We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“DKP's Beachfront Villa - An unforgettable Holiday Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 224 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Speyer, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DKP's Beachfront Villa - An unforgettable Holiday Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Discovery Kartika Plaza is different to all other hotels we have seen in Kuta so far.

This Beachfront hotel offers you all and more!
DKP cleary represents Bali's culture. The architecture, the staff friendliness, the service and the location makes your BALI holiday simply perfect. Discovery Kartika Plaza's facilities, such as the La Cuccina Ocean view Restaurant, recommended to outside guests also, complete the in-house service.

In between the regular holiday, we wanted to do something really special and had booked for two days DKP's Beachfront Villa and even if it was not really cheap, we haven't regret any single spent Cent/Rupiah. The Beachfront Villas at DKP stand for pure privacy and the living room in between the two bedrooms with outdoor shower and indoor bathtub, offers an ocean view, you will never forget. A huge garden gives the chance to have an outstanding romantic sunset dinner or just to hang out with friends, traveling with a lower budget. A 24 hours Butler Service was available. Even we haven't used it, for those who would like to eat at 3 am in the morning has to be said, you will get cooked anytime, just ring the bell.All in we have to say that we haven't had any compare able holiday experience so far and to those who want to afford one time in their live something very special, DKP's Beachfront Villas are highly recommended.

We can't say anything about the regular rooms, but if they go hand in hand with all the other positive experiences we have made, they are for sure outstanding. Please check for this other tripadvisor ratings.

To all to those who love to stay in Kuta and looking for a unique holiday experience has to be mentioned, Discover Kartika Plaza makes your holiday a unique experience. If you have thought about a city hotel, think about spending a little more if you can afford it, you only live once!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank markuss447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    508
    122
    30
    32
See reviews for
560
615
56
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bansko, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you want to be able to walk around and know you have a fantastic base to return to this place is for you. The facility is lovely, rooms are spacious, and the location is great. Definitely recommended. The front desk was very helpful...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from another great time at this great Hotel,the staff are friendly & always remember your name & make you so welcome.I had my Grandaughter who has Downs Syndrome with me & the staff where very good to her especially the pool staff.

Room Tip: I always have the same room,but one on the 2nd fl is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start, from when you first arrive the impressive entry leaves you thinking wow, if your after 5 star at good value this is this place. My favourite spot is the pool bar running second to the most magnificent buffet breakfast, even the Buffett in the evening is faultless LOVE this place well done management

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macacorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Thank you kartika for a wonderful stay. Rooms were lovely and big and the air con so colds husband loved it was so nice coming back to a cold room after shopping the streets in the heat. So close to discovery mall and some great restaurants in walking distance. The beach path leads you middle of kuta for some great shopping. The breakfast was just outstanding and the service outstanding. Pool was clean and always seemed to be a spot under the shade no matter what time of the day...the club sandwich by the pool sooo yummy!!! we had a wonderful stay thank you and can't wait to see you all again but next time I will have my twins as I missed them too much!!!



  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamroscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is our fourth time in Bali and we had an amazing experience at the Discovery Kartika Plaza. First the rooms were amazingly spacious, we got the discovery suite. The staff at DKP were attentive, polite and eager to help out at all times. We stayed there for 10 nights and wanted to stay there for another 3 weeks. I have so much praise for Indri and Utami at the Kids club there, they are so amazing with the kids. My daughter loved it there which made it nicer to go and do things like get suits and shop so much easier on your own. This was our first trip with a child to Bali, I am glad I chose Discovery Kartika Plaza as it was the relaxing holiday we all needed.
Will definately stay here again if we go back to Bali. Wisnu (or Wiznu) from breakfast was super friendly and I am glad he was patient with me trying my Indonesian. Lovely fruit and amazing food meant we didn't need to eat lunch. DKP was so close to the shopping centre (next door) and Waterbom and so many restaurants and ATMS that we didn't have to walk far. Tip re Bluebird taxis was great (much cheaper) and braids from Sari and Jodys is stil in a few weeks later. Loved it want to go back soon. Not sure I would travel in wet season again due to cyclones around though...6 hour turbulent flight over put me off next time will be dry season
It's an expensive hotel but worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodsta2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Without a doubt this resort would be one of the best hotel/resorts we have stayed in on many of our trips to SE Asian countries. A great location, 10 min. walk to Kuta central, 10 min. drive from the airport. The road the resort is located on(Jalan Katika Plaza) is noisy and busy, but hey thats South Kuta, if you want somewhere quite go elsewhere, but you will miss out on one of the best stays. The staff were freindly and attentive, our rooms were always clean, infact the whole complex was always clean and tidy. The pool and pool bar were superb within well maintained gardens, breakfast was great with plenty of choices. We stayed at this resort because we attended a wedding that was held here, and a beatifull wedding it was. If anyone is thinking of getting married I can highly recommend this place. In all, our stay at this magnificant resort was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#24 of 224 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 3,459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Kuta
Alaya Resort Kuta
#3 of 224 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
0.3 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#27 of 224 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Property: Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#1 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing