We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel worth the price tag.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel worth the price tag.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed here with a group of friends in early June 2010. The hotel looks stunning especially compared to surrounding hotels. The large open lobby is a great place to meet up. The pool area is serene with the large swim up bar a highlight. Breakfast was the best I have had anywhere. The selection is huge and it changes daily. The rooms are clean and spacious with all the required facilities. The fitness centre is reasonably well equipped but needs better air conditioning. Overall the hotel is top class and delivers on its $180 USD + 21% tax price tag.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duchovny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    557
    139
    33
    37
See reviews for
645
710
62
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wickham WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

We loved this hotel. The staff was amazingly friendly and always willing to help. Our room cleaner went out of his way to make the coolest towel sculptures for our children that kept them running back to the room every day so see what awaits! The breakfast was beyond words. Every choice was available and fresh and delicious. there were always more than enough staff to make sure everything was hot and delivered promptly. Then there is the pool! Oh the beachside massages! And don't' forget room service! Honestly, this was the best experience and we have traveled quite a bit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PilbaraPerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

Myself and my wife stayed here for two days after returning from our honeymoon on Nusa lembongan. Unfortunately having stayed at the Padma in legian previously we could not help feeling that the Discovery was not up to the standard of other 5 star hotels in Bali. We found that the staff did not speak english as well as we were accustomed and the grounds missed the detail we have experienced in other places. On a positive note we loved the design of the pool bar. The sunken bar area next to the Pool is the best we have seen in bali. The rooms are typical of hotel style blocks or flats and we really prefer the chalet type designs
Overall an OK hotel but for the price you can get better in Bali.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyandandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

big let down with this hotel - very overpriced have stayed at bettter hotels in bali for a less cost. it needs a major revamp . apart from the facilities my main gripe is about our checkout.. We checked out at the allotted time of 12 noon our flight wasnt till 10 that night so left our luggage including tickets, credit cards and passports asyou don;t want to carry them r ound all day) at reception to be looked after (I assumed left luggage was locked away in a secure place) we came back to the hotel around 5 that evening to find our luggage sitting in the middle of the reception floor - no security tags no nothing - my son approached his case to add some stuff and noone approached him. to ask him why he was interfering with luggage. I complained to the staff about the lack of security but was told it was secure. ovbviously not if a 14 year old boy can tamper with luggage and not be questioned -wont staty here again - not impressed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisawPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

It’s a good hotel but a little over rated. Nothing bad about it, just not worth ranting and raving about. The beach however is literally a few steps away, and the Discovery mall is a block away. Good location. A good hotel and worth it, just not the best deal in Bali to me.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsteve12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Vic.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

I have been to Bali 4 times now and right from the beginning I had time to stay at different venues as well as Kartika. Fell in love with this place after the first time here. Location,location,location. 8 minutes walk to Kuta square and Kuta markets, near all the banks, next door is Discovery shopping mall and a magic Black Canyon coffee shop on
main floor facing beach which has the nicest cheapest food in Bali and iced coffees and pure juices cheap as, that you would die for and very clean.

The hotel is one of the nicest in Bali and I have been to some. The grounds are very well maintained daily and the pool is one of the biggest with a swim up bar as big as my double garage. The pool bar is open till 10pm most nights and that pool is so nice you can't keep away from it day and night. The foyers are all in marble and very elegant
the rooms are fair sized maintained daily with all the goodies of shampoos soaps, gels
etc and bottle water daily. Laundry is done and back in a day the staff are the best, being so nice and friendly and the breakfast is wow plus with a european chef and all the yummy pastries as an extra treat. You want for nothing in breakfast. The only downside to Kartika is the holidays are never long enough and you always leave wanting to come back for more. I have been to lots of places around the globe but this place is a special
little slice of heaven for me will be back for more again. Thanks Kartika for a wonderful stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taniaterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

Rooms are a bit dated and our aircon needed an overhaul... Kids club was unexciting and room was very small. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the location was good if you want to be close to the centre. Best tortellini at the Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ffroggy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#24 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Rhadana Kuta
Rhadana Kuta
#88 of 250 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Property: Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#2 Family Hotel in Kuta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing