We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis”
Review of Poppies Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poppies Bali
Ranked #1 of 253 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice place to stay - hasn't changed much over the years - always welcoming and peaceful. Very convenient. Close to the beach. Recommend it highly for all types of travellers.. Also very good restaurant attached.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    100
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
98
284
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in room 23 for 2 nights in October. Great cottage tucked away in the furthest corner from reception. No noise at all. Rooms are spacious, beds and pillows are really comfy. Air con quiet and efficient. Outside bathroom luxurious. Room made up in the morning and again in the evening. Pool is big, clean and deep. Gardens are immaculate. Close to bemo corner and about 5 mins walk from the gorgeous beach. All in all a lovely way to end our Bali holiday in the lap of luxury and well worth the few extra quid. The free airport transfer was another nice touch. Would have liked the breakfast included but there are plenty of places nearby to choose from. Staff were all very pleasant and friendly. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathwiggum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just one night as our flights were rescheduled, last here 16 years ago.
What a incredibly peaceful place in the midst of the maelstrom that is Kuta.
Staff were very kind and lovely.
Lovely breakfast at Poppies restuarant.
Pool is still one of the best in Bali.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewOTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We just spent a week at poppies with our 2 boys. It far exceeded our expectations, the room was very spacious and it would be the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in and we have stayed at many including 5 star properties! The grounds are immaculate and the design is so clever you feel like you are the only ones there.We have tried many times to stay there but it has always been fully booked but we finally got in as I booked a year in advance and we are going back in January. Can't wait! Thanks Poppies for a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leekristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Not sure I should tell everyone how lovely poppies is ,fearful we will have difficulting booking in again,they were turning people away when we were there so word is out already.Poppies is a haven in the centre of the chaos that is Kuta.believe it or not it was the quietest place we have ever stayed in Bali.Once you are behind the wall it's like being in your own secret garden.The cottages are cosi,in true Bali style .lovely comfy beds.outstanding service ,fantastic little bar over looking a fantastic pool area.No more searching the net for hotels to stay at in Bali just book me into poppies.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lardybum6025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

we only stayed in Kuta for one night and two days and we are so gald we booked a night in Poppies! its on Poppies lane 2 which is hectic but once you walk into poppies is so quiet and lush! we had bungalow 14 which was near the pool and so private. The bungalow was nicely decorated and big. The bathroom is special! They have thought of everything from, toiletores, hairdryers, outdoor fan on your terrace, bath robes etc...the gardens are immaculate and so pretty. The pool area is unique and lovely. We didnt want to leave!

you must order a pina colada, its amazing!!! We had the biggest ghekko in our bathroom and a little tiny baby frog, so cute!

breakfast was amazing too and so much of it. We also ate at their restaurant across the road which was also really nice.

dont hesitate book poppies!! we will defo be back!

Room Tip: room 14 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kezzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a very nice stay in Poppies cottages, number 31 then had to move to 29 for the last few days.The gardens and pool area are well kept and it is spotless throughout,could do with a few more sunbeds though. The staff can not do enough for you,very central to the shops and bars etc, a nice 10 minute stroll to the beach. you will either love Poppies lane or hate it ,the little bikes can be a pain,I only wish vehicles could be banned from say 6pm onwards,ake a much more pleasant area. My only wish ,is that it is not on the beach. The free airport transport was very worthwhile as the roads are very busy. we also booked a trip with an english speaking driver who was great and knowlegable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.4 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#3 of 253 in Kuta
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Kana Kuta
The Kana Kuta
#6 of 253 in Kuta
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#20 of 253 in Kuta
5,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Bali

Property: Poppies Bali
Address: Poppies Lane 1/19, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 253 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppies Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After nearly four decades Poppies is still being discovered by those wishing to escape the glitz and glamour of grandiose hotels while expecting comfortable clean surroundings, friendly service, and Balinese charm. Spacious individual thatched cottages filled with collectors' antiques, Indonesian fabrics and a host of creature comforts nestle in beautifully kept gardens with ponds, waterfalls, towering coconut palms, and a stunning swimming pool built among rocks and sunbathing terraces, overhung with riotous bougainvillea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Poppies Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Bali Hotel Kuta
Poppies Bali Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing