We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very easy place to stay - great family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #12 of 338 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very easy place to stay - great family holiday”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed in an Ocean View 2 bedroom suite which was kind of pricey given the hotel but it was a lovely room with good views and plenty of space. The hotel itself is a little run down and a few things in the room were dated and not working great - but they are in the process of renovating. I have not been to Bali for a while and this used to be one of the "nice' hotels but it has lost a little of its shine. I have seen different ratings for it on various hotel sites - usually 4-5 star - I would say it is more 3.5-4 star in reality. After 5 days in pure luxury at the Grand Hyatt Nusa Dua it was a breath of fresh air though as it was very relaxed and friendly and I felt my kids could relax and have fun and were welcome. We were a little wary of Kuta with young kids but we felt very safe and had a great holiday. The breakfast was incredible - far better than the Grand Hyatt and the staff were professional and accommodating. We had some minor things go wrong but it is Bali and you have to expect that and relax and go with the flow. The staff really do everything in their power to help and make things right but sometimes it just doesnt quite work. Shrug and move on I figure! The location is great - this end of Kuta used to be quite isolated but there are now heaps of restaurants, bars and shopping. A huge shopping mall is just next door if you want some fixed prices and air conditioned comfort after the market bartering in the heat! There is a good kids pool for toddlers with a big shade cloth over it. Also a small playground right next to the pool and one of the restaurants to keep the young ones entertained. The main pool is very deep (most of it 1.8 metres) which is bizarre and made it a little tricky for me when my youngest daughter wanted to swim in there as I could not stand up and my husband even struggled. Overall we really loved it here and had a fantastic week. We went to Waterbom Park which is just across the road and a great day for all ages, The Elephant Safari ( not sure we would return) and shopped, swam, walked, ate and drank. All easy, relaxed and fun. I believe there are probably better hotels at better prices but we really had fun at Kartika Plaza and would be happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ren1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    614
    153
    35
    42
See reviews for
717
773
70
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I have been to Bali 12 times in the past 10 years and stay 11 of those times at Kartika plaza. I will always stay there as its a great place food staff location excellent. The price is reasonable warning if you go cheaper you will get the feral aussies and europeans and trust me they are a nightmare. The pool bar is amazing....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feeldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We arrived at the hotel quite late at night and were greeted by very friendly and efficient staff. All the staff we encountered during our stay were very friendly and attentive. The location is fanatstic. Right on the beach and also next to good shopping facilities. The pool is amazing and we spent a bit of time each day at the wonderful pool and pool bar. It is also a few minutes walk from Waterbom, bascially its just across the road. The buffet breakfast was great and catered to all different nationalities, even though they were renovating one of the eating areas at the time, it was done so quietly and efficiently, you barely noticed. We had an ocean facing suite and this was perfect. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were kept very clean. On our last day we also found a little 'beach bar' tucked away in the resort and watched the sun go down while having a drink. I can honestly say that I can't find anything that I didn't like about the hotel and would definately stay there again. The best thing about the hotel was the staff and the worst thing was having to leave :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fizzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melborne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

After reading mixed reviews i was not sure what to expect but was very happy with my choice the beds and pillows great Breakfast good choices was great room clean and well maintained but bit worn and needing a few repairs pool was great.
All staff were great nothing was to much for them
i would happliy stay here again close to eating and all shopping you need had ocean facing room and it was great

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonynannb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This is a huge hotel in busy Kuta, close to the beach but just next to Centro shopping mall and 50 metres from the Waterbom park. The hotel itself is very quiet. We booked a room for 2 adults and 1 child (14 years) and were given a big Family Suite with 2 separate rooms; 1 with a king-size bed and 1 with 2 singles. Each room has a flat-screen LCD and a balcony. The staff was friendly. The breakfast buffet was a lavish feast every morning with so many varieties. Everything was worth the price we paid. The only negative was the small bathroom for such a big Family Suite.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanny0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Discovery Kartika Plaza. This was our first visit to Bali and this hotel was recommended by a travel agent. My husband and I were travelling with 2 children 16 and 12 so we booked 2 interconnecting, non-smoking, ocean facing rooms and our request was met with our rooms being on the 4th (top) floor. Check in was quick and efficient and we were presented with 4 free drink vouchers, 4 free massage vouchers and 4 free buffet dinner tickets which we used for the Balinese night as that included a half hour cultural show. We also had free Wi-fi in the room which was good for the kids. Our room was cleaned very well each day with the only hiccup being one day they did not leave us any water but one phone call to housekeeping rectified the situation and after that they left extra bottles each day. The rooms were adequate for our stay but considering what we paid I feel that the rooms are overdue for a revamp and maybe 2 double beds in the second room instead of single beds would be better.
As said in previous reviews the breakfasts were very good with quite a good selection and we were always able to get a table no matter what time we went down for breakfast. The pool was large and kept very clean and again we were always able to get 4 sun lounges whenever we went down to use the pool. All the staff we came in contact with were very pleasant and helpful, and most spoke very good English.
A couple of days we ordered snacks from the pool menu for lunch and these were reasonably priced for a hotel as were the prices for cocktails and beer. One day we used the free massage vouchers and had a lovely 1 hour massage.
The location of the hotel is quite good as it is close to several restaurants, Discovery Mall, Waterbom Park, small supermarkets, laundry and just about anything else you would need. All in all we had a very enjoyable holiday.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dajsNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Nice hotel with friendly staff. Room is definitely in need of renovation but in acceptable condition.

Convenient location with beautiful pool and restaurants.

If your plan to spend time lazing by the beach then this is not the right hotel, I had attached some photos of the "beach" in front of the hotel.

There are better choices around with no beach front, newer rooms and at much cheaper price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnieAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#41 of 338 in Kuta
5,105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#68 of 338 in Kuta
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Febri's Hotel & Spa
#11 of 338 in Kuta
1,718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#70 of 338 in Kuta
2,169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#10 of 338 in Kuta
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Property: Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kuta
#4 Family Hotel in Kuta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#8 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing