We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommended”
Review of Poppies Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poppies Bali
Ranked #1 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended”
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We spent 2 weeks travelling Indonesia this summer. After booking to go to Poppies before we left the UK, many friends tried to persuade us not to visit Kuta due to its tacky reputation. However, we decided to stick to plan and go anyway and very glad we did. Poppies cottages are very relaxing, hidden away from the busy town, yet still managing to be central. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There are not too many cottages so it always fairly quiet. One day we went on a Poppies tour around the island. This enabled us to see so much more and gained much knowledge from our driver who was very hospitable. Would definitely recommend staying here and taking a day doing one of the many tours offered.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank anon1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    97
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
95
276
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed at Poppies for one night. The hotel is made up of about 20 cottages which are very private from one another. It is a quiet oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta. The room was very clean and had a lovely semi outdoor bathroom that was big and spacious and covered over to protect from insects. The cottage has everything you need from a T.V to a DVD player and stereo!

The pool area is very nice and you get free pool towels. There is a little jacuzzi which is good for a dip to cool you down.

We ordered room service breakfast which was cheap, good and quick. The Poppies restuarant is just across the street and serves delicious food in very pretty surroundings. It was the busiest and nicest place we found in Kuta.

A word of warning - Poppies is located in a "gang" which is not a proper road, which means a taxi can only take you so far and you will have to carry your luggage a short way. I am sure the friendly staff would help you though!

All in all an excellent stay.

  • Liked — Excellent Value
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PipkinsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasoncomport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

After reading the reviews for Poppies Bali, I was very excited, especially as we knew from word of mouth to book at least 7 months in advance to get a cottage in the high season (we went in the summer of 2008).

Due to flight maintance we arrived in Bali 4 hours later than we should had, and were worried that the driver to pick us up from the airport may have left. We were wrong! He happily greeted us and didnt seem disgruntled at having to wait so long extra! We took the 10 minute ride along the treachourous roads in Bali, with him explaining where things were, what was going on ecetera. We then entered a small lane and went into the hotel eventually (this lane was TINY the driver was excellent at manouvering!). Anyway as soon as we came in the bellboy gathered our luggage and we checked in, (got cottage number 19 and 21 as there were four of us).

The rooms were more than adequete, providing a refrigirator, LCD TV, Stereo, Ipod connector, safe and plenty of storage space. They were clean and very spacious, not to mention beautifully decorated. We took showers and cleaned up in one of the most exotic bathrooms that i have ever been in. There was an open ceiling, (with gauze to keep out insects and birds etc) which had a kind of small garden inside. There was a sunken bathtub, and even though we werent expecting shampoo etc as the price is very low it is included.

The beds are comfortable, not too firm and not too soft. Some rooms have actual duvet covers which i find extremley rare in hotels nowadays, but most have the norm of a blanket and a brown thingy (like another warm blanket) and another blanket. Very comfortable.

At 11 am the cleaning comes, and at 5-6pm the people with the mosquito incense come. Sometimes the mosquito incense is a bit annoying if you are bathing or something after the beach or pool but it definatley helps.

The poppies restuarant is located just about 1 minute down the lane. It serves amazing brekfasts for very nice prices, however if you get brekfast included with the room then it can get a bit boring if you are staying over 7-10 days. It is a bit pricy for dinner, but i can reccomend the "Bali Agung" Restuarant abit down the lane towards the beach direction. The lane is also great for chemists at the Walon hotel, (Walon Apotec Chemist), as sometimes the water is not clean and you can easily get an upset stomach.

The pool at the hotel is fantastic and the perfect size. It is never full of screaming kids however there are some in the hotel. There is a VERY well priced bar at the pool, with a beer costing 45000RP (3dollars), and thats the hotel bar! There is also an internet room that provides a medocre speed internet perfect for checking emails (they are mac minis x2) but it is full most of the day so reccomend going around 7pm until 11 as that is when it closes and is empty. It is free so thats great! Poppies also supplies free wifi in the rooms so its great for laptops as well.

The staff are very well trained, friendly and you can be sure that you are going to have a good time! Its location is a five minute walk from the beach.

If you are going to learn to surf, do not buy from these people selling it on the street, go up the Hard rock hotel toward the roundabout at the top with the guitar, and then turn around, you will see "Bali Learn To Surf". They are great, and cheap. It may be around the same option everywhere else, but you can rent a board after that for 45000 (3 dollars) for the DAY. People on the beach can rent around 40000-75000 per HOUR. (its 9000 to the dollar US). The people on the beach that reccomend them to teach you for a very nice price is a bad idea. they give up on you and eventually just want to go swimming or surfing. not so good.

BEWARE OF TIMESHARE AGENTS. They are EVERYWHERE in Bali. They will be so friendly saying like "Hi sir! How are you? DO you want to win something just take this!". Dont do it. Its timeshare and dont fill out ANY details to anyone like that (its like a yellowish card with like a palm tree on if i remember). Also the people selling stuff on Kuta can be quite annoying so its best to ignore even if they sit down and start a conversation just walk away cus they are so so so so annoying and determinted.

Ok thats about all i have to say about it and i hope that this review of Poppies Cottages helped, and also about Bali!

  • Liked — The Private cottages!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank jasoncomport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

Poppies is a little gem of a hotel hidden away in an enclosed garden like area away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta. Right next to the beach, food and shopping area this place is perfect for those wanting a quiet place to sleep and relax but want to be able to walk around to shop and eat! Great friendly staff and lovely breakfast which you can have delivered to your little hut (with fantastic bathrooms with an outdoorsy feel). Would definitely stay here again. Much more character than the huge hotels.

  • Liked — Such a nice quiet location right in the heart of such commotion.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ConkhiAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

I booked a cottage at Poppies 2, Kuta, 4/23-24, 08. Upon arriving I was met by two unfriendly dogs snarling and barking . Rata the desk clerk said, "Not to worry". The cottage room was a basic unit, $25 U.S. plus 21% tax. No breakfast, coffee, pool. It was reasonably clean, fridge, clean towels, linnen.

Now come the problems!

At 2am, 4/25, the day I was flying out of Bali, a dog woke up up with loud barking near my cottage. This continued until 2;30 at which point I decided to take action. Took my flashlight, went out onto the grounds where the barking was coming from. It was the same dog at reception who was snarling/barking. Poppies 2 is fully enclosed by a wall, gate near entrance, Security Office. The door adjacent to the gate/Security was open. I flashed the light at the dog and it fled out the door.The Security Guard was sleeping and I closed the door.

At 4am the barking started again. Grabbed the flashlight, saw the same dog. But the door that I had closed by Security was closed. Somehow the dog got back in. Or someone let him in. I opened the door,,flashed the light at the dog and it ran out. Closed door again. Security Guard was still sleeping.

At Checkout I spoke to the Security Guard about the dog problems. Why they allow them onto the property. Told him I was woken up twice that night from barking dog. And did he think that guests deserved to sleep without being annoyed by dogs at night. Naturally he had no answer.

So if you decide to stay at Poppies 2 in Kuta, you might want to ask management about Security, barking dogs roaming he grounds day and night, and if they give refunds if you get no sleep. One last question: ask them if they are feeding them. hy else would they keep returning!!!

Avoid this place.

  • Liked — Shower worked, reasonably clean, cold fridge.
  • Disliked — Barking dogs on property at night prevent you from sleeping!!!!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank whineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Sasha and I stayed at Poppies last October and after 36 hours of travel from Encinitas Ca, we arrived at 11 pm and straight to bed. We woke to the private beautiful garden, in a very peaceful setting. This was our first time to Bali and the staff at Poppies make us want to come back. The smell of incense placed at sunrise in front of our door with tea every morning, the extremely helpful Ms Melati at the front desk and the best- Ms. Kopi who is bartender at pool and across the street at Poppies Restaurant (take our word for it , we tried a few of the "good" restaurants on Poppies Lane 1 and Poppies Restaurant has the best food and the best atmosphere and cheap prices.. no need to try any other place, especially for breakfast- get the watermelon juice with banana pancakes.
We will now visit Poppies every year becasue of Poppies Cottages.... See u soon Kopi........!!!!!
Frankie and Sasha

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank spfinmission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

I first read about Poppies in my Lonely Planet guide and it sounded great. My friend looked it up here and told me "I am sick of reading so many great reviews of the place, let's just book it already". Done.

We booked on their website, and the rate was really good ($71USD+20% taxes). The cottages are huts with everything you need and more. Plasma screens, ipod inputs in the stereos, A/C (though it wasn't that great), and amazing bathrooms (they were more like interior/exterior gardens than bathrooms).

The staff were amazing. They came around nightly to put mosquito coils in the bathroom and outside our cottage. The food at Poppies is from their restaurant and is one of the better places in the area (Havana Club a block away was decent, TJ's had mediocre mexican food). Poppies is on Poppies Rd I. When you leave Poppies, you walk a block in one direction to get to Kuta Beach, or head the other way to get to Kuta Square/Legian Rd (where the nightlife is). Kuta Beach wasn't as nice as we thought it was, and we hung out by the pool a lot rather than going to the beach. Nusa Dua (30 min ride) beach was truly impressive. Poppies also arranged a private tour for us around Bali for one day (400k Rupiah per 4 of us).

If you can get over the odd fly or ant in the place (they are outdoor cottages after all), this is THE place for you to stay in Kuta Beach.

  • Liked — Cottages, staff
  • Disliked — Not the best location, but good enough
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GoLeafsGo0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.4 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#4 of 251 in Kuta
650 reviews
0.8 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#14 of 251 in Kuta
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#21 of 251 in Kuta
4,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Bali

Property: Poppies Bali
Address: Poppies Lane 1/19, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppies Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After nearly four decades Poppies is still being discovered by those wishing to escape the glitz and glamour of grandiose hotels while expecting comfortable clean surroundings, friendly service, and Balinese charm. Spacious individual thatched cottages filled with collectors' antiques, Indonesian fabrics and a host of creature comforts nestle in beautifully kept gardens with ponds, waterfalls, towering coconut palms, and a stunning swimming pool built among rocks and sunbathing terraces, overhung with riotous bougainvillea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Poppies Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Bali Hotel Kuta
Poppies Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing