We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontana Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fontana Hotel Bali
Ranked #18 of 224 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

World class 5 star hotel. Everything was organized. So clean and good. Its good for relaxing. Its worth every centavo. Thumbs up to the staffs coz they are very polite and courteous. Keep up the good work. I can't wait to be back again and experience its beauty.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    206
    62
    11
    11
See reviews for
129
216
44
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent hotel, a few mins in a cab to center of Kuta. Tranquil and modern. Very helpful staff with excellent spa, a good breakfast, free wifi and prefect rooms.

Happy to recommend and will stay again when in Bali.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Contrary the the previous reviewer, this hotel is in a good location, just far enough from the centre of the Kuta hustle and bustle which is very noisy! You can walk to the heart of Kuta or the beach in about 15 minutes, or pay only $2-$3 for a taxi ride (recommended at night because of dodgy footpaths).
All staff are incredibly friendly, a decent breakfast selection (they can make omelettes, crepes and pancakes infront of you).
The room was small but clean. Comfortable beds. Impressed by the number of TV channels and free mini bar which includes soft drink, juice, nuts and chocolate and is refilled daily.
The pool was clean and enjoyable. Not enough sun lounges however, never was able to get one and we stayed while it was very quiet.
The hotel decor is an eclectic mix of modern and vintage, very interesting! Didn't get to eat dinner at the restaurant, however had cake and coffee at the cafe which was perfect.
Would recommend if you can get a room at a special rate like we did, isn't worth the full standard price. It was perfect for the two of us as it was on the small side and quiet. Wouldn't be suitable for families with kids.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank luckyhelga7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We left and went back to our first hotel after just a few hours.

This is in the middle of NOWHERE. I have no idea why it's so highly rated. I had actually checked just how far from Kuta it was and was told a few minutes.

Unless you have a car you are completely dependent on taxi's, which you have to call, you can't just wander out to the street because it's so remote.

Staff were rude and Manager told me 'it's not MY problem it's yours' when I tried to address issue, and then said I can use his phone but they'll add it to my bill.

Breakfast was in 2 rooms, no-one welcomed us or explained. They had no fruit, no juice and no pastries left and weren't willing to offer anything else even though it was only 9am.

The rooms are TINY. We had a twin and felt like sardines when the luggage came in.

Absolutely shameful. AVOID.

Room Tip: Just go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tooraweena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontanahotelbali, Front Office Manager at Fontana Hotel Bali, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Greetings Tooraweena,

Thank you for your time to share your recent experience with us, we welcome all concern and input from our customer. We understand that most of the tourist coming to Bali looking for leisure and Fontana support both leisure and business activities in Bali, for that Fontana provide accommodation in Kuta Area without having to fight the crowd.

When we search for your recent stay, trust that my staff had provide their best service for our guest, unfortunately our location wasn't suit for your interest. My staff had reconfirm your stay during your arrival, and you were accepted the information. When you met the duty manager in charge, trust that he already informing you that the booking wasn't refundable but yet you were insist to get the refund which we can’t provide without the amendment agreement in written from the Travel agent that you booked. As mentioned in the booking confirmation, the room that you booked were the lowest category in our hotel where the size of the room indeed the smallest one, if you decide to take the suite room it will be twice the superior size.

For the breakfast area, indeed we are prepare in 3 separate areas where we provide a different atmosphere for our guest, non-smoking, smoking and a lounge type. Most of our guest found this setup are very interesting and satisfy with our breakfast setup service, where you may found in the reviews from another guest. Your information about juices are not eligible, due to we are provide 3 different juices every morning where the breakfast is available from 7.00am to 10.30 am.

How did you judge the breakfast when you said you weren’t stayed with us for a night? and in our record you were stayed for 1 night, and how can you mentioned that our breakfast is not good when you were only experience it one time with a feelings of unsatisfied with our locations?

Your direct response and email to me will be more than welcome for discussing your experience as we really would like to ensure satisfaction to our guest. As we did communicate before when I helped you to locate the lost earrings in your previous room.
Please contact me to fom@fontanahotelbali.com.

Best Regards,


Eko Wijana
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My first visit to Bali & staying at Fontana was a great choice. Location is not near the beach so if that's what you're there for, Fontana might not be the place for you. I like being close to the action but not in it. The hotel is just a short taxi ride to everything & the staff are very friendly & do go out of their way to assist you with a big smile. The breakfast spread was very large & full of variety. There were Asian (fried rice, fried noodles, soup, curry & BBQ chicken, egg rolls, vegetables, etc) & western (eggs, toast, fruits, muffins, bagels, sausages, etc) style breakfast choices so I did stuff myself quite a bit before a long day of sightseeing. I personally loved the "create your own omelette & crepe". I didn't have much free time & everyone tells me I have to do a massage in Bali, so decided to do the zen spa treatment at the hotel. It was very relaxing & just what I needed after a long day out. Last appointment is at 9pm so schedule it before you start the day is best if you're interested. I was very impressed with the decor. The open lobby with the bar & lounge feels very welcoming & a great place to hang out. I didn't have time to use the pool but from the look, very clean & surrounded by greens so you feel like your in a secluded area. Hope to test that out next time. Fontana is definite a hotel filled with 5 star amenities but at reasonable price. One more thing, my room had a personal safe which I was able to use & the drinks & food in the refrigerator are all complimentary that the hotel replenish daily. Big plus in my book!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
137 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I was at Fontana for 3 nights and it have a very good breakfast.The staff is friendly and you receive some extra amenities in your room...but the hotel is far from all the things in Kuta or Legian and you need a car ou a taxi for all. The pool and gym close very early ay 07:00 pm(maybe 10:00 pm is a good time to close) and the massage is very very expansive than the similar like you find in Kuta.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jorgeotavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a wonderful experience in this Hotel in Bali (between Kuta and Seminyak area). First of all the location is great. Away from the noisy Kuta but within few minutes taxi ride of Kuta and Seminyak. Staff is very friendly and helpful all the time. Hotel is new and very modern and built in Balinese style. Rooms are big and comfortable with a nice bathroom. Mini-bar (no alcoholic drinks) is included and renewed every day. Pool area not very big but very nice and integrated in the hotel. Breakfast buffet is huge and food is very tasty. At the reception they really take care of all our questions and doubts. You get a discount voucher when checking in for the Spa which is in the top floor of the hotel (I highly recommend doing the 2 hours Massage and hot stones treatment). We felt very comfortable during our stay in the Fontana hotel.

Room Tip: There are one or two rooms per floor without balcony. When doing the reservation ask for one with ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mianroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.2 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#5 of 224 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rhadana Hotel
Rhadana Hotel
#1 of 224 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
2.1 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Terrace At Kuta
0.2 mi away
Atanaya Hotel
Atanaya Hotel
#35 of 224 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Hotel Bali

Property: Fontana Hotel Bali
Address: Jl. Dewi Sri no. 68, Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kuta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#12 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fontana Hotel Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Hotel Bali, a PHM Collection offers an affordable Balinese lifestyle experience in an elegant way. A collaboration masterpiece by environmentalist architect, Popo Danes, and the former Super Potato Tokyo's designer, Nobuyuki Narabayashi, it is uniquely designed to accommodate a modern lifestyle in Bali while maintaining the authentic feel of Balinese nature. Located right at the center of Kuta area, just one block away from Legian area and 20 minutes away from the Ngurah Rai International airport, Fontana Hotel Bali, a PHM Collection gives you an opportunity to experience the true Kuta without having to fight the crowd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fontana Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing