We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great property but needs some innovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Bintang Bali Resort
Ranked #44 of 251 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I last reveiwed Ramada Bintang Bali a year ago. My experience last time was very good, as it was again this time, however having stayed twice, a year apart I'd say the resort needs to take a few things into consideration to keep pace with what is happening in the rest of bali and particularly around the Kuta area. Mostly there is a need for some innovation.

So the good things about Ramada Bintang Bali are its location, the rooms, the grounds and the pool. These are all what one would expect of such a property.

What's not so good?

Well the price this time was significantly higher than last time. Granted it was just before the end of Ramadan holiday season, but the resort was a long way from full and probably could not justify the price. If the prices stay this high we will stay elsewhere next time.

The food is only just above average.

One of the joys of resort living is the breakfast spread, and in Bali one expects to have lovely indonesian food for breakfast. This is not the case here. To be perfectly frank the breakfast here is among one of the least enjoyable in Bali or elsewhere in the region that I have stayed at. The selection at first appears to be wide, but in reality its very limited. If staying more than 3 days you'll probably do what we did and skip breakfast, even though its paid for, and head out downtown for some decent food. The setting is lovely, the service is not too bad unless its really really packed, but the actual food itself leaves a lot to be desired.

The resort also heavily promotes its theme dinners, of which there is one each night. To be fair they are reasonable value but not always at a time when one might want to eat dinner when on holidays. Again it does get dark early in Bali, but if you are there on a holiday you might just want to have a nice dinner at 9.30pm instead of 7pm.

The Wharf is pretty good for a beachside relaxing place with a casual menu, cold beer and live music after dark. But again the food is only fair. The indonesian side of the menu is pretty bland and we were very disappointed with the food on the whole. The beer was cold and the music was pretty good.

Strongly recommend that if you stay here you come and enjoy the band, the three girls and the one guy who sing are good, on some songs they are excellent. To get the real experience though ask them to belt out some good indonesian rock and roll, you'll enjoy it I promise.

I still standby my last assessment of this resort but it just feels like it needs some innovation, its all a bit same same and not different.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Aegisint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

me and my friend who is happened to be my scuba diving teacher stayed there for a week, room was very bad and faced to the construction beside the hotel on the east wing of the hotel. too much noise but luckily we were out for diving whole day, but it is really annoying in the early morning. beach is so close and the shopping centers and lllooooottts of restaurants. I rather not go there again unless I want to visit Bali and for shopping reason.

Room Tip: Room facing sea are much much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We were just went to Bali for our holiday from 28/8/11 to 31/8/11. We have chosen to stay in Ramada Bintang Bali and we really love the stay here! The environment here is green, peaceful and quiet. It's a good place if u would like to have a relaxing trip.

From the hotel entrance, you can tell that the hotel area is big. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We were served a welcome drink upon arrival. After we checked in to our room, i'm quite satisfied with our room. The room is not too big (as i find it's quite to sleep well in a BIG room), comfy and every of the room were attached with a private terrace. Pity is, the private terrace and the chairs in it is dusty. We need to clean it before we can sit on it. The floor is a bit dusty when we first checked in. But it improved when the housekeeping staff cleaned for us the next morning.

Next thing is about the beach. The hotel has its own beach. It's awesome! There are restaurant and spa by the beach. Further down a bit, there was a swimming pool. It's a pity that i didn't have the chance to try the restaurant (The Wharf) and spa. This is because i was joining those ground tour and meals are all included. But, we did have our breakfast there every morning. What i have to say about the breakfast is that the variety of food served is a lot. There served both western and local cuisine for the breakfast buffet. For the local cuisine, they hardly repeat the menu. We have tasted different kind of food for the 3 mornings. I love to have breakfast buffet and every time when i checked in to a hotel, i'll be looking forward for the breakfast. Ramada Bintang didn't disappoint me!

Lastly, the location of the hotel is great too. It's just minutes away from Bali's airport. When you walk out from the hotel entrance, there are restaurants, spas, and convenience store all along the street. You can have all kind of food you would like to have. Also not forgetting to mention about the security in Bali, it's good. You will feel safe even when you walk in the late night on the street.

This is my first visit to Bali, and i will definitely be back to Bali again! The people are nice, the food are nice, the stay in Ramada Bintang is FANTASTIC! I LOVE BALI!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joceysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Summary:
Ramada Bintang Bali Resort & Spa is in a good location, right on the beach, not far from the airport and close to all the activities of Kuta. The resort itself is pleasant enough. Rooms are rather basic, somewhat dated but adequate. Staff are very nice. Breakfast is terrific.

Arriving at Ramada Bintang Bali Resort & Spa:
The Ramada is only a few minutes from the airport as most of the traffic in the Kuta area can be avoided. Check-in was quick but having no status with Ramada we were given a room on the 1st floor at the back of the resort (near the main car entrance). I asked if a better located room was possible and after a bit of fuss we were given a ground floor room closer to the beach. I think it was worth the swap.

Ramada Bintang Bali Resort & Spa itself:
A pleasant enough 3.5-4 star hotel. The location and facilities were fine. The pool and gardens were very nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Rooms:
Rooms are adequate. Coming directly from another resort (The Holiday Inn, almost next door) we immediately noticed many differences: The Ramada had less towels (just 2), less glassware (just 2 in the bathroom), an old style TV, no radio, no ipod dock, no clock, no bathrobes, poorer quality toiletries... All these little things added up, but on the whole the room was dated but fine. The bathroom however could really have done with some renovation.

Meals:
Breakfast was great. There were theme nights at the main restaurant that looked like good value.

Leaving Ramada Bintang Bali Resort & Spa:
Check-out was quick and efficient. There is a departure room for those with late flights. We just needed a taxi to the airport and knew it would cost about IDR 20,000. The hotel transport desk wanted to charge IDR 50,000 so we just walked to the street and were in a taxi a minute later. Although IDR 50,000 is not a lot of money, no-one likes being ripped off and trying to charge more than double is not something hotels should do.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms seem nice with the garden outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Austman_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Great place to stay. Make sure to get breakfast included it is Fantastic. On the beach front are good Massages cheaper than Hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor was great, stayed near Restaurant at 8am waterfall turned on everyday if you like sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveoffoodsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

well it was the first time staying here an it was extremely well presented with the added bonus of a VIP lounge as we didnt fly out until 2am an checked out at 12pm which again come in handy.as well as being able to freshen up in the health club with a hot shower.the currency there at the moment is fantastic an we got 9695 rupiah for 1 aussie dollar brilliant.breakfast buffet changed everyday for those wanting to eat different things day to day.plenty of inhouse activities by the pool everyday.great spot for kids of all ages too.nothing negative to say as all staff were very happy an fun to interact with of all job descriptions.little squirrels run up an down palms in the morning funny as.awsome sunsets.karaoke,buy two bintangs get one free.happy hour starts at 11.30am.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisaanadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in a deluxe suite, can highly recomend this room for a family as it has a big lounge room, huge bedroom and two bathrooms so you won;t be on top of each other (even though you will probably share the bedroom). Pool was fabulous, great kids pool and nice little playground just near the pool so you can swim and watch the kids :) Breakfast selection is fabulous, even had waffles, pancakes, chocolate syrup etc! Very big selection. Staff are very friendly and efficient. Just down the road from Waterbom park, on the beach front and lots of restaurants nearby, what more could you ask for! Also, aircon in the room worked really well and beds nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anhaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.3 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
Kuta Paradiso Hotel
#43 of 251 in Kuta
1,721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#37 of 251 in Kuta
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
Hard Rock Hotel Bali
#24 of 251 in Kuta
5,926 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Dynasty Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Baruna Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Bintang Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Bintang Bali Resort

Address: Jalan Kartika Plaza, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#21 Family Hotel in Kuta
#28 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#32 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#33 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range: $87 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Bintang Bali Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Bintang Bali Resort, a beach front property in the heart of South Kuta, sets in more than six hectares of tropical gardens. The resort is conveniently located just ten minutes drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport and within a walking distance to the biggest shopping centre, the Discovery Shopping Mall and Lippo Mall Kuta. 402 Rooms and suites overlook the gardens featuring contemporary Balinese furnishing plus a full range of modern amenities. Hotel facilities include a free form swimming pool with cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi, swim-up bar, health club and sauna, beach restaurant and spa. All rooms come with balcony, tea and coffee making facilities, safe deposit box, and free wi-fi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Bintang Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bintang Bali Hotel Kuta
Ramada Bintang Bali Resort And Spa
Ramada Kuta
Kuta Ramada
Ramada Bintang Bali Resort Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing