We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool, good value stay”
Review of Fat Yogi Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fat Yogi Cottages
Ranked #148 of 253 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here twice in transit between nicer parts of Bali and the rest of Indonesia. Rooms are simple but clean, with nice balcony spaces. The pool is a really nice bonus. Breakfast is complimentary, but don't expect too much from it. The annoying thing about Fat Yogi is that they don't take phone bookings, and both times I had to send 3 or 4 emails before I got a response. Jalan Poppies 1 is a great location and for what it is, Fat Yogi is a very good value pick. Will be staying here again if I ever need to stay in Kuta.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 209 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

fat yogi is situated in a fantastic location. It is a simple clean accomodation that is very very cheap. at $30 a night you cannot complain. The only issues i saw was the fact that there is no individual safe deposit only a communal safe with bags to put your valuables in. Breakfast is included in the price and you have a choice of either eating it on your verandah or beside the pool. I would recomend this accomodation to those travelling on a budget, it is clean and quiet with a fantastic pool area and walking distance to all shopping areas. The beach is a stroll down poppies 1.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank annette0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was a little more than we had budgeted, but we decided it was worth it. It's within easy walking distance to all the nightlife, the beach, and many shopping areas. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There's a restaurant adjacent to the hotel and they will bring your food poolside. The pool is really nice. The room could've been a little cleaner, but it was still relatively clean. No bed bugs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kitovu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Came across this place through recommendation from a fellow traveller. Amazing value, deluxe room only £24GBP - clean, spacious, and an amazing pool. Great location, helpful staff (if a little bit haphazard in their ways ;))

Go there, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms well worth little extra, 216 is great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This accommodation would have been one of my favorites if someone had been there who was capable of making decisions. I thought that it was a great value and the pool was an awesome size. Unfortunately they didn't have the pool lights on at night and even though the curfew for the pool was 9:00pm, which I adhered to, most other people didn't which I wish I would've known, cause I would have been out there much later if I could have. Aside from the pool, the main issue was that I booked a double bed room with my husband, but they gave us two single beds (not very romantic). We went to the front desk to rectify the situation and we were told that there were no more double rooms available at the same price and that we'd have to pay more to move to a room with a double bed. We said we had reserved a double bed and she even had our email on file. She said that her manager had made a mistake and was in Hong Kong and was unavailable. It took me about 15 minute and several uncomfortable stares to get the woman at the desk to give us a room with a double bed. Apparently when the manager or owner is not there, the staff is incapable of making any decisions which leads to terrible customer service. Still, when we did manage to get our room, it was very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank italiarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very good location, very close to the beach.
friendly staffs, nice garden, but the facilities in the room really so so, for this price is ok.
Little bit noise during the night.
Will recommended for the future trip

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The room we stayed in was very nice; all the fixtures and fittings were good, and the hot water and a/c worked well. The pool was one of the nicest we've seen and the location is very good; out of the way and quiet but close to all the action. Fat Yogi lost points for poor management. We booked well in advance and asked for a double room. Upon arrival we were given a twin and were told that 'The manager made a mistake. She didn't know what double meant.' We spent some time at the reception desk, trying to convince the receptionist that this was not our mistake and that we had indeed booked a double room. Apparently the manager was out of the country and had not left a contact number. We were told a deluxe double was available, but at a higher rate. We asked if they could give us the room for the agreed rate and were told that nobody was allowed to make that decision except the manager.

After talking in circles for some time, the receptionist eventually let us have the double for the agreed price. We were happy with the room, and decided to come back to Fat Yogi on our return journey. Again, we were disappointed as nobody responded to our emails for a week. Finally, on the afternoon of our arrival (and after already checking in elsewhere) somebody emailed and asked if they should cancel our reservation!

This is a nice hotel, but they have some serious management/reservation problems.

Room Tip: It's probably best to show up and hope they have a room. The rooms furthest from the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeoulSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.0 mi away
La Walon Hotel
La Walon Hotel
#139 of 253 in Kuta
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lusa
Hotel Lusa
#191 of 253 in Kuta
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asana Agung Putra Bali
Asana Agung Putra Bali
#42 of 253 in Kuta
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorga Cottages
Hotel Sorga Cottages
#127 of 253 in Kuta
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maharani Beach Hotel
Maharani Beach Hotel
#123 of 253 in Kuta
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#103 of 253 in Kuta
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fat Yogi Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Yogi Cottages

Address: Gang Poppies 1, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $23 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fat Yogi Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Fat Yogi Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fat Yogi Cottages Hotel Kuta
Fat Yogi Hotel
Fat Yogi Cottages Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing