We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poppies Bali
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masa Inn(Kuta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveler rating
470
102
19
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
102
19
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagessunken bathgarden settingquiet oasislush tropicalbusy kutathe hustle and bustlehidden paradiseevery morningdvd playerbeautiful poolroom servicepool area isairport pickkuta beachlanebali
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 595 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2010

My wife and I recently went to Bali for our honeymoon. We stayed for 2 nights in Poppies. When we first arrived in the airport, we were pleasantly picked up by Poppies. The driver was very friendly and spoke good english. The journey from the airport to Poppies probably took about 40minutes (due to busy and narrow roads in Kuta). My wife and I were surprised at how the driver managed to squeeze through the Poppies alley!

When we arrived, the receptionist was courteous, and had someone to help with our baggages. It was a bit dark around the gardens of Poppies. So we reached our cottage, it had character to it, but definitely a bit tired-looking. But most importantly, it was clean. They had a flat screen TV with excellent air conditioning. Then, we went to Poppies restaurant which was just opposite the hotel. We had rijsttafel which was really nice.

Whilst in Bali, my wife and I had a driver / tour guide (http://www.balidriverguide.com/AGUS---The-Bali-Driver.html ) to bring us around for 2 days. So, naturally, we didn't spend a lot of time in Poppies. It was good enough to get 2 good nights' rest. Having said that, we actually got 2 single beds joined together. But that was expected as Poppies did emailed us much earlier that they don't have double bed for the dates that we're going.

So all in all, Poppies is good value for money (esp when u're not spending most of ur time there) and friendly. I'd recommand to those who's going to Bali on a budget but needs a quite and clean place to stay. After Poppies, my wife and I went to stay in The Elysian Boutique Villa Hotel in Seminyak. -stunning-

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Maybe it’s us or maybe it’s that for the English Bali is a paradise whereas for the Australians it’s more like Spain is to us but this place is at best average, not sure why it gets the rave reviews it does but maybe it is for these reasons.

We went to Bali on honeymoon after our civil partnership, being a female couple in Bali is not a problem at all. We stayed first in Ubud before moving to Kuta and we wished we stayed in Ubud! Again maybe that was the issue for us, coming from paradise on earth to Kuta might have tainted our view on Poppies but we’ll state the facts and you can decide for yourselves.

Nothing wrong with the cottages, well maintained grounds and you could tell it was well looked after. The bed was no good for honeymooners!! It was two beds pushed together but not in a very good way and we could not snuggle at all, very uncomfortable. No mossie net and the repellent they gave was very ineffective, got bitten loads through the night. Not only was there mossie’s but there was a whole host of other creepy crawlies in the sheets when you pulled them back and then there were cockroaches, even after they had apparently cleaned the room!!

Breakfast was delivered to your room but you had to make your choice the night before, did not like that as I might fancy something else in the morning! Very expensive as well, I would recommend the restaurants down the street for breakfast, much cheaper and you can choose that morning what you want!

Room service from the restaurant was absolutely lovely and would recommend a trip to Poppies restaurant, however they do not come to clear your tray away, it was left for hours and hours which was probably cause of the main and last point….

The main issue for me was the HUGE rats by the pool, thankfully we only saw them on the last day but they came up from drains and we saw about 3 of them.

All in all did not like Kuta and did not like Poppies and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank casper2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SambalSamuiBali, Manager at Poppies Bali, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2010

We respectfully point out regarding bed configuration, that by booking Poppies via our website it is a requirement to specify the preferred type of bedding. Most of our rooms have king sized beds, so perhaps none were available.
Regarding mosquitoes, we do provide both brand-name electronic 'heated pad' repellent inside all rooms, and traditional mosquito incense coils in the bathrooms as well as on the terrace. These are replenished daily. We do not provide mosquito nets over beds since all windows have openable mosquito netting as well as glass, and the open-air bathroom has netting above it.
Our roofs are deliberately and popularly made of traditional grass 'alang-alang', so there may be the occasional 'creepy crawlies', despite our regular pest control, but not between the sheets. We are in the tropics, and we are also a garden oasis in the middle of rapidly developed and somewhat unplanned urban Kuta - unfortunately the town's rats do sometimes find our gardens attractive, just as our guests do, despite our efforts to discourage them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Thanks to fellow reviewers, we decided to try poppies cottages in poppies1 for 4 nights of our recent trip & we were'nt disappointed! Even though it is situated in the heart of Kuta, it is a delightful little quiet oasis. The gardens, service, pool, staff, and cottages are magnificent! We will definitely be back, can not fault it in any way :) O, apart from the lonely cocky, who did pull at the heart strings!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank budgetbudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Poppies and loved it. The rooms were great, staff fantastic and great price. Poppies is the perfect place for couples who want quiet romance while still being right in the heart of everything. We loved the location on Poppies 1, everything is right at your front door and when you need a break from it all you can hide in the oasis of Poppies and recharge. You would never know you are right in the middle of Kuta once behind the walls. The pool area is beautiful and the gardens are amazing. We also ate at Poppies restuarant and the food was fantastic. We loved Poppies and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quadeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Absolutely loved poppies cottages in poppies lane 1
Talk about clean this place is almost spotless ,they don't have a restaurant in the grounds but their restaurant is directly across the lane and the food and setting is just beautiful
breakfast can be ordered to eat on the secluded veranda of your cottage
love the pool there is nothing about this place That we didn't like the only disappointing thing was that we had not discovered this little treasure before and next time will stay longer

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sassafraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews