We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“discovery experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We arrive at 16:00 and being told that our room wasn't ready.
It took 45 minutes + 2 times back and fort to front desk till it is ready.
Room is clean but amenity is average (no tooth brush? for 4 stars hotel? ).
The tap water is salty and un-drinkable.
in fact the shower water too.

facility is good
view is average
location is good
breakfast is good (they did serve a lot of kind of cuisine international + local touch in rotation) - one won't feel bored if you stay there for 1 week.

consider the price + what we got - for us the hotel is above average.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vprimush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,835 - 1,841 of 2,350 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2008

This is the 6th -maybe 7th time we have stayed at The Kartika and it seems to get better all the time. It is our home away from home. Very laid back and comfortable. Wonderful staff. The grounds are immaculate and the room- ground floor private garden pool view room- was fantastic. Every thing is close by. The themed buffet nights were great. We took our 4 year old and she loved every minute of it. Pool food was good and you can choose between Japanese or the pool menu or the italian restaurant menu. The sushi was yummy !! The location is the best too. BOOK IT !!!! I am back there again in 7 weeks for a girls 10 nights away-- cant wait.xx

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank truthtellerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

We stayed at the Discovery Kartika Plaza over the New Year for 9 nights. This was our 3rd time at this hotel and I would stay there again if we return to Bali. It is in a great location with a 24 hr mini mart across the road, Discovery Plaza shopping Centre next door and plenty of shopping around the hotel. The pool area is beautiful. The staff were lovely and always make us feel welcome. I would reccommend the hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yvonne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

My partner and I have just come back from Bali and stayed 7 nights at the Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, South Kuta. We really enjoyed our stay here, comfortable rooms, great pool area (big pool) and close to restaurants, bars, shops & markets.

The buffet breakfast at the hotel is excellent, anything you can think of is there. The Kul Kul Pool Bar is also very good, great to relax around the bar with a cool drink on a hot day - reasonable prices too. The pizzas from the Italian restaurant were also brilliant! We shared a pizza and had a couple of cold Bintang beers for lunch (served around the pool) - couldn't be more relaxing than that.

We had a couple of massages in the beach hut by the beach, approx AUD$ 27 for 1 hr. Great to relax with a massage and listening to the waves from the sea.

The beach here is not brilliant, it has brown sand, but it is OK to swim here. You can walk a little further towards Kuta and the sand is a little bit better.

The Discovery Kartika also has a gym, looked good, did intend to use it ..... but ran out of time .....

We had a "Oceanview" room, well it sort of had ocean view. You could see the ocean through the trees & bushes. The gardens around the hotel are very well kept.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay. Comfortable rooms, nice & clean, close to everything. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank africa94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

We stayed at the Kartika Plaza over christmas this year and were fairly happy with out stay.
The grounds, reception and pool area are all amazing (the pool bar is a must!) and are kept immaculate. Staff are friendly but at times service can be slow (especially when waiting on food and drinks).
Rooms are roomy enough, king size bed that is extremely comfortable - only complaint is the rooms smell a bit musky and the aircon's couldn't keep up with the heat so it often felt a bit damp.
Overall though quite happy with this hotel and would probably go back (if only for the pool area - its great! Plus you can see the beach while lazing aroung the pool which is a bonus).
My parents stayed at the Dynasty but were very unhappy there and spent most free time at our hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PerthJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2008

My family and I have just returned from a Bali holiday. I spent a lot of time looking for accomodation with two rooms to suit a family. I was thrilled when I saw that Discovery Kartika Plaza offered a family suite. It included two rooms, with two TVs (an excellent range of satellite TV), one bathroom and a balcony.

The rooms were perfect for a family. The hotel is just across the road from the Waterbom Park and next door to Discovery Shopping Plaza, which includes a department store and many speciality shops.The hotel is on the beach and has a large swimming pool.

The breakfast buffet did have a large choice, but if you went too late they struggled to keep each section supplied. They also were a bit slow with the tea/coffee service. The egg stations were good, but the pancakes tasted like they had been made with UHT milk. We enjoyed one meal at the Italian restaurant, La Cucina - suitable for families as it does have a kids menu.

Overall, a great location and good facilities for families.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Koko456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

The Kartika Plaza is an oasis in the hustle and bustle of Kuta. This is our second trip to Kuta and our first stay at the Kartika plaza. We Loved loved loved it. The location is outstanding. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel is just finishing up a renovation. We had a new room. It was fantastic. The view of the ocean and pool is worth the extra dollars and upgrade. The spa services lacked for a 5 star hotel, but we used them and they were just adequate. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. We stayed two weeks and never tired of the breakfast. The restaurants were overpriced and the food was bland ( except breakfast). We ate off site quite a bit. The pool; there are not enough words to rave about it! There was construction on the beach, but it didn't bother us. The ocean is too rough for a relaxing swim, excellent for surfing though. The rooms were clean and fresh with no complaints. Even the grass was swept clean everyday. Great mix of guests. Alot of Australians and Europeans. Don't let the hotel web site turn you away, it doesn't do it justice. While we were there, several conferences were hosted, but did not inconvenience us at all. We will stay there again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welovetotravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
5,926 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#43 of 251 in Kuta
1,721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#37 of 251 in Kuta
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Poppies Bali
Poppies Bali
#1 of 251 in Kuta
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amnaya Resort Kuta
Amnaya Resort Kuta
#2 of 251 in Kuta
823 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#2 Family Hotel in Kuta
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $110 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing