We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed several time and will continue to come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 254 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Dont look any further this resort has everything you want whilst on your vacation.
Courteous staff, pleasant surrounds, clean rooms, refreshing pool bar yes you can sit at the bar in the pool and enjoy your drinks, good restaurants within the resort, and as for the breakfast it is amazing on some days we find our selves just sitting and chatting for a couple of hours, The staff at the Kartika just can't do enough for you they are all ever pleasing. My only wish is that the wi fi be faster {I did notice a lot of new wi fi upgrades were being carried out} and if possible for those who have to do a little work on vacation that there own wi fi site be available even at extra cost.
The Kartika is located just next to the Discovery shopping Mall, great for the lady's shopping

Room Tip: We always prefer a ocean pool facing room on the second level
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,231)
There are newer reviews for Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,350 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

The kartika plaza is based in south kuta, so it is just a short walk into the town and the main shops etc, however far enough away not to hear all the nightime antics of drunken australians. The rooms albeit are a bit dated, however all the facilities are immaculate and the staff are always helpful and enthusiastic to organise events for you. The view of the beach is perfect and the breakfasts are always amazing

Room Tip: Try to get a pool or ocean facing room for good views
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The staff in this hotel were fantastic. Very friendly, even remembered us and our names from a previous visit. The place is faultless.
My only gripe was the WiFi was very slow and very temperamental.
Breakfast is outstanding....staff amazing...surroundings exquisite...I could have sat at the pool bar all day!!!
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Pool or sea view rooms have best outlook
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tabbiespice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just returned from an 8 night stay at Discovery Kartika Plaza for our first time to Bali.

Firstly, the resort is in a great location in Kuta. It is set back off the main road so whilst it is amongst the Kuta buzz, once you are in the resort it is very peaceful, quiet and authentic.
Next door to the discovery shopping centre which we found very handy. It backs on to beach access so no need to cross busy roads to get to the sea. We also used this beach path as an alternative option when walking into central Kuta to avoid the busy street and shop vendors if you need a break. Cheap taxi ride to the airport which was very handy.

Big pool where we spent a lot of time with a big swim up bar and well maintained gardens everywhere. All very relaxing.

We had a ocean view room which was great on level 3. Had everything we needed and was very clean. Nice balcony for relaxing which overlooked the resort pool and gardens and the sea.

All staff were genuinely friendly and very helpful all the time.

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, big selection on offer with variations most days to mix it up for you .
I also recommend the seafood buffet on Friday nights, we did this on our first night and it was a great introduction to the resort. Not only was the buffet great but this included traditional Balinese dance entertainment and music plus some other entertaining surprises.

Overall, we really enjoyed out stay - can't think of anything negative to say about the place and are already recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Ocean View was great for us, over looking the gardens, pool and sea
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mykeynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was my fourth time to Bali but Discovery Kartika Hotel was in a very convenient location. Since we, my husband and I were planning to veg out this holiday, the hotel was in a good location for that plus the shopping center located right next to the hotel made it nice for us to go shopping and dine out as well.

Room Tip: We stayed at the garden front rooms, very quiet and convenient but if you want to go out to the pool...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctor_and_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our 2nd trip staying with the Kartika as part of our Wakatobi dive trips. The pool bar is great. We spent several evenings there. The dinner buffets are OK but no bargain. The rooms were clean and quiet.
The location on the beach is really hard to beat. Beautiful views and close to whatever you want to do.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in Kartika Plaza after returning from the diving trip. We found in the hotel exactly what we were looking for. The hotel was very clean, bed was big and comfy. The pool with the pool bar was great and that's basically where we stayed the whole day. We did not try hotel restaurants as we prefered eating out except for the pool bar and breakfast restaurant. For breakfast the selection was really wide accommodating breakfast habits of everyone - ranging from soup, dumplings and sushi for Asians to freshly made eggs/omelets, great selection of fruits and sweets and surprisingly good coffee. Hotel stuff was attentive though sometimes just keep in mind that in Bali everything takes time. I enjoyed my stay in this hotel very much and recommend it to everybody. The hotel is directly on the beach and the main road also offers wide selection of restaurants, local stores and neighbours a shopping mall.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms in the right wing facing some dance club (tac tac house music beats....)
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#21 of 254 in Kuta
5,391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#38 of 254 in Kuta
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#14 of 87 in Legian
2,361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#39 of 254 in Kuta
2,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#2 Family Hotel in Kuta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $124 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing