We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 253 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just loved it”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have been to Bali 15 times and the last 12 at Kartika- we have found it to be the besgt. Close enough to Kuta to go shopping but far enough away from Kuta night life . The service and the staff are the best you could wish for. We have eaten at all the restuarants there and the found has always been delicous. Would recommend to anyone to stay including families. The kids club looks great and the girls looking after the kids are just wonderful. Love it Love it

Room Tip: We have stayed in a few different rooms but the private garden was great (ground floor) and the 2 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    620
    153
    36
    42
See reviews for
733
781
71
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We have just returned from a one week stay at Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel, Bali. As there were three of us we opted for the Discovery Suite which had the benefit of two bedrooms and lounge area. We had not stayed at this hotel before and we were very pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness of this suite, it had everything you would want including two bathrooms and three toilets. Very important when staying with an adult son!

The room was spotlessly clean and had all amenities you would want including a full size refrigerator. The balcony was large and had chairs, coffee table and daybed with another coffee table. It offered a great view over the hotel pool area and views over Kuta beach and the ocean. There was a King bed and two singles, which were very comfortable.

Breakfast is served in The Pond restaurant, which is a large restaurant with a great outdoor area surrounded by a pond that is filed with Koi carp. The service here was very good, all staff were very friendly and warmly welcomed each guest. The breakfast choice was very good, offering a cereals, fruit, egg station, separate omelette station, soft and crispy bacon, pork and chicken sausage, baked beans, potato dishes, mushrooms and tomato. There are several choices of fresh breads, rolls, four toasters available, freshly cooked pancakes or waffles with a choice of maple syrup, fresh whipped cream and jams. There is a salad station that offered cold cuts and fresh salad vegetables. In addition, there were also Indonesian and Japanese dishes offering rice, noodles and porridge. You certainly won't go away hungry. We also ate at the pool bar and Italian restaurant and had room service and the food was always of a high standard.

The pool is enormous with a fabulous pool bar, there are plenty of sun lounges and, unlike some other hotels we have stayed in, there is no need to get up at daybreak and race for a sun lounge. The pool boys do a great job setting up the lounges for the day and do everything they can to ensure guests are looked after.

We were there for Nyepi Day, which celebrates the Hindu new year and traditionally is a day of silence, regrettably some guests didn't respect this custom. On this day you cannot leave the hotel and the staff do everything they can to ensure guests needs are met with a Buffet dinner in the evening. We quite enjoyed sharing this occasion and witnessing the colourful parade, which is held the night before.

Back to the hotel, the spa and gym are excellent and includes a squash court and table tennis court. There is a great choice of spa and massage treatments carried out by very professional staff.

We could not fault the hotel in any way, as mentioned the staff go out of their way and are a credit to the hotel. We enjoyed it so much we booked another two weeks in October before we left the hotel!
Jo

Room Tip: Family rooms looked great, Discovery suite highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jogeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2012

what a great place to stay. The service was prompt and professional. The rooms were nice and housekeeping was excellent. The three or four in house restuarants had great food and service. Location is excellent with a short walk to mall, markets and waterbom park. Staff were always very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic with a huge variety. The pool and the bar were very relaxing. Depending on the view you want you could get ones to the sea or ones with a view to the pool. After a few days in a room i then went into a Villa and they were sensational. Had your own private pool and massage bed outside.The room service was fantastic, the cleaners would leave towels made up on your bed in shapes of dogs, turtles etc...added a nice touch to it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bestty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

On Last weekend, my business friends and I was invited by Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali, collaboration with Hatten Wine to held the Wine and Dine at the Pond Restaurant, Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali.
A great nite accompanied with friends and wines, with a good live band as the background. The food was great, was a canapes in wide variety of selections, creation of Chef Weinner so good.
The Hatten provide us all variety of it's product, so we have many option to choose as per our desire. I like the ambience and the people, we had a great time, chit chat, joking and sharing the thought about the food and the wine :), as the time goes by, its 11 pm, time to us to go home, we left the restaurant felling lucky :)
Thanks Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HendraOktaviano82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Having lost count of the number of times my husband and I have travelled to Bali and the countless hotels that we have stayed, Kartika is the one that we will return to. We have stayed at this hotel 4 times now and will return. We were upgraded to a family suite when we stayed for 5 nights at the beginning of our trip and it was wonderful, very roomy - plenty of room for a family with 3 kids. Otherwise, the ocean facing rooms are worth the extra cost for the beautiful scenery. As always, the service is excellent, breakfast incredible, pool bar and room service exceptional and the hotel is immaculately clean. There were a few renovations going on (which is a good thing in the long run) but we couldn't hear it from inside our room. The WiFi in the room drops out a lot but we didn't spend a lot of time on the net anyway. The business centre is available at a cost.
The only downer on the stay was at the spa - we went for a 2 hour pamper but there was so much noise right outside of the spa (workmen doing upgrades) that it was not relaxing and a waste of time. We did give feedback as positive critisism so hopefully the problem was addressed but we weren't offered a refund. The spa has been udgraded and is lovely so I wouldn't let this put me off for a next time because the masseurs and ambience were excellent. Next time I would ensure that it was peaceful and relaxing before I settled into it and expect to be refunded if it wasn't .

Room Tip: Definitely the ocean facing. The beach isn't great for swimming but the views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slyunus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Would recommend the Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel at Kuta, Indonesia. We booked more than 5 rooms for family group attending a wedding there. The only negative experience there was that our rooms that were previously booked were 'given away' because our flight had been cancelled & it wasn't until the next day that we arrived. The hotel fixed it up & all was well from then on (we ended up sharing a suite with our senior folks). Having travelled to resorts a bit, I found it inconvenient to be drinking only bottled water & not being able to eat salad, lest getting 'Bali Belly' (which some of our group did get). I would hope that a hotel such as this will be getting some sort of a water treatment system that produces good quality water for drinking. This hotel also did a wonderful job handling the wedding function. Some construction going on while we were there & we could hear hammers starting at 3am, but not too bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nswperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2012

nice hotel with great services. my daughter had an experience with the swimming pool..

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yubetmochamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#20 of 253 in Kuta
5,242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#39 of 253 in Kuta
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#14 of 87 in Legian
2,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Febri's Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#43 of 253 in Kuta
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel

Property: Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
Address: Jl. Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#1 Business Hotel in Kuta
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#2 Family Hotel in Kuta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel offers the warmth of Balinese service with caring and thoughtful service. Set on 8-hectares of gardens and ponds, along 550-metres of private beach, are 318 rooms, suites, and villas. This includes villas with beachfront access, ocean view suites, and ocean front rooms.The hotel has 3 dining outlets, 2 bars and 2 lounges, and facilities such as a swimming pool, full service business centre, day spa, and Kid’s Club. Spacious function rooms, including a 700 sqm ballroom, and a private helipad allow for grand celebrations, romantic weddings, private business meetings, or large conferences.The hotel proves welcoming for couples, friends, families and business executives. Its convenient location makes it an ideal gateway to the vibrant and colourful sights of central Kuta. It is within walking distance to the main Kuta shopping areas, including the neighbouring Discovery Shopping Mall, Waterbom Park as well as a variety of retail, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Kartika Plaza Kuta
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing