We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Patra Bali Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas
Ranked #32 of 250 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

When we booked we also had read a couple ordinary reviews and were a bit concerned. I have learnt that there is just no pleasing some people. We loved it, the location was great, out of the nightclub scene, but close enough to walk to Kuta or just a cheap taxi ride. The rooms, grounds and pool were lovely. It is a great family and couples motel, that is veery quiet. All the rooms were a fair walk from the pool, but I needed this walk to work off their yummy breakfasts.
I must complain about the food, there was so much delicious food to choose from that I didn't know which buffet area to head to first each morning.
As we walked to local restaurants each evening and brought drinks from the nearby supermarkets, we didn't even get to check the price of drinks and food at the Patra. We did have a Greek Pizza once and it only cost about $8 and was very nice.
My only real complaint is that the motels don't seem to play the anklung? anymore and the staff all say "Goodmorning" instead of Salamat Pagi. I loved walking the streets and hearing the Balinese music (although my husband disagreed) and practising my limited Bahasa Indonesia.
I am counrting the days till we can go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeamarAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    317
    114
    41
    22
See reviews for
310
259
32
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

Truly a beautiful hotel.

My husband and I stayed with our two boys (aged 5 and 7) and we loved every single moment. The staff were so welcoming for us and our children. The pool staff played with our children, chasing and laughing with them.

The pool is really special. Its massive but not deep (120cm) so great for the kids. It was extremely quiet when we were there so it was peaceful and relaxing.

The food seems really expensive but the meals were massive so we ended up ordering half of what we normally would and still all being satisfied. The tax is 20% though so watch out. The drinks were very expensive but happy hour ran at Kintamami Pool Bar from 4pm till 5pm (about 55,000 rupiah for a small bintang but happy hour was two for one). Then from 5 till 7 pm it was happy our at the other side of the pool and their cocktails are STRONG!!!. Woo hoo.

The deluxe suite was more than big enough for the four of us. The children shared a fold out couch and we had a king size bed in a separate room with doors that closed for privacy. We each had a tv and access to foxtel which was fabulous for the kids as it was expensive to hire a dvd player (about 100,000 rupiah per day). And the bathroom was huge. Massive bath and beautiful shower (took a few minutes to warm up). I have never seen so many complimentary things in one hotel room in my life.

The staff are really friendly. However, we like it when the staff interact with us, most of the staff seem to be very quiet. Although we did meet a few staff that we had a good laugh with and who spoke excellent English and who gave us some tips for the holiday.

The walk to Kuta is really beautiful. Its about 15 minutes down the beach track which is meticulously maintained. Its a lovely walk and the vendors are not too pushy. There are also not a lot of vendors.

The restaurants are great. However, we found much cheaper ones in Kuta (such as Bantan Waru) and further down the beach (about 10 minutes walk) is a great cheap restaurant called Pantao. But the Pizza's in the italian restaurant at the hotel are really really good (and very big, one pizza feed at least 2-3 people).

Its great fun watching the planes come and go. Only the really big 747's make much noise and even then its not too loud. We thought it was great fun watching them.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank penguin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

We stayed in the Patra Bali for 9 nights in Jan 2010. It was beautiful, with excellent service. Our room was clean, staff friendly and the pools were great. Its a little walk from the Kuta Square, which is nice early morning or late afternoon. Food and drinks were expensive, remember the 20% they add on for tax. We had breakfast included in our stay which was brilliant - set us up for a great day!
Overall it was a clean, quiet place to stay and provided everything we needed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ana_linden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Patra. We arrived on the 2nd Jan till the 15th. We had a great time. We were a bit nervous at staying at this hotel as no one we new had stayed their and when I read some of the reviews, I thought oh my god!!. We went back to the travel agent who reassured us. We needn't have worried. We arrived around 10pm the staff were friendly. If your looking for 5*** then stay in a different country. These hotels are 5*** according to them and it 's neat and clean enough. I thought it was good, but different people have different ideas!!! We had asked for a room near the pool, unless you are staying in the Villas you wont get too near the pool. It is a big complex but we shouldn't have worried the walk wasn't too far with all the paths cutting through the complex.
We went for a relaxing break after a full on year. It was just what we wanted and needed.
The pool was lovely, the area clean and the gardens well maintained. The room was nice and clean. The staff were friendly.
Yes it is near the airport but you dont hear much and you soon get used to it anyway. Its nice watching the planes take off especially at sunset (knowing you are staying).
It was a cheap cab ride into Kuta shopping area around $3.00 if you caught the Bluebird taxis (which I highly recommend), or you can walk up the beach to the Holiday in and out onto the main street that way. Or check out the other hotels all within walking distance and walk through their complex.
It was nice to be out of the hussel.
My only gripe worth complaining about is the cost of the drinks and food in the hotel. With their taxes it is expensive, watch your bar tab adds up quickly a few people got a bad surprise!!! Purchase outside the hotel it is cheaper, their are lots of places.
Enjoy!!

  • Liked — It was relaxing
  • Disliked — Prices in the pool bars, they are expensive
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BeautyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

My husband, two children and I stayed for seven nights at this resort hotel. We found the staff very friendly and efficient and the suite was very clean, comfortable and sizeable. The location of the hotel was convenient and facilities were great. The children had a great time and didn't even need to try out the Kids Club as the pools' and activies there, were enough. My husband and I stayed here twelve years ago and it has been updated nicely. We would definitely stay again. Amanda - Perth

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda74Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

Our family of five stayed at The Bali Patra for 10 nights over Christmas and New Year. We stayed in an Embassy Suite which was fantastic. Over two levels, we had two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a sitting room. Highly recommend this room type for families as there was lots of space to spread out when we were back in our room. Unfortunately, like other reviewers have mentioned, we did not have hot water (it was lukewarm at best).
The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and very well maintained. The pool was great and never did we have a problem getting a sun lounge. It didn’t feel too busy around the pool, as we have found in other resorts.
The restaurants and room service at the hotel were OK, but not as good as I think they should be. We have no criticism of the breakfast buffet – we found the food to be excellent and there was lots of variety. Unfortunately, the room service and in-room dining menu was pretty average and expensive. We often had lunch by the pool for convenience and we found the service to be slow and the menu was not extensive.
With regards to the location, we appreciated that we were away from the busyness of Kuta. The main drawback for us was that it was such a busy time in Bali at the time we were there that it was NOT a short taxi ride into central Kuta at all. On a few occasions it was a half hour trip each way to get into Kuta (and back again) by taxi as the traffic was at a standstill pretty much all the way.
I did try the Day Spa for a few treatments and was very impressed. Well worth a visit (or two or three) while you are staying at The Patra.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidays_for_us_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

I preferred the Patra for the fact it was at the bottom end of Tuban and extremely quiet to have a few days rest. Less hawkers, less bogans. Ideal location and hotel to unwind, very quiet, which admittedly did take a while to get used to. In general a lovely hotel and well maintained with the usual gorgeous staff (which is the norm in Bali anyway).
We had a deluxe suite which i do recommend, these are at the south end of the hotel and in a good position.
A couple of complaints, which I did advise the hotel of, they allow guests to smoke at the tables right next to the breakfast buffet food (and it wasn't Aussies for a change) which was really just awful watching the smoke filter directly into the food. Wouldn't hurt to allocate areas away for the smokers. And we literally had no hot water for the duration of our stay. You don't need it admittedly but it is nice to have a warm shower, even if it's lukewarm.
It's about 20 minutes walk to the Discovery Shopping Centre which is lovely to do first thing in the morning and of course the taxis don't take long. Close to the airport, the planes were never an issue and being right next door to the local village(so to speak) was a great opportunity to watch the locals in the late afternoon swimming, playing soccer and generally being a little community that comes together. I enjoyed this time watching them and the sunsets.
Hotel is expensive as expected for food/drinks but you can get cheap bintangs on the beach on either side of hotel and the massages were 50,000 rupiah for an hour each. We didn't even bother to barter with that, it was cheap at $6 odd dollars Aussie.
Not many guests eat in the hotel's many restaurants and I suspect it's because of the price. The large pool is great, clean and extremely inviting as is the smaller pool at the southern end.
Overall, we enjoyed our time here and would stay again or recommend to others.
Well done to the Patra staff and management. You do a lovely job with your hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenineG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
1.5 mi away
Kuta Seaview Boutique Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Bali Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Discovery Kartika Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
1.3 mi away
Grand Inna Kuta
Grand Inna Kuta
#40 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patra Bali Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patra Bali Resort & Villas

Property: The Patra Bali Resort & Villas
Address: Jl. Ir. H. Juanda | South Kuta Beach, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kuta
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#25 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#33 Family Hotel in Kuta
#38 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Patra Bali Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas is a five star hotel set among 11 hectares of combination panoramic ocean and lush garden views, reflecting a true element of style in the culturally rich environment of Bali. The location is ideal, a huge landscaped property on South Kuta Beach, directly on the Indian Ocean and only five minutes from the airport. A huge (free) kids club with variety of kid's activities and great facilities for families made Patra Jasa Bali Resort & Villas one of Bali's most popular family resorts and the tropical gardens are particularly favored for weddings. The huge variety of breakfast selection (International food, Japanese food, Indonesian food and Indian Food) will indulge you during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Patra Bali Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Patra Bali Resort And Villas
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas Hotel Kuta
Patra Bali Resort
Patra Bali Hotel
The Patra Bali Resort & Villas Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing