We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"O.M.G" What an OASIS!”
Review of Poppies Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poppies Bali
Ranked #1 of 254 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Tucked in the middle of what seems nowhere. We have walked past this so many times on poppies lane 1 over the years and would never have know what was behind the walls. If you dont want the crowds of a large hitel, but the quaintness of a little tropical resort. This is the place. Only 20 odd cottages. Nice size pool. No towels on any chairs to worry about others booking. 1st day, looking foward to the next 9. Very friendly staff. A must, may never stay at a large resort again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Costalot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
There are newer reviews for Poppies Bali
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 562 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

I recently stayed here for 3 nights, I was met at the airport as arranged and checked into my room smoothly and swiftly,
The cottages are excellent value, very big rooms with comfy beds , big bathrooms and nice terrace area to relax and enjoy a drink or two or a late breakfast or a cooling Gin and tonic or 3 come 6pm !!!

The staff were excellent , always smiling and very friendly.
poppies Restaurant is great value with delicious inexpensive food.poppies is ideal location in the centre of Kuta, you are within two minutes walk of the beach and all the nightlife but once inside poppies you enter a oasis amid the chaos,

Great visit, ill be back next year, if your looking for a great place in kuta just book poppies dont bother wasting your time looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This my second visit to this great spot. If you love Bali as I do this little resort is the perfect place. The cottages, the staff the position are perfect. The resort is encircled by high walls so once thru the gate you are in a sanctuary. The busy Kuta hustle and bustle left behind. The restaurant is very nice and food to die for.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Davo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Unless you have a look in here like the last time we visited Bali you would not believe how quiet and relaxing Poppies Cottages are to stay at. We can't thank our friends enough for showing us last October when in Bali.
Rooms spacious, clean and cool. Bathroom/shower roomy, light and clean. Pool was refreshing and the area has plenty of shade if required? Gardens are beautifully manicure and tended to every day along with the gardeners dog "Doggy". Yes it is busy once you step out into the lane but at the end of your shopping spree or walk around you know that you will be returning to peace and tranquility once back in the cottages. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Thank for a lovely relaxing stay

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Travellers5865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

This spot is beautifully tucked away, it takes you to a whole different space with gorgeous gardens and shaded areas. Fantastic food with kind and good service. A must for a beautiful and delicious meal.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 615lylet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

When we were looking at where to spend out last four nights on Bali, a friend said if we haven't stayed at Poppies we should give it a go. Well, that was one of the best suggestions we have had! Poppies is beautiful. It's areal oasis where you can get away from the hustle and bustle and really relax. the pool and gardens are a tropical paradise. Right in the centre of Kuta, everything is at your finger tips. Loved everything about it!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in March. The rooms are spacious with thatched roofs and gorgeous semi open bathrooms. Lighting was a bit dim for applying makeup and for reading in bed. Loved the bath/ shower combo and the temple like structure in the bathroom. We had a room safe which we didn't manage to stuff up and the air con was cool enough if a little noisy. Very private garden around the cottage with seating on the verandah. Pool area was superb for chilling around and exactly as depicted in the photos. I can see why people come back here time and time again. Great location in Poppies Lane, very handy for walking to Kuta Square, Discovery etc. many places for massage and treatments nearby. I liked Inner Glow, on the way to Kuta Square. Others in our group recommend Jennifer's in the Lane just opposite Poppies. The included pickup from the airport was great and I can see why they do it, because not too many drivers would be keen to get up that lane in a van! Many bikes going up and frown constantly, but for me just added to the experience. You just have to have your wits about you when walking. We had breakfast delivered a couple of mornings and the food was tasty and reasonably priced. You could order food and drinks around the pool area also. Wifi throughout the hotel, but you had to login separately to use devices around near the pool. Overall we loved our stay here, but I do wish I could move it closer to the beach. I would not recommend for young families as the pool area is not that big and children splashing and playing could ruin the atmosphere for others. There are other places I'm sure that they would enjoy more. For adult groups and couples, this place is ideal if the beach is not you main priority.

Room Tip: All rooms I saw looked great.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizBallarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.4 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Amnaya Resort Kuta
Amnaya Resort Kuta
#2 of 254 in Kuta
734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#6 of 254 in Kuta
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#21 of 254 in Kuta
5,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Bali

Address: Poppies Lane 1/19, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 254 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range: $99 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppies Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After nearly four decades Poppies is still being discovered by those wishing to escape the glitz and glamour of grandiose hotels while expecting comfortable clean surroundings, friendly service, and Balinese charm. Spacious individual thatched cottages filled with collectors' antiques, Indonesian fabrics and a host of creature comforts nestle in beautifully kept gardens with ponds, waterfalls, towering coconut palms, and a stunning swimming pool built among rocks and sunbathing terraces, overhung with riotous bougainvillea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Poppies Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Bali Hotel Kuta
Poppies Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing