We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”
Review of Fat Yogi Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fat Yogi Cottages
Ranked #155 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Price: 300 000 Rupiah/night

Pros: air con, fridge, lots of space, clean, pool, included breakfast, friendly staff, bathtub in bathroom

Cons: pricy

Bottom Line: Recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank soakupthesun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    87
    40
    20
    14
See reviews for
10
87
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I went for a 4D3N trip to Bali in Dec 2011 and me and my friend decided to go for a budget accomodation. We paid around S$20 per night for a room with a queen size bed. We got what we paid for. The room was big but it looked very old-fashioned. It has a very old cupboard which we didnt bother keeping anything inside because it looked old and dirty. So we ended up hanging our clothes on the chair and rack provided. The toilet was simple but they could do better with a bit of revamping.

The breakfast was satisfactory. Choice was limited. The honey banana pancake was simple and nice. The toast and jam was alright but the egg which came along with it was disappointing. The fruits were tasteless. They only served breakfast from 8am onwards so on our last day there, we had to leave at 730am and they refuse to make an exception to provide breakfast for us.

This made us realize that service was quite disappointing. Most of them were unfriendly. However, the booking system was efficient. All I had to do was to email Ms Diah and she settled everything for us, including the pick up from the airport to the hotel. No deposit was required so we were worried at first but when we arrived, there was no problem in getting the room at all.

There was a swimming pool which was not lit at night so when we swam at night, we constantly swam into the underwater stools. And yes, insect repellant is a must when sitting around the swimming pool area.

The hotel is located around 5mins from the Kuta Beach, which was not all too bad. A distinct landmark leading towards Poppies Lane 1 would be the new shopping centre, KutaBex.

All in all, I believe that it is still considered a budget accomodation for a reason and for the price we paid, it was satisfying.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AisyahGala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calenzano, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Really a simple but nice accomodation. Close to "downtown" but not so close to hear the noise. you can reach the beach in 5 minutes walking. Rooms are wise, simple, cleaned up in the bali way, but ok!
The pool is awesome, and you can have breakfast on pool side or in the room. Breakfast choice is not so various, but is not bad at all. I recomend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvia_a83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Visit to Kuta during Oct 2011. Book Fat Yogi Cottage after read reviews here by other travellers.

The garden and pool was nice. And they provide free wi-fi to hotel guest but the signal is not strong in the room. For the best signal strength you have to sit beside of the pool. Apply insect repellant if you need to do so as the mosquitos is always there at night.

I booked a standard room which located beside the pool. The room had a musty odor. This is something which need to improve.

Room Tip: Request a room upstairs to prevent musty odor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChunTat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We liked: Location - close to beach, close to party area but not too close. The pool! It was really nice to come back after the beach or later at night and cool off in the lovely pool, the sun loungers were really comfy too and the 3 weeks we were there the pool area was not oversubscribed. The breakfast had some good choices and was served quickly, and you could eat it by the pool! There were a couple of nice pergoda areas to chill out in the shade which came in handy when i had a day of bali belly. Aircon in the rooms was very good.

We didn't like: Frequent electricity cuts. Internet was in and out and slow (but seemed everywhere to be the same in Bali), and we had to move from our original room because the internet did not reach that area of the hotel. Some of our group had really awful bathrooms, old and very grubby. The towels were really grubby and old. The staff would often tell you one thing, only for another of the staff to come and tell you something completely different. Their english was a little limited.

In all, pretty ok but with some problems to be sorted.

Room Tip: rooms by the pool have better access to internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chevywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

At first i was searching for hotel here on trip advisor when i stumble on this great budget hotel with such a low price only 320k/night include breakfast for a deluxe room, i thought with that kind of price i get with what i pay but amazingly its not the room is big n clean the bathroom is clean also for a budget hotel this is more than enough, i found it like a sanctuary on the bussy street vendor of popies lane,over all its a great place with a good price, i surelly will stayed here again when im back to bali,thx mrs diah we have a pleasant stay there

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weede81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I booked Fat Yogi a couple of months before travelling based on trip advisor reviews, and I wasn't disappointed. It'll take a couple of days for them to reply to your email, but don't worry, they'll reserve the room without down payment. I was three hours late after a flight delay and massive visa queues, but my transfer driver was still there waiting with my name!
It really is right slap, bang in the middle of everything on Poppies Lane, but it's like a little haven as all the trees and greenery masks most of the noise from the bars and restaurants nearby. The room was big and comfortable, if a little dated, but looks really don't matter. Bed was big and the bathroom all working. Outside you have a little balcony type area with seating where you can get your breakfast delivered to in the morning. Really tasty with lovely coffee and fresh melon and papaya, and you can choose from either banana honey pancake, toast and jam and eggs, or a toasted sandwich.
There's a nice pool and sun lounger area, which is kept very clean. And the Havana restaurant next door, which I ate in the first night, being too tired to venture further. Food was nice but you can get a lot better cheaper elsewhere. I'd really recommend sticking with the local food as it's very tasty and a lot, LOT cheaper than the western food. Wine in Bali is really expensive, the local Hatten is nicely drinkable at around 150,000 Rp - about 10/12 Uk pounds - from a mini mart (200/250,000 Rp in a restaurant) and the imported is extortionate.
Don't get ripped off like I did on my first night when the mini mart up the road charged me 235,000!!!
Apart from bars and restaurants, Poppies Lane is mostly shops/stalls geared to tourists, and the constant "hello...taxi?" or "yes...massage?" might drive you a bit bonkers! Kuta beach is about ten minutes walk away, but being Kuta, it's very busy. In fact everywhere is very busy, which is why Fat Yogi is such a nice break from it all!
The staff are very pleasant and helpful, all except one who was very pushy about a return airport transfer. It was fine coming in as I didn't know where I was going, but on the way back I got a metered bluebird taxi at about half the price.
All in all, a great stay and good value for money. But do make sure you book online as the walk ins were quoted an entirely different rate! Yes, I'd stay there again if in Kuta.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.0 mi away
La Walon Hotel
La Walon Hotel
#132 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asana Agung Putra Bali
Asana Agung Putra Bali
#43 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorga Cottages
Hotel Sorga Cottages
#134 of 251 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yulia Beach Inn
Yulia Beach Inn
#50 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ida Hotel
Ida Hotel
#77 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waringin Homestay
Waringin Homestay
#112 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fat Yogi Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Yogi Cottages

Property: Fat Yogi Cottages
Address: Gang Poppies 1, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fat Yogi Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Fat Yogi Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fat Yogi Cottages Hotel Kuta
Fat Yogi Hotel
Fat Yogi Cottages Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing