We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool, location, service and breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #12 of 340 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pool, location, service and breakfast!”
Reviewed January 11, 2011

This hotel is a fantastic place to stay:

- the pool area is brilliant with a really nice swim up pool bar
- right on the beach
- breakfast is AMAZING
- the staff and service are great
- beautiful, well-kept and clean hotel
- location was great with plenty of restaurants and bars just a few steps away

There were several lovely restaurants within the hotel grounds - we tried a couple of them and both were very good but as there are so many cheaper places to eat so close we tended to eat elsewhere

we loved Bali and I'm sure you will too! Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller23London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    614
    153
    35
    42
See reviews for
720
775
70
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We stayed at the Kartika at the end of our stay in Bali for 2 days. The hotel was recommended by a friend as we wanted somewhere nice to stay in Kuta. The two of us were put in an unromantic family room which was tired. Our view from the balcany was spoiled by beer cans and cigarette butts left on the nearby roof by other room guests. When we went to the breakfast area we were just left to find a table in a very crowded eating area. The breakfast selection was fine. The grounds, pool and gym areas are very nice at the Kartika. It is really like staying in a large business hotel, suitable for bulk tourists and flight crews. The shower curtain in the bathroom was stained. The Kartika is in a great location and had free parking for our car. I did not find the staff that friendly at the Kartika.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjbsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

On the way to scuba diving the remote Indonesian Komodo Islands, we had 2 nights in Bali to adjust to time zone and possible recovery from delayed flight. We chose the Katrina Discovery Plaza Hotel because of its trip advisor rating, convenience to the airport, and a discounted off season rate. We were very pleased with our stay and with the service we were offered. Had we paid full price, we would have thought the hotel overpriced for the area and what was delivered.

The hotel was clean and in good repair. The lobby was expansive and inviting. The room was large and adequately furnished. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fresh and clean. We noticed an absence of little elegant touches – no musicians playing local music in the lobby, no fresh cut flowers or artwork in every corner, no fancy woodwork in the rooms. Instead, the hotel seemed to focus on being functional and offering good value.

More plusses for the Katrina Discovery Plaza Hotel: Plenty of English was spoken and understood. We had no problem communicating. The wireless internet was excellent. The pool is large with a swim up bar. The towel service for pool or beach is easy and efficient. There were no hawkers allowed on property. In fact, there is heavy security at the hotel entrance.

The service we received was exceptional – 4 star and more. An activity desk got us transportation and tickets to see a local dance on just 3 hour notice. The hotel graciously let us store luggage for 2+ weeks while we traveled to other parts of Indonesia. And when we returned to claim our luggage and enjoy a cold refreshment before heading to the airport, everyone was friendly and helpful. We appreciated the efficiency in hailing cabs and handling our luggage. One morning when we needed breakfast earlier than the customary 6AM opening, the staff was helpful in getting us our choices. The only inconvenience we experienced was due to our early arrival we had to wait a little more than an hour for our room to be cleaned.

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and with a large assortment of both local and western dishes. Breakfast far exceeded the usual 3 star experience. On the other hand, the one dinner we ate – marketed as barbeque on the beach -- was underwhelming. We have certainly had tastier buffet experiences. Wine was surprisingly expensive so we did not sample the product of any nearby vineyards. There were some dancers with the dinner, but they were not of sufficient quality that would warrant choosing barbeque on the beach as a must see activity.

We the activities we selected for our one and a half days were walking Kuta beach, a classic Balinese dance in Ubud, and a day of bicycling in countryside above Ubud with Bali Eco Tours. We enjoyed these activities, but not the up to 2 hour hassle of getting to and from Kuta to Ubud.

The Katrina Discovery Plaza Hotel is right on the ocean and one can easily walk right to Kuta Beach. However, there is a breakwater in front of the hotel so you have to walk north 200 yards to reach the sand. The Hotel is neither near the party bars nor the party beach. Rather, this southern section of Kuta beach is relatively quiet, which depending on your desires is either appreciated or not.

Overall, we were very pleased with our choice of the Katrina Discovery Plaza Hotel. We avoided the craziness of Kuta yet got to experience Bali. On our next trip to Bali, we will definitely choose Katrina Discovery Plaza Hotel once again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed in an Ocean View 2 bedroom suite which was kind of pricey given the hotel but it was a lovely room with good views and plenty of space. The hotel itself is a little run down and a few things in the room were dated and not working great - but they are in the process of renovating. I have not been to Bali for a while and this used to be one of the "nice' hotels but it has lost a little of its shine. I have seen different ratings for it on various hotel sites - usually 4-5 star - I would say it is more 3.5-4 star in reality. After 5 days in pure luxury at the Grand Hyatt Nusa Dua it was a breath of fresh air though as it was very relaxed and friendly and I felt my kids could relax and have fun and were welcome. We were a little wary of Kuta with young kids but we felt very safe and had a great holiday. The breakfast was incredible - far better than the Grand Hyatt and the staff were professional and accommodating. We had some minor things go wrong but it is Bali and you have to expect that and relax and go with the flow. The staff really do everything in their power to help and make things right but sometimes it just doesnt quite work. Shrug and move on I figure! The location is great - this end of Kuta used to be quite isolated but there are now heaps of restaurants, bars and shopping. A huge shopping mall is just next door if you want some fixed prices and air conditioned comfort after the market bartering in the heat! There is a good kids pool for toddlers with a big shade cloth over it. Also a small playground right next to the pool and one of the restaurants to keep the young ones entertained. The main pool is very deep (most of it 1.8 metres) which is bizarre and made it a little tricky for me when my youngest daughter wanted to swim in there as I could not stand up and my husband even struggled. Overall we really loved it here and had a fantastic week. We went to Waterbom Park which is just across the road and a great day for all ages, The Elephant Safari ( not sure we would return) and shopped, swam, walked, ate and drank. All easy, relaxed and fun. I believe there are probably better hotels at better prices but we really had fun at Kartika Plaza and would be happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ren1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I have been to Bali 12 times in the past 10 years and stay 11 of those times at Kartika plaza. I will always stay there as its a great place food staff location excellent. The price is reasonable warning if you go cheaper you will get the feral aussies and europeans and trust me they are a nightmare. The pool bar is amazing....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feeldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We arrived at the hotel quite late at night and were greeted by very friendly and efficient staff. All the staff we encountered during our stay were very friendly and attentive. The location is fanatstic. Right on the beach and also next to good shopping facilities. The pool is amazing and we spent a bit of time each day at the wonderful pool and pool bar. It is also a few minutes walk from Waterbom, bascially its just across the road. The buffet breakfast was great and catered to all different nationalities, even though they were renovating one of the eating areas at the time, it was done so quietly and efficiently, you barely noticed. We had an ocean facing suite and this was perfect. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were kept very clean. On our last day we also found a little 'beach bar' tucked away in the resort and watched the sun go down while having a drink. I can honestly say that I can't find anything that I didn't like about the hotel and would definately stay there again. The best thing about the hotel was the staff and the worst thing was having to leave :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melborne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

After reading mixed reviews i was not sure what to expect but was very happy with my choice the beds and pillows great Breakfast good choices was great room clean and well maintained but bit worn and needing a few repairs pool was great.
All staff were great nothing was to much for them
i would happliy stay here again close to eating and all shopping you need had ocean facing room and it was great

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonynannb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#40 of 340 in Kuta
5,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#67 of 340 in Kuta
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Febri's Hotel & Spa
#11 of 340 in Kuta
1,720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#68 of 340 in Kuta
2,173 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Property: Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kuta
#4 Family Hotel in Kuta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#8 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing