We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still the same”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“still the same”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed at Kartika plaza 14 years ago and it still looks pretty much the same. For the price you pay you can get much better deals elsewhere. Its not in the best spot, not the best beach, look elsewhere. We came back and stayed in Kuta for less than $50 aus a night and great place.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    596
    152
    35
    41
See reviews for
687
759
69
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Bad management of the hotel, dirt on the premises... . The reason we chose this hotel was the beach and kids club. There is no beach at all, kids club was not friendly, it seemed they were not interested in kids at all. Some activities they didnt perform coz 2 kids are not enough for that.
Food is a different story, much more worse... there was a large selection of the food in the breakfast buffet BUT its quality is so poor. It seems they hired someone to cook at the last minute without training. So i forced myself to come down to have at least a cup of coffee for breakfast. We stay in Bali not the first time so i would never come back to this hotel if it is not emergency))). It will be Hard rock hotel next time, they have fantastic kids club and breakfast are better).

Room Tip: best with the garden view on the ground floor for families with kids 4-16 yo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tutik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

we were on a inspection visit to bali in april and went to dyansaty kartika plaza for a massage

i normally like to go for a massage when i am travelling tot hese countries where they have good massages and here was an excellent massage and spa

the lobby was also very good, you get a very positive vibe when you come here

the shopping mall next door completes your visit to Bali
very nice hotel, very friendly people in Indonesia

Room Tip: rooms on the back have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shitijtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fremantle, WA, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel. Recommended for families, great kids club, across the road from water bomb park, walk to kuta shopping, plenty of restaurants and nightlife also within a stones throw. Great babysitters if u have kids, highly recommended, trustworthy and great piece of mind. The breakfast is phenomenal. Cannot fault, fabulous service, amazing food, you will not be disappointed. Pool !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool as it is a big resort an some of the rooms are a long way away. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmithFamilyHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. A really lovely place. prices were very reasonable. The food was delicious and staff were very friendly. Beautiful beach but no swimming in the morning because of low tide.
The buffet breakfast was great and catered to all different nationalities. This is a great hotel for a family with younger children. Nice and cleaned room with a flat-screen and balcony.
The staff are always friendly and helpful.
We definitely would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garymm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 4 years but will not be returning ever again. The first visits were without issue but after the most recent visit I will be looking elsewhere to experience some real service and not the lip service on offer at this hotel.

My most recent visit was for 5 nights in a group of 12 (5 rooms). When first making the reservation we contacted the hotel directly seeing as it was a larger booking and we often stayed at this hotel we thought we might be offered a discount rate or hotel transfers or some sort of upgrade. In what should have been no surprise from the management of this hotel they were very unhelpful and as a result we booked via expedia.

After booking via expedia the hotel was contacted to arrange hotel transfers and a late checkout on at least one of the rooms (12.30am flight home). Hotel transfer was organised (be careful when organising this as in their interpretation of the english language hotel transfer only means from airport to hotel and not back again). As far as the late checkout goes they were very unhelpful once again and basically told us to organise it through our travel agent expedia. As we were travelling in a few weeks we thought we would wait and organise it when we arrived at the hotel. On arrival we were informed that they were fully booked and no late checkout would be available due to 2 conferences. You would think a customer service orientated management would have advised us of the conferences at the time we inquired about the late checkout by email but not at the discovery. After a couple of heated exchanges the best they could offer was the slight possibility of a late check out on one for the rooms at 6pm at a cost of approx $150. This was at what they made out to be a gesture of good will on their part to give us hope of paying $150 for use of one of their rooms for 6 hours.

Not happy with this we ventured across the street to the bali rani hotel where the management personally showed us each of the rooms they offered and gave us a good price on a family suite for the entire night. On top of that they offered transfers to the airport for $15 for 12 people (discovery wanted $5 per person or $60). Finally we had found a hotel that treated their customers well and not with contempt and all we had to do was walk across the street. A move we should have made on day one.

So after 4 years of loyal patronage by myself and many of my family and friends it’s time to part ways with the discovery kartika plaza hotel. Your service is no longer in the ball park of other hotels in the area and i won’t waste more money staying at your hotel. Your decision to focus on the conference circuit might be keeping your hotel full at night but it was quiet during the day and your complete lack of care towards your everyday customers will see you lose money in the long run. This is exactly what this hotel needs to get back to the core values of the service a hotel should offer its guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aus-Traveller-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Considering the pric would have expected a better experience. The hotel is very large so you don't get the service you get in smaller hotels. Sitting round the pool you have children racing past you on bikes when you're trying to relax and you always have to go up to the bar to ask for a drink they never came to us. If you can choose your room ask for the left wing as the right wing is near a night club. Breakfast was okay, nothing special, have had better in Bali. Would go elsewhere next time you can find better for the price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Clungy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#21 of 251 in Kuta
4,965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#41 of 251 in Kuta
1,559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#4 of 251 in Kuta
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Property: Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#2 Family Hotel in Kuta
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing