We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great oasis in Kuta”
Review of Poppies Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poppies Bali
Ranked #1 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights - absolutely beautiful grounds and amazing pool. A true oasis from the bustle of Kuta - we loved swimming in the pool, so beautiful. Breakfast was only OK and a little pricey for us more budget minded travelers. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 582 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

The reviews about Poppies is absolutely accurate - it is a peaceful paradise with beautiful gardens and pool, clean rooms in traditional Balinese style, really friendly staff and great food...but hey there are heaps of places just like this all across Bali. The thing that sets Poppies above all others is that is it has been providing this kind of service for years, it is part of Bali's history. By choosing to stay here you are making a decision to respect and become part of the Poppies story. A couple of hints: book early, order and enjoy breakfast from Poppies and ask for a cottages towards the back (they are super private and quiet).

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage towards the back of Poppies they are very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Behind the wall is a beautiful garden with around 30 hatched roof cottages and wonderful
dedicated staff. A beautiful pool surrounded with flowers and plants. we loved it.
The resort is very handy to many nice eating places in poppies one lane and
20 mins walk up the main street to Mumma's German restaurant where you will get a great meal as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylb882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had a package which included airport transfers, Riijstafell dinner, breakfast etc and were very happy with it. The cottage was very pleasant in a Balinese style and they helpfully printed off the boarding pass for our next sector. It's amazing to find such a quiet place in Kuta and a relief from being woken by mosques after two weeks in Java.

The only downside for us was the vehicle access. Poppies Lane is very very narrow and, while it's busiest in one direction, it is also used the other way.

My wife had visited Poppies in its first week of operation (back in January 1973) but never stayed there so this was a special stay for her. The library is very good so it's a good place to swap (or donate) books.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amp-qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We have stayed many times at poppies and it continues to blow us away with the beauty and serenity of its gardens.
The staff a just lovely..so friendly and attentive. All are wonderful. It is sort of place where even the gardeners seem to go out of their way to say hello and give you a million dollar smile. The cottages are wonderful with thatched roofs exposed ceilings, open bathroom and shower.
Poppies is our favourite and remains so.

Room Tip: All are great. 12 gives you your own private access to the pool, 18 is the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldenroadpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Just enjoyed a lovely relaxing stay at poppies. You would never believe that such a quiet oasis could exist amongst the busy streets of kuta. Located opposite poppies restruant on poppies lane you enter via large wooden gates into a different world from which you have just left. Greenery abounds with fish ponds, the resident cat and dog are there for you to pat whilst you miss the one you left at home. If you don't like dogs or cats don't worry they leave you alone unless you approach them.

With about 21 bungalows in the complex, no matter which one you stay in you are never far from the pool. The pool is the loveliest I have seen in all my years of coming to bali, large "rocks" surround it, and if you go underwater you'll see they extend to the bottom of the pool. A beautiful garden also surrounds the pool, with dragonflies and butterflies and birds flitting about.

Located near the pool area is a library room from which you can borrow and swap books, if you do stay over here bring some books you don't want and leave them there, uas they can always do with more. Also in the room are 2 computers linked to the internet which guests are free to use.

The rooms are spacious for 2 people, 3 can fit but you loose the breakfast table and internal eating nook. As you will probably eat outside on your verandah (which has its own little garden and courtyard screening you from other guests that walk by) it's not that much of a loss.

The bathroom is absolutely gorgeous with a sunken bath, pebbles and a statue area.

There is no restruant on site but poppies restruant is across the lane and room service meals and breakfast is brought from there. Breakfast is not included in the price but you order what you want from the menu. I love the fruit salad with muesli and yogurt, after having it years ago I actually started eating muesli at home after never trying it before! The fruit drinks are yummy and pure juice not watered down, I can recommend the watermelon juice and the mango juice.

The price for the rooms is about $100aus which is very reasonable. There is tv and dvdplayer and bar fridge (with nothing in it). You can access wifi internet in your room. Staff are lovely and rooms, grounds and pool are very clean.

In saying all the above poppies is an older style accommodation so don't expect flash western standards. The internet is bali slow, the air conditioning when my sister stayed a couple of weeks ago didn't work well, also a couple of times staying there the fridge worked on and off. The lane is busy with motorbikes, just be aware of them, stick to one side of the road and of course watch your bag.

As it it a very tight squeeze in lane near hotel we only use poppies staff to start and finish our stay with our suitcases, airport pickup is free with room. To get a taxi during stay its a very short walk to main road to flag one down.

Water pressure in the shower is not the best but you can adjust spray to get a harder stream of water.

We use to stay 1 night at poppies as it was not too far from airport as a stop off point of our bali holidays, but these days staying there is an essential part of the bali experience and this time it was a 4 night stay.

Poppies is also a good place to stay if you have trouble with lots of steps. There are a few steps but it is mostly flat. Quite a few older people stay there.

Room Tip: I have stayed in quite a few of the rooms and they are all good. My mum finds the rooms near the lan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Poppies Cottages are set in the most beautiful tropical gardens behind a stone wall in Poppies Gang. When you are there you can forget the chaos and madness outside.
The cottages are a little dark inside, but spacious. There is a full media system inside the wardrobe so you can test your newly purchased DVDs on the TV! Best of all is the fabulous outdoor bathroom with sunken shower/bath - just gorgeous.
There is a generous size porch out front and every morning they deliver bananas and hot tea.
The pool area is WONDERFUL- tropical, secluded and dripping in bouganvillea flowers.
The staff, from pool bar servers to gardeners, were all friendly.
The only problem with Poppies Cottages is the hassle outside. We were so sick & tired of traipsing up & down the lane to the beach and shops, dodging motorbikes, cars and drunken tourists. Unfortunately, over the years I think the Kuta area has become over-developed and lost its charm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Amnaya Resort Kuta
Amnaya Resort Kuta
#2 of 251 in Kuta
802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#6 of 251 in Kuta
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
5,855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Bali

Address: Poppies Lane 1 / 19 | Jalan Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range: $105 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppies Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After nearly four decades Poppies is still being discovered by those wishing to escape the glitz and glamour of grandiose hotels while expecting comfortable clean surroundings, friendly service, and Balinese charm. Spacious individual thatched cottages filled with collectors' antiques, Indonesian fabrics and a host of creature comforts nestle in beautifully kept gardens with ponds, waterfalls, towering coconut palms, and a stunning swimming pool built among rocks and sunbathing terraces, overhung with riotous bougainvillea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Poppies Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Bali Hotel Kuta
Poppies Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing