We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stinking hotel with lazy and non speaking English staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of S8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
S8 Hotel
Ranked #112 of 280 Kuta B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stinking hotel with lazy and non speaking English staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days and this was the most horrible hotel in my trip with complete non speaking English staff and really bad smell in the room .
We complained twice about the smell in the rooms with out any result.
There is still a construction next door which is so noisy the whole day. And last but not least the whole building is really badly soundproofed you hear all. Closing doors, steps on the stairs, talking, all...
But the location is really great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fady F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
2
16
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was literally being built around me when I stayed there. For that reason I think it was dirt cheap. Lots of hammering and drilling at crazy hours and there was lots of kinks to work out in the running of the operation, but all in all it was really pretty pleasant, and the location was great.

I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 77james77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed there for 5 night and our experiences was completely different from other guest and it was because most of the guest stay there only one or two nights!
The hotel is under construction so when you arrive you have to cross over concrete, sands waste mound and take care for the other things upper your head! Then you have to be careful whit staircase that is really steep. Finally you will arrive to the room and you will find the bathroom on the centre what it is no full of furniture so if you want brush your teeth you will do it in the kitchen... the bed is the only thing comfortable but if you sleep until 8 am due to workers start to work at this time! And I wouldn´t like forget that when raining the windows has leaks! so your suitcases could be wet in the morning... and if it is not enough the electricity power is gone two or six time in a day!
My advice for guest is choices the Hotel in 6 month when they have everything working properly... and for managers CLOSE THE HOTEL UNTIL FINISH THE CONSTRUCTION!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celeste l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuta hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice cheap place. Staff were friendly enough. No breakfast provided but we knew that booking on agoda. Would go back. Close to bemo corner and to beach 15min walk. ...................... …..…….….……………………….......

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malacca City, Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

first let me start by saying this hotel is absolutely cheap. We only paid rm 57 for one night. Its location is EXCELLENT! it literally is a stone's throw away from central kuta. maybe around a 3 minutes walk out and you are already near Made's Warung(which has nice food). The hotel is a little hard to locate at first since you have to walk inside a small alley to get to it. The staff are very friendly and they also let us have the ground floor room because she noticed i had my mum with me and suggested it would be hard for my mum to climb the terribly steep stairs up to the rooms. So we avoided those stairs that everyone mentions about ;)

However, i must STRESS that i while the room was CLEAN and there was a stove complete with a pan and a fridge and flatscreen TV, the bathroom was just terribly designed. It was one of the most hilarious and humiliating toilet experience ever!! literally, as what everyone has stated, the bathroom is located in the MIDDLE of the room, and the bathroom has no overhead covering. meaning to say, every aroma you let out during your potty business will travel the entire length of the room and "entice" the other occupants. So, err, i say avoid this place if you're on your honeymoon, newly dating or having diarrhoea or something. Me and my mum were just shocked at the concept. Also, always use the shower curtain and the sliding door when you are bathing so water does not flood the rooms. The rooms are very big and spacious though, and it was just really worth the money, even with the toilet fiasco.The staff were great, they let my brother stay with us without extra charges since we were there or just one night. Also, they can call up taxis for you if needed. Oh and another thing, I just came back from my trip hence anyone thinking of staying here during this month and maybe the next should know that the hotel is undergoing some major renovations. Basically they are expanding and construction work can get pretty noisy. It all starts from morning onwards and ends at around 5-6 pm. It can get dusty and the entrance to the hotel will be lined with debris and wood, However, just step aroundcarefully and it really wont be a bother, trust me! But if you are asthmatic and such and cannot take dust, you might want to rethink.
Just across the road from the hotel is a lovely warong, with some of the most friendliest staff. The food is really good especially the duck and prawn kebab. All in all, it was great stay!

Room Tip: try and get the ground floor is you can. You may not have a view but u can avoid the steep steps and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roshwini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We arrived here late at night, there was only one guy around in our entire stay. There was construction going on in front of the hotel so you might wonder if you arrive on the right place.
The staircase was very steep, so be careful when you carry your things.
Room was quite big, though weird design. Small toilet in the middle of the room, with shower exactly right next to the closet. There is LCD TV but it was not working when we stayed there. There was fridge which is great for hot weather, 24 hours minimart just next door.
But the price is great and it's in good location, if you only need a hotel in Kuta just for sleep, go to this place. Oh and no parking area so no good if you are planning to drive by yourself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoldyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Am staying at this hotel right and could not be happier with my choice.Rooms are big, aircon is sufficent, staff are helpful and friendly.The frig is big enough to fit most items.For the money excellent value. Downside is the small hotwater unit that allows about 3 minutes of hot water. 24 hour convenience store next door sells most essentials and dayu 11 restaurant across the road serves good food at cheap prices. All in all, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mahendra
Hotel Mahendra
#192 of 250 in Kuta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
D'Umah Tua
D'Umah Tua
#122 of 280 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ronta Bungalows
Ronta Bungalows
#46 of 201 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kuta Sari House
Kuta Sari House
#153 of 280 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirah Hostel
Mirah Hostel
#34 of 78 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bemo Corner Guest House
Bemo Corner Guest House
#138 of 280 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S8 Hotel

Property: S8 Hotel
Address: Buni Sari Street no. 14 A, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 280 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — S8 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your S8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
S8 Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing