as you can see from our previous reviews and the value for money with the price we offer it for compared to many other villas.

We take all reviews seriously, all of our positive reviews and the few we get sometimes where someone is not 100% happy.

All of our villas get brand new linen and towels every 6 months and are hygienically cleaned after every use.

Thank you for your stay and thank you for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Villa Mica No No No!”
Reviewed December 12, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Villa Mica No! Would not stay here again! Let's start with the few positives, We were 2 families with 10 people and the 5 bedrooms accommodated us well. Good open dining and living area and 5 bedrooms gives everyone their own space although kitchen small and drab with no sink plug (even after we requested one). Pool area nice but small and doesn't cope with more than a few teenagers jumping in together. Pool maintenance poor and not really sure how safe as we never saw water levels tested. Breakfast was great with chef coming in daily to cook and one night we had in-house BBQ which was excellent food and huge quantities - we couldn't finish it all.
Now for the negatives - this Villa lacks maintenance and is not very clean. Our first night we arrived to stained, grey bath towels and bed sheets whilst probably clean did not feel crisp and clean and even the kitchen curtains were full of food stains.This Villa really needs to gather all it's old linen up and throw it away! One of the main bathrooms downstairs had a big crack in the bath covered over by a mat and by the second day had become unusable and in fact for the rest of the stay. Not good enough the Villa should never of been rented out with a bathroom virtually unusable! We had 2 episodes of toilets blocking up and 1 toilet couldn't be used for the last 4 days. No black-out curtains in any of the bedrooms so as soon as daylight comes light streams in and there is no privacy. Bed mattress not very comfortable and didn't sleep well the entire stay. Also one of the bedrooms got flooded twice with heavy rain. The manager although obliging, attempted to " fix things" which was not very effective and just a token gesture! One last thing this Villa is tucked away and half the taxi drivers don't even know where it is! Not just a 5 minute walk to the main drag more like 10-15 minutes and it was a pain trying to get taxis! Seriously this Villa is in dire need of a good overhaul! This place has the potential to be a nice place to stay but needs a good clean up! Villa Mica No no no!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open dining and lounge and spread out of 5 bedrooms
Liked least: Cleanliness and maintenance
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2014
Hi again,

I have just responded to your other review that you have left and thank you also for this one.

Following is our reply already posted for your previous review.

I am very sorry for your experience and our team have booked in the bath to be fixed. Sometimes maintenance issues arise without intent and we do have someone get them fixed immediately.


The rain in Bali over the past 2 weeks has been horrendous and I know of many other villas that have had major problems with toilets, leaks and luckily only one of ours had this problem during our guests stay. Once again we are very sorry and have had the problem booked in to be addressed immediately.


All of our other guests have loved Villa MICA as you can see from our previous reviews and the value for money with the price we offer it for compared to many other villas.


We take all reviews seriously, all of our positive reviews and the few we get sometimes where someone is not 100% happy.


All of our villas get brand new linen and towels every 6 months and are hygienically cleaned after every use.


Thank you for your stay and thank you for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardy1961
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Staff always ready to help”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

being our 6 time to Bali but first time in a villa we really enjoyed the space, the mobile phone to use is a great idea. I cannot praise the staff enough first the chef very accomadating and the BBQ dinner was amazing so much food. Annu and her beauty staff we now call her friend.she is beautiful and does a great and her job nothing is ever to much last but not least the drivers Foxy and Goose two of the lovliest balinese people we have ever met. Cleaners we did not see much as they came did their job and left most of the time we were not in the villa. the only thing is the bath tubs need a little paint job. The only thing missing is a real coffee in the morning a coffee machine in the villa would top the holiday off nicely

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size and staff
Liked least: distance from main road and good coffee shop early in the morning
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing