We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Arrive here late night and do direct check in is not as difficult as we imagine, very nice receptionist, very good service although its 3am in the morning, already make a good value. Big Room, Big TV, Big Bed and Big Bathroom with garden view, makes we want to stay longer! Very clean and really really enjoy the fresh air, has lots of big tree.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artharini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,584 - 1,590 of 2,350 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at this beautiful resort. Great location, great amenities ,great food and wonderful staff. Have recommended this resort to all our friends and we will definitely return again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My partner and I have been to Bali a few times, always staying somewhere new to see what different hotels have to offer. But ever since our stay at The Discovery Kartika Plaza, I don't think that we could stay anywhere else. We stayed at this hotel last October for 6 nights and it was amazing. When we booked it we were worried that maybe we had payed too much for a weeks stay but after the trip it was probably the best hotel we have been in and definitely worth the cost.

Location is great. Even though when you are inside the hotel rooms, walking through the gardens or even relaxing by the pool you feel like you are in your own little paradise, then you walk outside and you have the beach at your doorstep, the Discovery mall is just a few minutes walk up the road, Waterbom park is close and the markets and nightlife aren't too far off either. Only a quick taxi ride away.

The hotel staff were very friendly. Always wanting to help you if you needed it and greeted you every morning at breakfast. The front reception staff were great too, very happy to organize taxis and daily outings.

The food was great! Lot's of options and a few different places to choose from within the hotel itself which is great if you just want a relaxing night at the hotel. The room service is great too!

The pool is massive! Relatively deep but they do have a children's pool as well which is good. The pool has a swim up bar which is very relaxing and you can eat in the pool if you wish.

All in all it really was a great hotel. I'd recommend it to anyone staying in that area. Couples, families, anybody really. It's a hotel that makes you feel at home and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy_Elizabeth_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is no wonder a great hotel for the beautiful beach and nice staffs and fascilities. Room service was excellent. If you are a halal certified travellers that require an authorized halal certificate before consuming, besides the hotel are fast food outlets eg KFC and A&W with clear display of Majlis Ulama Indonesia halal certificates. It is also good for the hotel to obtain this certificate from MUI for some of its restaurants, to accomodate the increasing number of muslim travellers.

Room Tip: Near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank irfan_mohamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

From the moment I arrived (well after the momentary power failure which was not repeated) this was both a great place to stay and an excellent business venue.

Staff were universally pleasant and knowledgeable (and their English was a lot better than my Bahasa), facilities were clean and modern, everything worked, food was exceptional and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The gym and day spa was a welcome break from work, while the choice of Indonesian, Italian and Japanese restaurants provided a great range.

Although not there for a tourist visit, Kuta Beach at your back door (literally walk off the pool lawn onto it) and Discovery Mall right next door made it hard to fault.

This will certainly be my Bali base from now on.

Room Tip: higher rooms have a better sea view (check the hotel plan for details) and upper floors bring you ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weary_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

In preparing to write the review for this hotel, I got more and more confused and wonder how come people would give good comments on this hotel.
First of all, the hotel is DIRTY!!! There are stains, even oil stains, on the linens and and you can see spots here and there in the room.
The service is very poor. I ordered the room service and they prepared the wrong ingredients for my noodles. I called to room service to complain and, whoever answered the phone told me he would come to my room to check but he NEVER did. Instead, he sent someone else to just come to collect the plate without telling this staff what the issue was about. So, this staff just collected the plate and let me know he had no idea the problem I had with the food.
Then, when I was in the bathroom on one night, I could not believe I saw a cockroach! I killed it immediately and called to housekeeping. The only answered I got was, "I am sorry." And, believe it or not? They did not even follow up this matter the following day. It seems they just did not care at all!
This evening, I went with my colleague for a drink in Tepan Noodle inside this resort. While I was sipping my cocktail, I saw a rat running under the floor!!!
I am checking out tomorrow morning. I am happy that I can finally leave this hotel. If it is not because of a conference held in this hotel, I would NEVER want to stay here!!!
BTW, the room is, yes, spacious. I booked an ocean front room. But, everything is just simple in the room. Simple furniture. When I saw my colleague post the photos of his room on facebook, I found the painting hung on his hotel room wall look exactly the same as that hung in my hotel room!!
If you have other better choice, stay elsewhere!! This is my most genuine advice!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank margarita_red2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spacious room, perfect location in Kuta! The staff were very polite and willing to help. I loved the widespread breakfast menu and the large swimming pool close by. The pool bar is a thumbs up from me! I will surely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BhawnaAhlawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
5,926 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#43 of 251 in Kuta
1,722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#37 of 251 in Kuta
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Poppies Bali
Poppies Bali
#1 of 251 in Kuta
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amnaya Resort Kuta
Amnaya Resort Kuta
#2 of 251 in Kuta
823 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kuta Beach Heritage Hotel Bali - Managed by Accor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#2 Family Hotel in Kuta
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $107 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing