We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel!”
Review of La Walon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Walon Hotel
Ranked #134 of 252 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is classed as a budget hotel but I can't agree.
Great rooms! Something like 74 TV channels, room service with probably the biggest and best and cheapest menu I have ever seen! Staff friendly and approachable!
Air con so cold I had to keep turning off! Hot water in shower very hot! Bedding changed everyday, room sprayed everyday. Supurb location. Everything at your doorstep, including 24 hour delis, chemists, beauty parlours, restaurants, bars, shopping. Not a noisy part of Bali. I will be staying at LA Walon again and again. I have found a new great cheap hotel that I will becoming a regular to. Oh did I mention all this cost me $30 a night through Agoda?
Do yourself a favour!

Room Tip: One of the best in Bali.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawalon, Front Office Manager at La Walon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2015

Hi Julie,
Thanks for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of updating all of our rooms and hope to have all completed by the end of February 2015.
Please book directly through our web site next time and we will provide you with free airport pick up for being a returning guest. When you book we will ask for all your details because we have introduced “Express Check-In” where we will do all the registration forms for you so you just sign and then head for the comfort (and cold Air Con) of your room…
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Regards, Karen (Kadek) Hotel Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 229 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel is a good place to stay for the cost of the room. It is a bit old as with most things in Kuta, but it is clean and close to everything you would want. If you can cope with being called boss boss, or miss miss from every stall holder each time you walk down poppies lane 1, then this is a good place to stay. The Victory across the road serves excellent food also

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alby2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Everyone said don't stay in Kuta, so when a family member suggested this hotel for our short 4 day stay in Bali, I was a bit surprised. Poppies 1 is right in the thick of Kuta and It was the perfect place to stay. Sitting by the pool in at the hotel it's easy to forget how close to the action you are. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel preferred driver Manny has a clean well maintained car and we made arrangements with him to look after all our driving needs. The massage girl is also very sweet and very skilled. All of the local food places are great, and the restaurant at the hotel is equally as good. Ice is safe to have with your drinks and the room and breakfast deal was great value.
We were accommodated in two identical deluxe rooms on the ground floor. My room was the furthest from reception. The internet did not reach either room. The rooms and linen were clean, fresh bath and pool towels are provided each day. My room smelt strongly of mothballs and the other room smelt strongly of two or three different ambi pur room deodorisers.
The 1 x double King bed bed was the biggest I've ever seen. it was comfortable and clean and made up each day. We were due to fly out at midnight and it was worth the money to keep one room for the extra day even though check out wasn't until 1pm.
There is plenty of evidence of handyman patch up jobs in the rooms which takes the gloss off the hotel. Bathroom didn't contain hair dryers and shampoo etc you'll need to bring them with you.
The other guests we met by the pool etc all appeared to be regular travellers to Bali.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are the deluxe rooms. Try to get one as close to the reception as you can so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawalon, Front Office Manager at La Walon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2015

Hi
We appreciate your time to post your review. We aware that our rooms are now starting to show ‘wear and tear’ and updating and re-painting began in January 2015 and we hope to have all rooms completed by the end of February.
All new linens, bed covers, pillows etc. are on order and should arrive shortly.
You may like to keep up with our progress as we regularly post new pics on our Facebook Page for the upgrade: (you will need to ‘copy’ then ‘paste’ into your browser’s address bar).
https://www.facebook.com/pages/La-Walon-on-Poppies-Kuta-Bali/1411289152496815?ref=bookmarks
If you contact us via our web page LA WALON HOTEL for your next stay, we can arrange “Free Airport Pick Up” and our new “Express Check In”. If you supply us with the necessary information, we will complete all documents for you to simply Sign when you arrive and you are able to go straight to your room.
Regards, Karen (Kadek) Hotel Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice whilst traveling through Bali. Bang in the center of Kuta the Hotel makes for great base. Pool facilities are good. Close by lots of good eating options. Rooms could be better maintain. Love the kitch statues. Must recommend a massage by the pool. Magic hands! Pete

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank petermwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I have had something here for 3 days running, snack with cocktail twice and dinner tonight. The prices are good, food nice and staff friendly. I don't usually eat at a place twice as there are so many to try but being so close to our accom at Poppies Cottages and so safe, clean and friendly popping down for a drink as a woman alone is nice.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank DongaraOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We just wanted a couple of nights in a central, convenient area to get some things done before traveling elsewhere in Bali for the Xmas and New Year time. The hotel is in Poppies 1 Lane which is very narrow and busy, with just enough space to squeeze a taxi down, which we knew. However this would not be ideal for people with young children or kids in strollers and I had to keep a close eye on my 5 and 7 yr olds while walking in the lane (in the pouring rain too).

Aside from seemingly not having our booking at hand when we arrived, we were quickly given our room, had our luggage taken up and the mattress for the children bought into the room and made up. The staff were very helpful and nice.
The rooms are large, bathroom sufficient and clean, TV with loads of channels and fridge. There is no DVD player but we rented one from reception for 30,000 Rp/day.
As it rained solid for our 2.5 days while there, we didn't use the pool really (kids had a short swim), but the pool area is very nice. Reception loaned us umbrellas.

Breakfast was good and ample and the restaurant is really good with loads of cheap and very tasty items - the mexican dishes were really good. Their beer and cocktail prices are super cheap for a hotel and we tried a couple of the cocktails which were nice.
The location is great if you want easy access to everything: 5 min walk to Kuta beach, 5 mins to Jl Legian, tonnes of shops, restaurants, massage places etc all at your doorstep.
We'll use La Walon again as our short Kuta stopover place.

Room Tip: Request a downstairs room so you have a nice porch area to relax on in the morning and evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

For few times visiting Bali, this time were our "budget-considered" trip.

La Walon hotel came up with quite positive reviews (although had many complaints during 2009-2010) and had reputation as one of many cheap and good hotel in Poppies Lane near Kuta, Bali.

As we were travelling in family, and had plans to go to tourism-points and traditional markets for souvenirs etc, instead of spending hours at the beach for sun-bathing nor surfing, we were stunned knowing that Poppies Lane (the only road headed to and from Hotel) is only fitted for 1 car and the road is not a one-way road, occupied by motorcycles also, and items/souvenir booths and cafes in every single inch of the road.. (you surely can imagine how tight, crowded, and difficult to drive this road is), so we are forced to change a bit of our plan. But that was just us, lets just say we don't find more info about this Hotel's Location and does it fit our plan or not.

Luckily we're good welcomed by the staff.. -not so 3-stars standard staff, but OK considering the price of the hotel-.., noticing our room-booked previously done over the net.. preparing some paper works, and call for room-service to brought up our luggage..
Rooms are good and cleaned, no unpleasant smell (as mentioned in some previous reviews), toilets are also clean. yup... seems to be no problem.

Time to clean-up and bath, specially for my children.. problems came up!
Water is NOT GOOD! probably too much salt content in the water, so the water feels so salty, slippery and at some points it feels quite sticky.

Bathroom floor was worst after bath or any simple water-exposed..
I see that the bathroom tile was not proper.. I'm not a construction engineer or interior design person, but I don't see the decision of picking the bathroom tile is correct! It is no different with the tile used in the common room except for the color, so it made the bathroom floor VERY VERY SLIPPERY! even adults couldn't keep their balance. My 3 y.o. child got slipped at the bathroom EVERY TIME she uses it, imagine how her head was if we hadn't guard her back every time she uses bathroom!
We booked 3 rooms, and all had same problem, so its wasn't just us..
We had complaints but until we checked out after 5 nights of staying, there's NO actions to comfort us regarding this bathroom floor thing!
Again we assume, the price would follows facilities.. :{

Breakfast served at LaWalon Cafe, with roosted bread, ham/bacon, scrambled/boiled egg, orange juice and coffee/tea every day. Standard and not bad, although we got bored after 2 days of same breakfast menu..
but again.. the price would follows facilities.. :{

Checked-out with no exhilarate feeling, and would consider to list quite below to came back here another time..

Room Tip: if they keep their bathroom floor as it is, I would suggest you to go next door! if they fix it, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank si_masbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.0 mi away
Fat Yogi Cottages
Fat Yogi Cottages
#146 of 252 in Kuta
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kuta Angel Hotel
Kuta Angel Hotel
#75 of 252 in Kuta
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asana Agung Putra Bali
Asana Agung Putra Bali
#39 of 252 in Kuta
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ozz Hotel Kuta
Ozz Hotel Kuta
#114 of 252 in Kuta
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand La Walon Hotel
Grand La Walon Hotel
#48 of 252 in Kuta
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yulia Beach Inn
Yulia Beach Inn
#55 of 252 in Kuta
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Walon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Walon Hotel

Address: Gang Poppies 1 | Kuta, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $31 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Walon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Walon Hotel is situated in Poppies Lane No.1 which is the Hub of Bali and the center of Bali's fantastic shopping, bars, cafes, restaurants and beach area. Our Hotel provides the perfect combination of bustling urban life and relaxed seaside living. You can escape from the bustle of everyday life as you lie back on a sun lounger, sip a tropical cocktail from the Pool Bar and bask under cloudless skies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Walon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Walon Bungalows Hotel Kuta
La Walon Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing