We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i expected more..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mega Resort & Spa
Ranked #126 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed August 21, 2013

i booked grand mega resort and spa for our last few nights in bali as a nice rounding up of our holiday, but am quite dissapointed now after we staied here. It was the most expensive hotel i booked that we staied in in Bali.
The room is nice, has a nice bathroom and comes with a seperate "rain" shower and bathtub from where you can watch tv also. It has a second tv in the bathroom.
For a "big" popular hotel like this they only have 12 pool chairs and we couldnt get one cause people put their towels on them before breakfast, so we ended up stating on the room insted of relaxing in the sun at the pool. The poos itself is very nice and refreshing after sunbathing for a litte. The sun umbrellas give you some shade during the day at the pool.
The towels that we got on the room stink!! They smell very very bad!!! Very dissapointing for a good rated hotel like this. I guess they are just used to much and they smell like they didnt dry properly. We rang the reception every day and aked for new towels, but they are all the same. They brought the towels up straight away though.
The service is very good and the staff is nice, helpful and friendly!!!
When i made the booking i asked for a large bed. We got two single beds pushed together. So we had two matrasses...not very nice cause one of us always had to lay in the middle - uncomfortable!
One day we ordered food to our room from the hotel restaurant - very dissapointing!!! We paied RP 400.000 for only two soups, one pasta dish and a steak. No drinks or desserts! The quality was very bad! The tomato soup tasted like it had dirt or sand in it - very yucky between the theeth! The steak, for what we asked to be cooked very well done, was red inside. We didnt end up eating all of our food and rang the hotel and asked for our money back. They wouldnt even give back half!! Nothing, very dissapointing when i think about that this was the most expensive meal that we had during our stay in Bali. Usually we go out and have fancy drinks too and we only pay for our food (appetiser and main x2) around RP250.000. And thats when we enjoy our food and its delicious!!
Very convenient though is that there is a big shopping centre with restaurants and shops just across the road! Rather go there for dinner - a lot cheaper and enjoyable! Ask for help to cross the big main road though!
All in all, it was an alright experience to stay there...if i decided to come back i would take my own towels and defenately not eat in the hotel for dinner.
Breakfast has a big variety of everything! Very delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 463 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

The location of the hotel makes it an ideal place to travel to any part of Bali. Nice spacious room with a bathtub TV. The toilet floor can get very slippery when wet. Good spread of local plus international cuisine to choose for breakfast. The hotel has a nice shade of purple that gives it a hint of royalty.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AidenKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

the place is really good.rooms are large and bathroom is awesome.there is a tv in bathroom also.u can see it while in bath tub.the floors are slippery though.should be very careful when it is wet.buffet breakfast is normal nothing freat.just 20 mins from airport.kuta is famous for night life.there is mall just infront of hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zubinmahesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A fantastic hotel if you want to be close to the airport. But there is nothing other than a shopping mall opposite within walking distance. You'd need to get a taxi anywhere.

Room was lovely with a 'hidden' bathroom, a bit like it was inside a wardrobe but very spacious at the same time.

Needs more outside seating in the evening, as this was limited and we had to sit inside.

A lovely pool area. Not overly big though.

Expect to pay no more than 60,000 rupiah on a taxi to/from airport.

Breakfast was very nice and had a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, as you get a nice step out on to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The highlight of this hotel is the staff and the extra effort they make to make you feel comfortable.
The restaurant makes vegetarian food. The security people risk their lives to get you across the road to HyperMarket and the mall....
Most places with in a 5$ taxi ride...including Kuta beach....
Not great for just walking around but there are some shops at the Mall Galleria.
A few minor issues with the slippery shower floor and the mirrors got to me.....especially when watching TV on the bed.
Good deals on Expedia so worth it!!
Can't recommend the massage service because of the prices...and much better down the street..Golden Dragon is amazing and half the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wstark33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Grand mega is a very modern style hotel with unique style rooms and fantastic staff.
Breakfast had good selection and cooked to order selection was extremely tasty.
Location is only downside. Located on highway and not close enough to town centre. If you have a room with pool view, you do not notice so much. Location is convenient for airport.Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaumayjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

i stayed there for 3 nights and found it ok. the design of the bathroom quite fancy in some way,. i dont like their full mirror bathroom, just too many mirrors everywhere!
the staff are great, very friendly and nice to guests but the staff who did check us out was unfriendly and seems so sleepy as we checked out.
for overall i couldnt say its a 4* one, but 3 + stars hotel would rather better.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank novisissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
1.6 mi away
H Sovereign Bali
H Sovereign Bali
#46 of 251 in Kuta
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Bali Kuta Circle
0.3 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#6 of 251 in Kuta
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Zuri Kuta Bali
Grand Zuri Kuta Bali
#49 of 251 in Kuta
425 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Ixora Kuta Resort
0.4 mi away
Park Regis Kuta Bali
Park Regis Kuta Bali
#56 of 251 in Kuta
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mega Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mega Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan By Pass Ngurah Rai No. 234 | Simpang Siur, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#80 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $29 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mega Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Mega Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mega Resort & Spa Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing